We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”
Review of Stonewall Inn B& B

Stonewall Inn B& B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frankfort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stonewall Inn B& B
Ranked #3 of 7 Frankfort B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Enjoyed staying at this historic inn right in Frankfort. The location is great to walk to dinner, shopping or the beach. The inn is a charming Victorian full of antiques and Civil War memorabilia, which we enjoyed, being history buffs. Room (Cooper) was very spacious with a wonderful bathroom complete with whirlpool tub! Hosts were pleasant and not overbearing, and breakfast was delicious - not too much. I don't think the inn itself is suited for children, but was perfect for a couple looking to relax. Only negatives may be that there was no air conditioning, so could get stuffy on hot nights, and if you're looking for cable tv in-room, this isn't it. We just kept our windows open and let the breeze in, and relaxed with a good book. Great value.

Room Tip: Cooper room is on the ground floor, so if you want to sleep in you may get woken up by breakfast noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful time during our stay at The Stonewall Inn B&B in Frankfort, MI. Dave and Sandy went out of their way to make sure that our stay was a comfortable one, and offered suggestions and directions for places to eat and things to do in the area.

The Inn is located just south of Sleeping Bear Dunes and the area offers many recreational activities. We went hiking at the park, biking from Frankfort to Beulah on the Betsie Valley Trail, and our hosts took us out for a kayak trip down a nice quiet river. The area features many other activities like swimming, boating & fishing as well.

We aslo enjoyed walking around Frankfort and eating at the restaurants suggested to us by our hosts. The main downtown area is very nice, it features many good places to eat and shop. After dinner we had several options for dessert and "settled" for ice cream. Afterward it was time for a stroll down to the beach to watch the sunset.

The Sonewall Inn is a standout in the community, but if you walk down LeeLanau Ave. from the beach you will see many other incredible homes in this beautiful well kept neighborhood.

Finally, our hosts Dave and Sandy were very friendly. The food was excellent, and the Civil War items were interesting. We highly recommend The Stonewall Inn B&B, it offers everything you are looking for in a quiet area of Michigan.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Dave and Sandy are perfect hosts and quite friendly and welcoming. The Civil War themed home and rooms are very pleasant, quite clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty and sitting around the table with the hosts and other guests was very enjoyable. We would highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Any room would be very acceptable, they are all very nice and each has it's own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had a marvelous stay at the Stonewall Inn B&B. The rooms were clean, the location was outstanding. The hosts were kind enough to let us use their kayaks to paddle down the local pristine river, they even dropped us in and hauled us out. Would highly recommend this B&B. And what a great town: not a tourist trap.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My wife and I had such a great stay at the Stonewall Inn Bed and Breakfast that I wanted to recommend staying there; we are in no way affiliated with the owners. First, the location is great, 2 blocks to town and the bay and 2 blocks the other way to Lake Michigan and a beautiful sandy beach and shore. Second, the Inn was in great shape and inviting. If you have any interest in history, books or more specifically the Cival War, the Inn is like a museum, hence the name of the Inn. Third, the breakfast part of the B and B was very good, not a continental breakfast but a full breakfast. Finally, Dave and Sandy are fantastic hosts. They continued to go out of their way with recomendations of restaurants and activities in the area. Dave even took us to the river with their kayaks - and even picked us up as promised. If you are debating on going to the Stonewall Inn - go, you will enjoy it and the proprietors.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We really enjoyed the stay at this beautiful civil war era themed bed and breakfast. David and Sandy were engaging and friendly hosts. They made our weekend stay very comfortable and fun. We really enjoyed using the presidential bathtub with the Elvira room. The yard is gorgeous and the town of Frankfort was more active than we expected.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Elvira room has a larger private bathroom across the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michiganman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Stonewall. Gracious and informative hosts combined with a clean room, great bath tub, beautiful grounds and wonderful breakfasts made everything special. The civil war artifacts and library were a pleasant surprise, too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stonewall Inn B& B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Inn B& B

Address: 428 Leelanau Ave, Frankfort, MI 49635-9352
Region: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Frankfort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Frankfort
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing