We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable”
Review of The Manitou

The Manitou
Ranked #10 of 25 Restaurants in Frankfort
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

This was our third time at the Manitou. We like the variety on the menu. The whitefish is the specialty. You can't go wrong. Depending on the waitress you can have indifferent service. Other tables seemed to have problems. We did not.
However the tables are very close and casual conversation can be a problem for a table of 6 or 8.
You should expect a north woods experience. A bit rustic plus bright lights, skip the romance or intimate dining. It has more potential, but our honest rating is 'acceptable'.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaucer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    28
    13
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thompsonville, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Manitou needs to pick up It's game”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

If you are looking for good food, this is the place. And, it is serves it in an "up north" kitschy atmosphere. Our service was good as the wait staff was well trained and efficient. However, the room we were seated in was stuffy and over seated. We were a group of four with reservations and were seated in a room with tables of eight or more. Too much noise and movement for an intimate dinner with good friends. Prices are high for the area but not outrageous. Portion size would be considered large for most people. The parking lot is inadequate for the number of dinners they have at one time. We were forced to park on the highway and walk to the restaurant - 55 mile speed limit, dusk and pedestrians do not make a good combination.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rsmith7412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Incredibly disappointing”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We waited over an hour for broiled whitefish. When I asked for check nothing was done to make it right. Charged for meal, given it in two containers with no napkins or utentials. And for a large restaurant there was only one badly kept restayrant. Never again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAR4445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food in the north woods”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Nice variety of "American" food classics, including ribs, steak, and fresh seafood - all served up in a homey cabin-like setting in the Sleeping Bear National Lakeshore just north of Crystal Lake. Some of our favorite menu items worth noting include frog legs, crispy duck, whitefish, yellow perch and sumptuous scallops; the house salad (with cherry vinaigrette) is also superb. Service can be slow and a bit chaotic (we were recently seated in the bar, despite specifically requesting *anywhere but the bar* when phoning in our reservation), but staff are extremely kind and friendly. They have recently expanded to include an outdoor dining area in the summer. Overall a great place for family gatherings/celebrations.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank brocdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not a lot of competition”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a perfectly acceptable dinner location that people tend to go to when they have company and want a nice dinner out. That said, their food is good but not GREAT. It's just that there is no competition for this type of restaurant in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dancing d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Manitou also viewed

Frankfort, Benzie County
 
Frankfort, Benzie County
 

Been to The Manitou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing