We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and very accomodating staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel Frankfort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Frankfort
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, MI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and very accomodating staff”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I were on a golf vacation, driving through northern Michigan, and we landed in Frankfort for a late dinner. We decided to stay overnight there, rather than driving further to our next location. We walked across the street, in dowtown Frankfort, to the Sleeping Bear Inn, and they were very accomodating. It was almost 11pm and they only had a couple of higher-end rooms available, but they accomodated our needs and we got a great room at a discounted price. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and had nice amenties. The next morning, we had breakfast at the hotel, which was better than what we have typically seen along our travels. We were able to just walk out the front door and enjoy the shops, restaurants and farmer's market along the main street in Frankfort. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollandmack1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    47
    22
    13
    4
See reviews for
28
93
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Really liked the location and room. Room is was cute and clean and inn was in a perfect location to the beach and little main street. We ate in the restaurant an although can't complain at all about the food the staff was a little questionable. The cook came out the bar and had a drink (beer) and sat with another staff member eating her dinner at the bar (all during their shift). The front of the house staff seems to be friendly and professional, while the kitchen/ bar staff needs some additional training.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

First of all, therer are few places to stay in the area, so this may still be your best choice. The rooms are dated but OK. The problem is that the sleeping rooms are above a very busy bar & restraunt. There is an open stairwell between that does nothing to reduce the noise. We were there on a Saturday nite & it got pretty loud. If you stay here, get a room as far away from the bar as you can & avoid the weekends

Room Tip: Get as far from the bar as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

What a wonderful weekend we shared at the Sleeping Bear Inn with our dear friends. We were welcomed by a very friendly and attentive staff. Our room was most comfortable and it is evident that they are in the process of updating the Inn. We enjoyed a private dinner in the wine cellar with our friiends one evening. The staff went out of their way to make it a very special memory for us.
The bar food as well as the finer dining menu was very very good! The location could not have been better as we were one block from a park where we relaxed and played cards for the afternoon and one more short block to the beautiful sands of Lake Michigan!.

If you are planning a trip to Frankfort I would strongly suggest staying at the Sleeping Bear Inn (previously Betsie Bay Inn). You will not be sorry, for the new owner Mary and her friendly and competent staff will take care of all of your needs and you will leave having made new friends.

We will definitely plan a return trip!.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berryville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

We didn't have reservations for a quick trip after labor day. We stopped at another complex and didn't like it. The staff was courteous and let us look at several rooms. We chose a room with a balcony overlooking main street and one evening ate a pizza and sipped some wine people and boat watching. The room had a great jaccuzi sauna and a large shower. Unique and maybe a little eclectic but great and very comfortable. We would not hesitate to stay again. But suggest you check out the room before accepting. They are all different.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huron68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The most important description I can use is to say that service was awesome. We decided to invite 3 other couples who enjoy traveling, to join us. Our wonderful stay at Betsie Bay Inn (Sleeping Bear Inn) can hardly be put into words. First, the new owners are updating rooms. The room we stayed in was comfortable, with a small yet fully functional bathroom. We, however, do not stay in hotels to sit in the rooms. Our fun began with the eight of us sitting in the bar at a large table, with the Detroit Tiger's playing on the big screen. We enjoyed appetizers and drinks (the new bartender made "mudslides" - a dessert type drink, and other specialty drinks for us). The following evening, a surprise dinner was thrown for my wife and me by our friends in the charming wine cellar downstairs. The staff bent over backward to accommodate us with a beautifully set table, champagne in ice buckets, and the most delicious rib-eye steak I have had in a long time. Others in our group raved over the Chicken Marsella. I needed ice for my cooler for our afternoon in the park, and a staff person gave me two large bags, no problems. Again, location, service and friendliness by the staff will bring us back again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 210. Our a/c worked very well and looked new. Bathroom was small but efficient. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I am a little surprised there are so many negatives about this hotel... its on the high street of Frankfort (a sleepy little town is an understatement!) We stayed at the Harbour Lights Resort for 5 nights and then our plans changed but they couldn't accommodate us so we walked into Betsie Bay and agreed a last minute rate which was WAAAY better than Harbour Lights... our rooms was the honeymoon suite. We were showed the room and as we walked in appreciating its vast size!!! the lady said "its a bit full on for some people - i know!" I didn't care- it was a huge room with a jacuzzi in a corner and a sauna in an attic with a skylight which you got to up a spiral staircase above the bed which was a four post bed!! It certainly is quirky but it was lean- the bed was so comfortable and there was nothing more we could have asked for there was a shower in a bathroom too and plenty of products, tea coffee etc too... yes you had to go downstairs to ask for ice but there was no problem getting it... the restauranut looked busy and the menu was inviting but we had dinner at a friends house so didn't experience the quality of the food.
Honestly- i think the hotel is going through a change of quality/management and could do really well- it was better value with or without discount, more homely than Harbour Lights and I would stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite- quirky but fun.... sauna, jacuzzi..... they even have mirrors over the bed- hahaha!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenBarbour33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
0.1 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
155 reviews
7.6 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
45 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
716 reviews
15.3 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
266 reviews
7.2 mi away
Crystal Lake Resort
Crystal Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Beulah
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Frankfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Frankfort

Property: The Hotel Frankfort
Address: 231 Main St, Frankfort, MI 49635-9048 (Formerly Sleeping Bear Inn)
Region: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Frankfort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Frankfort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Frankfort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centered in Frankfort's historic Main Street, just two blocks from one of the most picturesque beaches of Lake Michigan, sits the historic Hotel Frankfort. Our 84 year old boutique hotel boasts 17 guest rooms, all with private baths, individually controlled heating and air-conditioning units and each decorated with a unique theme. Our larger suites feature whirlpool tubs or sauna, two-story rooms, and even a fireplace - perfect for your spectacular Northern Michigan getaway! Feel like dining in? We have a full scale restaurant, dining room and bar along with corporate conference facilities, with gourmet catered meals available for gatherings of up to 200. Come let us serve you in style and experience all Northern Michigan has to offer. From biking, to fishing our famous Salmon runs, snow skiing, sailing, or experiencing a great meal at one of our many unique restaurants, or even just watching a gorgeous sunset - Frankfort is the perfect place to explore! Whatever your pleasure, you'll be charmed by The Hotel Frankfort's blend of old world graciousness, modern-day amenities and peerless personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Frankfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsie Bay Hotel Frankfort
Betsie Bay Frankfort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing