We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice roadside motel”
Review of Bay Port Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frankfort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Port Lodging
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My family stopped at Marshall's Bay Port Lodging with no reservations during the start of the 4th of July week. Luckily we found a room available, and were greeted by the lady that owns the business. The room was quite small, but very clean and comfortable. I was somewhat concerned because our room was RIGHT on the main road.....but I never heard a vehicle all evening. Overall you'll find this place to be clean, cute and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davesellshouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 76 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

I found this place on Trip Advisor and other sites and seen what great reviews it had and decided to give it a try. We were very pleased. It was really clean and in a good location. The bed was super comfortable. Owner and staff were really friendly. We were able to walk to town and bike all over. Its not very far from the bike path. It was quiet at night. There were chairs next to your door to sit outside. The price was very reasonable. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PLEM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I was in town with a friend for almost a week and this house was very comfortable. The house is very well maintained and whoever does the housecleaning is doing an excellent job. There were plenty of towels, a washer and dryer, shampoo, dish soap, etc. Perhaps the most important for me were the VERY COMFORTABLE BEDS. I would most definitely rent this house again and would not hesitate to rent a room at the motel either as the same people are taking care of both. Very nice job. By the way, the TV in the picture is out of date. There is a new flat screen which is very nice.

Room Tip: The house was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank santa49303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at this motel for one night. It was not luxurious. but cute and very clean. The rates were good and the owner was very nice. We used the hammocks outside of our room in the evening and walked to a great restaurant for breakfast in the morning. Nice place to stop for the night!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdgAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

If you are a fan of chain hotels with breakfast included, swipe keys, indoor hallways, etc., this is not your place. But if you like the kinder gentler pace of the Mom & Pop motel experience, Bay Port Lodging would be hard to beat. Very reasonable rates, even in "high" season for a lake shore town. The owners have worked around the age of the facility to provide lodging with modern comforts. Rooms are individually and tastefully decorated in "lake eclectic." Rooms include cable TV, a microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge. There is a "cabin" room that has a complete kitchen for longer stays. Bathroom are sparkling clean, with water pic shower heads. Due to older plumbing, the owners leave specific "flush" instructions for the toilets--just adds to the quaint feeling. Each room has area maps and information useful to tourists, and also a collection of books--from classics to self-help--to read during your stay. Parking is in the back and along the side of the motel. The motel is not on the main business drag of Frankfort, but it an easy couple of blocks walk to restaurants and shopping. The beach is a longer walk, and if you have chairs, coolers, etc., you might want to drive. Ample parking at the beach, and it's a great beach (with restrooms and changing area). Breakfast is not included, and it's worth noting that check-out is 10 a.m. Earlier than most, but for the rate you pay a small inconvenience. Each room has its own key (not a scan card!) to the deadbolt lock. Comfortable and casual experience, you can leave your keys in the office basket when it's time to go. The owners work with you for late check-ins. All in all, a homey, clean, great little place in a cute town and gorgeous area of the state.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Middleburysoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eigentlich egal, sie sind alle schön eingerichtet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roswitha64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
169 reviews
7.1 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
6.6 mi away
Crystal Lake Resort
Crystal Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Beulah
83 reviews
10.5 mi away
Honor Motel
Honor Motel
#1 of 1 in Honor
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Port Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Port Lodging

Address: 905 Forest Ave, Frankfort, MI 49635-9061 (Formerly Marshall Motel)
Region: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Frankfort
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Frankfort
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a small boutique one story motel and cottage in the scenic beach town of Frankfort, MI where you can walk to everything! Rooms have either 1 queen size bed or 2 full size beds in them. Amenities include compact refrigerator, cable, WIFI, A/C, coffee and microwave upon request. It is our goal to enhance your stay in this beautiful area so that you want to return time and time again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing