We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We took a one day trip over the border for our son was playing at the Summer Games in Windsor. It was recommended by AAA to visit Frankenmuth. Was not sure what to expect but soon as we arrived we knew we wanted to stay overnight. This hotel was right across the street from the little outdoor mall on the river. Since it was new and the price was within what the rest of the town was charging we decided to book a night. The room was very nice and the pillows were so soft and comfortable. The bed is extremely high so a little challenging for short people like myself (5' 2") but very inviting. The location is kind of on the edge of the downtown core of shops but it is just an easy walk over the bridge to everything. Once you park your car you do not need it again till you leave. The free breakfast was very nice with lots of options (yogurt, pancakes, english muffins, toast, eggs etc). The only complaint I have about the place is that the water in the shower just seemed to stay luke warm and the walls seem thin. We could hear the TV from the next room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina A, HotelStaff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you Mrs. W for the great review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! we are very sorry to hear about the shower, we hope to make it up to you on your next visit. Enjoy the rest of your summer and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hotel itself was very nice, it is basically new. Quite a few noise issues with our stay. Awakened several times in the night (around 3am) from children running around on the floor above us. Also awakened early by a group of 3 surrounding rooms who treated the hallway like their hall at home. Doors all open with around 10 kids and 3 women running around from room to room in their PJs. I expect more in public areas. BTW, I'm not a fan of pajama pants at Walmart either. I'm just saying...
People had left the pool area without drying off much, leaving the halls and elevator drenched, and smelling quite foul. My recommendation to keep the noise down (not a new concept) would be to keep families with children on the lower floors. I believe this is standard hotel protocol.
Location of the hotel is excellent, much to do all within walking distance.
Try Zehnder's, Bavarian Inn, and Frankenmuth Brewery for EXCELLENT food and beer.

Room Tip: Had a lot of noise from people running around above, so i'd ask for a top, or upper floor. Defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank relax_takeyourtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankenmuth for your recent stay in Frankenmuth.
We are so sorry about your experience, we will try whatever we can to make our guest's stay better and better each time! I do hope that you come back and stay with us, and we would love to make it up to you! thank you for taking the time to write out a review and we do hope to see you again soon! enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I, along with our 7 month old son stayed 3 nights and we really enjoyed this hotel! Great location to everything the city has to offer! Staff was very helpful and friendly when we were checking in. Room was great, very spacious! Nice gym and Pool! As my wife mentioned in her review there was some sort of humming sound coming from the roof, which was quite loud at times. We really enjoyed our stay and when we do get a chance to return we will certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robrende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankenmuth for your recent stay in Frankenmuth. Your review was great! Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are more than delighted that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon! have a great rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed with our little 7 months old baby, sorry neighbors for night noise, in this hotel for 3 nights. Have nothing but the best compliments to share. Great customer service at the reception, cleaning people left our room without service for one day, but asked us next day what do we need before they left. If you are to pick the floor, don't stay on the fourth floor. I think we had a a/c on the roof, it felt like there is a train on that roof that is about to take off. Horrible noise and vibration around rooms 406,405,408 etc. Rather than that, great place to stay

Great location, 2 min walk to main attractions, museums, restaurants, wineries (try Julians winery, Funship tasting and tours we didn't enjoy it so much, etc).We had a great time, great little city that covered with amazing flowers, fun shops and specialties stores. Try bakery in Bavarian inn....mmmm so good ! Frankenmuth was one of our family's bucket list items...lol

Room Tip: any room beside fourth floor. No street noise at all though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sono1helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankenmuth for your recent stay in Frankenmuth. Thank you for writing out this wonderful review! our staff is more than happy that you enjoyed your stay! we are very sorry about the roof noises. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon! enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is right down town Frankenmouth, so it is within walking access to everything. It was very comfortable and the room was spacious. My only complaint was that the water in the shower wasn't very hot and the wifi didn't work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankenmuth for your recent stay in Frankenmuth. Thank you for your time in writing a review for us, we are very sorry about your shower, and the wifi! i hope that your further stay may be better with us! We hope to see you again soon! enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I have never traveled to Frankenmuth before, so we were not sure what to expect. This hotel was perfect for our trip. It was in the middle of everything, meaning we could walk almost any where. The staff was fantastic. They welcomed us when we walked in and were always so friendly each time they saw us. The manager always greeted us each time our paths crossed. I have never been in a hotel where the manager took time to say hello to us. The rooms were also super clean. The breakfast was more than expected. Since they call it an "Express Breakfast," I expected cereal and not much more. However, it included oatmeal, pancakes, yogurt, pastries, and so much more. We will definitely be staying here again when we make a return trip to Frankenmuth!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankenmuth for your recent stay in Frankenmuth. Your review was very great! Thank you for sharing such a good review about your stay! we are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon! Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hard To Beat New!

It’s hard to beat new! This motel opened on July 17th. Frankenmuth is a busy place and making reservations early is always a good thing to do, especially when a motel is new.

While noting concerns and curiosities in this review, we would definitely stay here again. It is bright and clean. It is conveniently located across from the River Place shops and a very short walk to the main portion of Frankenmuth restaurants and shopping. The suite room on the 4th floor that we stayed in was clean, the bed was comfortable (hard mattress), had a kitchenette, sofa, table and chairs, the towels were excellent quality, among other nice amenities. A real plus is the plastic key does not need to be inserted (and re-inserted and re-inserted) into a door device to access the door. Just quickly place it in front of the device area and the light turns green. Easiest door opening we have ever experienced.

The person who takes the reservation was exceptionally friendly. And, while we had no conflicts in our short contact with the professional staff at the beginning to register and end of the trip to hand in our keys, they weren’t as welcoming and friendly as we have encountered at other motels through the years and definitely not as welcoming and friendly as workers throughout Frankenmuth who go out of their way to show appreciation. While other reviewers have had a different experience, there is inconsistency in experiences and it is an area that can use some attention.

There is a complimentary breakfast that is open for 3 hours (6:30 am to 9:30 am on weekdays and 7:00 am to 10 am on weekends). As other reviewers have noted, the food area is narrow and difficult to navigate without bumping into other people. It could also use more table seating. We saw most guests taking their breakfast back to their room that in the long run is not a good thing for keeping rooms in tip-top shape.

The room’s thermostat control was difficult to make certain that it was set to a temperature we wanted. The tile color and texture used on the floor seemed to make it more slippery than it needed to be especially since we often found water on the tile floor which appeared to have been left because of swimmers or mopping. The bathroom had no fan and was EXTREMELY humid. I recommend bringing a small fan to help reduce the humidity. The bathroom was missing some features to make the stay more comfortable such as more storage shelves and counter space. Water left on the counters caused the surface to have rings appear (it appeared to be granite but we are not sure) which was quite concerning to us when we noticed it – no one wants to think for even a second that they did something wrong. It took a while before the rings began to disappear.

While we think it worth noting some of the concerns and curiosities, it is new, it is clean, and we would stay there again and highly recommend it as a top choice for a good stay in Frankenmuth.

Room Tip: We encountered no road noise in a room on the 4th floor that faced the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vacationers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
527 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Birch Run
Comfort Inn Birch Run
#4 of 8 in Birch Run
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth

Address: 926 S Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range: £66 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites in downtown Frankenmuth, Michigan is now open! We are located on Main Street directly across the street from the River Place Shops. It is always “open season” on shopping, dining, exploring and then unwinding at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We have the room you want! All Guest Rooms have a microwave & refrigerator. Our Suites include a wet bar & extra seating and entertaining space. Our beautiful standard rooms feature two queen beds or king size bed. Our Suites include options of a king bed, two queen beds, pull out sofas, a fireplace and enough space for everyone. We offer an indoor swimming pool & fitness center. Take advantage of our free high speed internet access to stay caught up at home & work in your Guest Room or our business center. Our complimentary hot & cold breakfast offers choices from Express Start Cinnamon Rolls to Turkey Sausage Patties. The River Place Shops, Zehnders Restaurant, the Bavarian Inn Restaurant; if it’s on Main Street, it’s close to our front door! Frankenmuth is home to Bronner’s Christmas Wonderland, the world’s largest! Where else can you stay in 1st class accommodations, hear & see a Glockenspiel, stroll across the largest wooden bridge built in the last century? Where else can you enjoy great food, a number of music, art and folk festivals plus unlimited shopping? Check in and check us out! Still not tired? The Birch Run Outlet Mall is only 7 miles away in Birch Run, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing