We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet getaway for a couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Marv Herzog Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Nice quiet getaway for a couple. While I was there nobody had kids, which was nice, as I assume they were all staying in the hotels with pools. 2 Free Evening Beverages (including beer, wine and soft drinks), free snacks, and a Deluxe Hot Breakfast. Room balconies overlook the Cass River or Main Street. Bed was very comfortable. My only complaints were that we had quite a few lady bugs in our room and that the whirlpool tub was in the bathroom, so you couldn't watch TV. Free underground parking garage. Their whirlpool tub room was the cheapest in town (On Halloween, which was a Thursday). Excellent location where you can walk to everything.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed at the Marv Herzog to meet up with family and to attend a staff Christmas party elsewhere. The room was great! High ceilings had a nice feel. Bed was comfy. Shower was nice. Room was clean. Breakfast was great! Staff was friendly. Lobby was pretty large and had nice holiday decorations. We had a little Christmas get-together (6 of us) in the lobby and it was a very nice atmosphere.
We would come back again and recommend to others, for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarafromIsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have stayed at the Marv Herzog before and this time was as lovely as the time before. We had a lovely room up on the 3rd floor over looking the River, the staff as always were very friendly and the rooms were clean. The hotel is at the top end of the street heading into tourist area of Frankenmuth with its Germanic look. The walk down into town is very easy so is the walk back up the hill. At the hotel a breakfast is included with the room and although not a full cooked breakfast there is enough to satisfy any hungry traveler, also at the end of the day there was snacks and a couple of free drinks which can be consumed on the deck over looking the river. Will definitely be back when we visit that area.

Room Tip: The room on the river side of the hotel is the most scenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koleenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was our 4th stay at Herzog and again it was great. The rooms are small but compensated for by booking rooms overlooking the river. Everything is very clean, the staff is very friendly, and the location is perfect. Terrific deck to relax on. Highly recommend going next door and taking an electric boat cruise on the river......very quiet, beautiful, and peaceful with only a handful of passengers. The wine/chocolate one is particularly wonderful.

Room Tip: Definitely a room on the riverside!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Hotel is very clean, service was always friendly and t your feet when serving breakfast or during happy hour. Free breakfast, free snacks and drinks, where else are you going to get that much for your dollar. The hotel is downtown and minutes from Birch Run, what convenience:0)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights at the recommendation of a friend. We were very happy with the accommodations, service and location. The hotel is within walking distance to just about all of the Frankenmuth attractions (other than Bronners, which is just on the outskirts of town)
There is a very nice brew pub next door at which we ate twice, nice atmosphere and good food. It is also within walking distance to the Bavarian Inn and Zenders, the two famous chicken dinner restaurants in town.
We will stay here again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrisgumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Let me start this review by pointing out that there are no 4 or 5 star hotels in Frankenmuth. This is tourist town USA and all the lodging options are pretty basic. If you want to stay in a really nice place, you are out of luck. With that said, however, the Marv Herzog is the best place to stay if you do not have children. Obviously, with kids, you will want to stay at one of the big Inns with the pools, water slides, etc. But for a quick getaway with the wife, this place was perfect. Upon check-in we were informed that the one and only elevator was out, but that they had upgraded our room to one with a balcony facing the river - pretty cool although we couldn't really enjoy it on a wintry day in November. As far as the atmosphere at the Marv Herzog, think oak furniture . . . lots of oak everywhere. The rooms are large and comfortable. Ours had a very comfortable King bed with plenty of pillows. (A shortage of pillows is a pet peeve of mine). On the downside, the room had an old tube style TV - I didn't think you could even buy those anymore!! - So, of course, you have no HD, etc. Hotel does have free wi-fi and you don't even have to sign in or sign up for anything to get it - so that is definitely a plus. The evening happy hour was pretty nice. You get two drinks each (beer or wine) and there are some snacks. The snack offering was a little weird. When we stayed they had some potato chips, pretzels, vegetable soup, baked potatoes (seriously, just plain baked potatoes!) and a veggie platter with dip. What can you say? It was free and was a nice break. Breakfast was pretty good too. Hot eggs, waffles, toast, bacon, juice, etc. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are nice, but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rmeade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Birch Run
Comfort Inn Birch Run
#4 of 8 in Birch Run
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marv Herzog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marv Herzog Hotel

Address: 501 S Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1617
Region: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range: £71 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marv Herzog Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Marv Herzog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marv Herzog Hotel
Marv Herzog Frankenmuth
The Marv Herzog Hotel Frankenmuth, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing