We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere and Service, Okay Food”

Bavarian Inn Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 41 Restaurants in Frankenmuth
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: American, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 1,200-seat German-themed dining rooms offer a variety of meals - from Frankenmuth-style chicken to Wiener Schnitzel and other German specialties, vegetarian and Gluten Free menus. Catering available. Lower level Castle Shops include Jester's Cafe offering meals to go and 8 other Specialty Shops.
Lansing, Illinois
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Service, Okay Food”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The restaurant atmosphere really takes you to a whole other place, which is what it is meant to do. You feel like you're in Germany. The waitstaff are in costume and they all provide excellent service. Prices are reasonable. We had a variety of foods from chicken to sandwiches. The food was good, not great, and it kind of sat heavy in my stomach.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainydock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,119
    505
    319
    121
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The line starts early but it is worth the wait. Our waitress was brand new and said she was training, she did wonderful.

Helpful?
1 Thank jmanmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So awesome!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Everything about Frankenmuth is awesome and was an amazing visit. Stopping here for lunch was the icing on the cake. My mother and I tried some German dishes, the rouladen and the hunter schnitzel, both amazing!! My favorite I'd have to say though was the German sampler for our appetizer. Also the gentleman playing the accordion was fun. I wish I remembered out waitresses name because she was amazing as well. Can't wait to Come back!

Helpful?
Thank Sweet_jay192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
various
Level Contributor
443 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great dinner, very enjoyable time!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We (four of us) are traveling and spent a long weekend in Frankenmuth. It's a great town for outlet mall shopping and visiting the unique downtown shoppes. We chose to have dinner at the Bavarian Inn and our evening was wonderful! We had a new server who was in training and his trainer was "Britany" 'EJ' tried hard and he depended on Britany a lot. Britany provided extra special service and was very accommodating to any request we had. We were very impressed with the service! The home-cooked style, family dinner was hot, tasty and prompt and we had an abundance of food. Cost is a big high but all in all we enjoyed the dinner. This is the only family style (all you can eat) dinner where we were given take-out containers for our left-over food! If we had to make a request we would suggest 'senior size' servings, less food with a less expensive price. We definitely recommend the Bavarian Inn and will return on our next trip to Frankenmuth. Don't forget to visit the gift shop, fun and interesting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelers966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
486 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Phenomenal lunch!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a great restaurant! The atmosphere is amazing and the service was phenomenal along with the food. Try the Chicken Cordon Bleu or the Heidelberg Combination plate: you won't be disappointed. Ask for Lindsay as your server: she will treat you right...oh, and don't forget to try the Peach Lemonade!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bavarian Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Frankenmuth, MI
Frankenmuth, MI
 

Been to Bavarian Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing