We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B & B in a quaint town!”
Review of Stonewall Inn B& B

Stonewall Inn B& B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frankfort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stonewall Inn B& B
Ranked #3 of 7 Frankfort B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice B & B in a quaint town!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I pulled up midday to the stonewall inn after a morning worth of drive and were pleasantly surprised by what we found. The house itself sits a few blocks off the main stretch in Frankfurt, and is plenty close to all the action the little town has to offer. The grounds themself are beautiful, and we loved the charm and story behind this historical civil war B&b.

We stayed in the Caroline Room, the largest upstairs room that boasts its own bathroom and widow's walk (basically a skinny staircase up to the roof of the house). The room was big and clean and decorated in the theme of the house. The temperature was pretty perfect, but this relies on the outside ambient temperature as climate control consists of the breeze of the open windows, the ceiling fan, and the draft from the widow's walk. Not sure if AC is ever needed, but we were plenty comfortable.

Dave (our host) was very warm, knowledgable, and hospitable. He had plenty of suggestions for food and activities both in and outside of Frankfurt (as this was our first stop on the trip up north).

Last, our favorite part...breakfast! Although some people don't
like the fixed time, my wife and I loved it as it structured our day and got us going at 830. The food was delicious, the birds were singing (there are two rather large displays of finches near the dining room), and we really enjoyed the face-to-face company of the other guests.

We certainly enjoyed our stay and time in frankfurt. Due to its proximity to sleeping bear dunes, glen arbor/haven, and traverse city, we would definitely recommend it as a day before or day after kind of place to stop-over in.

Make sure to watch the sunset on the beach and take a stroll out to the end of the lighthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammii118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A wonderful old, Civil War era home loaded with Civil War memorabilia. My husband is a Civil War buff and it was a surprise for him. We could walk to the lovely beach or to the shops. From the beach, you can see the headlands of Sleeping Bear Dunes and take long walks in that direction. Restaurants are excellent in Frankfort--from Jewish deli to fine dining.
Our hosts were charming, interesting and helpful. Dave took us out on some kayaks and that was one of the highlights of our trip.

Great location in Michigan. We took some beautiful drives through Sleeping Bear dunes. Great place to walk and bicycle and kayak. We sat on the porch most nights or took walks on the pretty local beaches.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAnnH223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I'm sure it was more than my life-long interest in the Civil War that made me like this place. Our hosts were charming, giving us some great pointers about things to be sure to see on our way north, and serving a wonderful breakfast. The Victorian house is charming (even if it weren't loaded with Civil War momentos and pictures), and we learned we were to be "fudgies" for the rest of our Michigan vacation.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Enjoyed staying at this historic inn right in Frankfort. The location is great to walk to dinner, shopping or the beach. The inn is a charming Victorian full of antiques and Civil War memorabilia, which we enjoyed, being history buffs. Room (Cooper) was very spacious with a wonderful bathroom complete with whirlpool tub! Hosts were pleasant and not overbearing, and breakfast was delicious - not too much. I don't think the inn itself is suited for children, but was perfect for a couple looking to relax. Only negatives may be that there was no air conditioning, so could get stuffy on hot nights, and if you're looking for cable tv in-room, this isn't it. We just kept our windows open and let the breeze in, and relaxed with a good book. Great value.

Room Tip: Cooper room is on the ground floor, so if you want to sleep in you may get woken up by breakfast noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful time during our stay at The Stonewall Inn B&B in Frankfort, MI. Dave and Sandy went out of their way to make sure that our stay was a comfortable one, and offered suggestions and directions for places to eat and things to do in the area.

The Inn is located just south of Sleeping Bear Dunes and the area offers many recreational activities. We went hiking at the park, biking from Frankfort to Beulah on the Betsie Valley Trail, and our hosts took us out for a kayak trip down a nice quiet river. The area features many other activities like swimming, boating & fishing as well.

We aslo enjoyed walking around Frankfort and eating at the restaurants suggested to us by our hosts. The main downtown area is very nice, it features many good places to eat and shop. After dinner we had several options for dessert and "settled" for ice cream. Afterward it was time for a stroll down to the beach to watch the sunset.

The Sonewall Inn is a standout in the community, but if you walk down LeeLanau Ave. from the beach you will see many other incredible homes in this beautiful well kept neighborhood.

Finally, our hosts Dave and Sandy were very friendly. The food was excellent, and the Civil War items were interesting. We highly recommend The Stonewall Inn B&B, it offers everything you are looking for in a quiet area of Michigan.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Dave and Sandy are perfect hosts and quite friendly and welcoming. The Civil War themed home and rooms are very pleasant, quite clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty and sitting around the table with the hosts and other guests was very enjoyable. We would highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Any room would be very acceptable, they are all very nice and each has it's own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had a marvelous stay at the Stonewall Inn B&B. The rooms were clean, the location was outstanding. The hosts were kind enough to let us use their kayaks to paddle down the local pristine river, they even dropped us in and hauled us out. Would highly recommend this B&B. And what a great town: not a tourist trap.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
7.5 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
21.9 mi away
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
9.7 mi away
Arcadia House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Inn B& B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Inn B& B

Property: Stonewall Inn B& B
Address: 428 Leelanau Ave, Frankfort, MI 49635-9352
Region: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Frankfort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Frankfort
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing