We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Getaway with Charm!”
Review of Wayfarer Lodgings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frankfort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wayfarer Lodgings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Loved this place so much that my family and extended family are coming back again next July. Can't wait!! We loved the area and our side trips to familiar haunts in Empire and Glen Arbor. The beach, the fireworks, the parade on the 4th are memories we love!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drayton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Wayfarer Lodgings
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

for a touch of nostalgia, a reminder of how the world used to be, these simple but comfortable cottages from the '20s are a treat. small yes, but with knotty pine panelling and curtains with bass striking flies, a tidy little kitchen, classic metal lawn chairs and adirondack chairs, plenty of picnic tables and grills. iris was cheerful, welcoming, and friendly. the often empty beach is a pleasant walk away. the only disadvantage is that the cottages are close to a busy road. i'm hoping to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimiechouteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This was the second time we stayed here for a one night golf trip to Arcadia Bluffs which is close by. The cabins are clean, comfortable and close by Frankfort which has plenty of good places to eat. Showers are hot and there are plenty of cabins to accommodate 12+ golfers. Iris and Mike are great and full of personality. Take the time to visit with them during your stay. Don't expect high end when you stay here, or a pool and fitness center. But do expect good beds and real people.

Room Tip: Review the cabin pictures on the website.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have driven by this property several times. We thought it looked cute, and we liked the location. We are big fans of Elberta Beach and this place is very close. We made reservations several months prior and had been looking forward to our stay. The owner sent us a text to let us know our cabin was ready for us. We thought that was a very nice touch. Check in was very pleasant. We enjoyed talking with the owner and she gave us many suggestions on places to go and things to do. We stayed in cabin 6. It was an adorable little cabin with a refridgerator, stove, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, dishes, etc. There were serveral grills available to use. The bathroom was tiny but the shower was HOT! The bed was a little firm for our liking but we didn't have any problems falling asleep. The cabin didn't have air conditioning but we were able to use the ceiling fan and lake breezes to keep our cabin comfy.There was a short trail leading to the beach. It made it handy to go for a walk on the beach without having to drive a few miles. We enjoyed our stay here. I am sure we will be back again.

Room Tip: The cabins with a kitchenette are handy and can help you save a few dollars on meals if you don'...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stlydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Wayfarer Lodgings is a great place to stay for an up north getaway!

There are cabins to meet the needs of everyone! We stayed in the Goldfinch which was perfect for the two of us since we spent most of the time exploring the area and had no need for a kitchen, but it is big enough that we had space. Each day we made a pot of coffee and sat on the chairs right outside the cabin to start our morning which was lovely! The beach was beautiful - the most beautiful one we saw while we were there and the path from the cabins there was quick and easy to follow.

The location is also great! It is a quick drive to downtown Frankfort and access M-22! There was also a cute cafe down the road that rents bicycles if you would like to travel that way and leave your car at the cabin!

The owners are the friendliest people who really care about their guests! Iris was there to greet us outside when we pulled up which was a really nice touch! You are more than just guests to them! Both Mike and Iris are very knowledgeable about the area and what there is to do and where to go. This was very helpful for us since we had never been to the area! Don't be afraid to ask for their help! It was also nice that they were both always around to say hello or help in whatever way we needed as well.

If you are looking for a place to stay where you are more than just a room number, this is the place for you! You won't want your trip to end!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Some of you may remember the time when small cottages dotted the road ways before large motels and resorts began. This has that feel from the 50s for me. Driving along the backroads and coming upon a row or two of small one room cottages with small kitchenette, bath, table and bed. A covered two chair front sitting porch, large grass lawn, and parking space for your car right next to the cottage. The knotty pine interior and period furniture were very comfortable and homey. Maybe not for everyone, likely less inviting for families with kids used to game rooms and pools, but very quiet and relaxing. We chose this as an overnight stop on a tirp to the Traverse City area and the Schooner Manitou so that we could enjoy the Sleeping Bear Dunes area and Frankfort. The host and hostess were extremely helpful for local information, he is the president of the local business association. They run a clean business.

Room Tip: Check out the web site for cabin choices as there are various sizes
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bikingfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

After my original travel plans fell through, I needed a place to stay to attend a wedding at Crystal Mountain Resort The prices at Crystal Mountain were prohibitive and I was fortunate enough to stumble across this location while looking for reasonably priced accommodations near the Resort. The Wayfarer popped up, I looked at the pictures, made a phone call and was able to book Cabin #2 for $62/night - this, two days before the July 4th holiday. We arrived late Friday afternoon and were greeted warmly and enthusiastically by Iris who immediately pulled out a map of the area and gave us dining and shopping suggestions for when we visited Frankfort.

Our cabin was small, but clean and tidy. Our cabin did not have a kitchenette, but some do, and although there is no air-conditioning, the ceiling fan, coupled with the breezes off Lake Michigan made our stay comfortable. There are plenty of grills and chairs on the property. Each cabin comes with free Wolfgang Puck coffee and a coffee maker. The cabins come with hot water and linens. The tap water is tasty and does not have that sulfur taste that is so common with most well water. The property itself is clean, there is no garbage blowing around. There is a fire pit. Our neighbors were quiet and courteous and even though it seemed like there were a number of children around, I think the families were busy enjoying the nearby beaches. Beaches can be found all over, but if you want to walk to a beach, the property is about a ten-minute hike through the woods to the Lake.

Check in and check out was easy. Iris and Mike own and reside on the property. When we locked ourselves out of our cabin at 11 o'clock at night (beware: if you close the cabin door all the way, the door will lock), we knocked on the door and Iris laughed and was happy to give us another key to let us in.

Our stay was very nice, very pleasant. The City of Frankfort itself was bustling over the July 4th holiday. I recommend this property to anyone looking to stay near Lake Michigan for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: All the cabins are free-standing and there isn't a "bad" cabin. Some cabins are bigge...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank incitatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
2.1 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
160 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
160 reviews
7.1 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
23.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
12.9 mi away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayfarer Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayfarer Lodgings

Address: 1912 Scenic Hwy, Frankfort, MI 49635-9795
Region: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Frankfort
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Frankfort
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten cozy, vintage cottages with many modern conveniences, on beautiful grounds, away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. A bit of Americana located just minutes from charming Frankfort, picturesque Lake Michigan beaches, and the scenic Betsie River. A short walk through the meadow and down the stairs brings you to the most beautiful, deserted Lake Michigan beach imaginable. In our fast-paced and ever-changing world, the Wayfarer remains a peaceful spot that has been a favorite for families, couples, and anglers for decades. Our location, 2 miles south of Frankfort, makes us the perfect place to stay and play as well as venture out for the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing