We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming!”
Review of The Harrington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harrington Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fremont
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

After a 4 hour drive to Fremont where my children and I had never visited, the Harrington Inn was a nice surprise! It was in perfect proximity to our destinations for the evening, and the staff made us feel very welcome. This was our second stay, and the kids loved the heated pool and fresh baked cookies. There was also pizza happy hour! I really liked that you could walk across the street to Spankys pizza for the best breadsticks you will ever have in your life! The hotel is about a block from the town movie theater, and there is a small lake within walking distance with a playground and a place to get ice cream.

This small town hotel actually welcomes executives from area corporate headquarters, and it shows in their professional and attentive staff. Thank you all for great conversation and 2 wonderful stays! If we are in the Fremont area again, we will definitely visit the Harrington.

S. Cade

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but draw your curtains if you get one facing the parking lot:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you, Stephanie, for writing such a nice review of the Harrington Inn. Thanks also for mentioning nearby attractions and restaurants. The theatre next door has just been renovated and usually has the latest in available movies. Spanky's restaurant across the street does have the best in "bread stix" and it was nice that you had a chance to sample them. The all-sports-825-acre Fremont Lake, with its playground, beach and public launch is a great place to relax and/or sample some delicious ice cream. Boat rentals are available on the west side of the lake for guests who desire to try to cast for bass, walleye or another catch. Fremont is also just minutes from two great rivers, the Muskegon and the White. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Harrington is a lovely, well-appointed Inn with warm reception, spacious accommodations, and pleasant staff. The rooms are very quiet and the beds very comfortable. We enjoyed our time there, as well as the delicious, hot-from-the-oven cookies!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnelses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your review and giving special credit to my staff. It is always our intent to provide all guests with friendly service and a clean, comfortable room. The walls dividing our rooms are concrete block walls filled with sand and then covered with drywall which makes them especially quiet. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you as a guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Having lived in Fremont for a few years 2 decades ago, I suspect Fremont is no one's idea of a tourist destination, though there are winter and summer sports options nearby. It may be a frequent business destination with Gerber Baby Food having a major corporate HQ and manufacturing plant just down the street. Whatever brings you to the Harrington, you will love it. Warm, fresh-baked cookies greet you on arrival (and seem to be available all day). A nice continental breakfast is offered in the mornings. We were upgraded to a king suite with in-room jacuzzi and the room was huge and so nicely appointed. Bed coverings were luxurious, overstuffed chairs comfortable. Everything was spotless and although we did not use the pool, it is a lovely small heated outdoor pool--our room overlooked it. So Fremont is not the big city or anything but if you are traveling through Michigan and want a lovely little hotel to bunk in for a bit, the Harrington will do nicely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you Scott for writing such a wonderful review for the Harrington Inn. Pleasing guests and providing for their comfort are our main objectives. We are pleased that you choose this hotel for your lodging needs while in the area on business.
Fremont is a centrally located city only 25 minutes from Michigan Adventure and Lake Michigan, 45 minutes from Meijer Gardens, Grand Haven and Grand Rapids. In less than 15 minutes, there are 4 golf courses and two great fishing and canoe rivers, the Muskegon River to the south and the White River to the north. The 825-acre, all-sports Fremont Lake is just 3 blocks away. In the evening restaurants and a nice theatre are very close. The large Spectrum/Tamarac Health Center (free to guests) along with non-motorized paths and parks are close by the hotel. In addition, to other city shops, the area Amish community offers a variety of quality products.
We look forward to seeing you again either on business or just to revisit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Harrington Inn in Fremont is a small hotel, but very nice! Rooms are large, so are beds, and very confortable. Everything is very clean. The main difference with the regular hotels is the personnalized feeling you have by entering this place : you do not feel like 'a number', and that makes it very special.
Bid advanatge of the place : wi-fi! No code to enter each time you log, and free : direct and easy connection ! Breakfast is simple, european like.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seb8975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

You are correct, our guests are special to every person on our staff and, as such, there is no substitute for providing personalized service. Beyond this service, providing clean, comfortable and well-appointed rooms drive out activity today and the hotel plans for the future. We look forward to providing you with lodging in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Four female members of my family and I recently had the wonderful pleasure of spending a weekday evening at The Harrington Inn. What a great staff!! Making you comfortable and welcome is their priority!! What a pleasant place to stay and they are continually working to make it even better. Although the rooms were all booked, we heard no sounds of others. The beds are SOOOOO comfortable!! The bed linens were superb!! This made for a great night of sleep even for those in our party that do not sleep well.

We highly recommend The Harrington Inn and their great staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you, Jean, for recognizing my staff. They are very dedicated to the pleasure of providing each and every guest with a pleasant and comfortable stay. Our guests are our priority not just in a slogan but in practice. It is the best part of my day when I can relay such positive guest comments. Thank you also for recognizing the many guest improvements that have been accomplished since our purchase.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Really friendly staff are the hallmark of this Inn. The rooms are very clean but bathrooms are outdated. Pool is heated and was very clean. Fresh baked cookies are complimentary every afternoon. Continental breakfast was nothing special but was fine for us. Coffee is available all day. We really enjoyed our stay here while visiting family!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Krakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Harrington Inn. We especially appreciate recognition for our dedicated staff in providing a very clean and comfortable room. For future reference, we are in the process bathroom renovations and are currently installing very nice locally-made, Amish vanities and mirrors in our East Wing. To avoid guest disruptions, we apologize that the process is taking longer than planned. In the coming week, every room will have new wood furniture installed as well. Other enhancements are in the works. Should your travels bring you to this area in the future, we welcome your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Harrington is a clean, comfy and friendly place to stay. Because of that and the freshly baked cookies at 3PM this place fills fast, especially in the summer. There is a better than usual breakfast bar, a great heated pool and such helpful people at the front desk. this was our second stay, and we'll be back next time in the area.

Room Tip: If you can a room in the rear is away from the bit of traffic that passes by in the evening. Also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zumaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouMeeuwenberg, Owner at The Harrington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to return to the Harrington Inn and for taking the time to post a very positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our heated pool, cookies and clean rooms. Although we are located several hundred feet from the highway, we do apologize for any highway related noise. As renovations are continuing between guests, the hotel will be even nicer should your travels bring you back to this area. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremont
21.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
17.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
455 reviews
19.9 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
366 reviews
8.9 mi away
La Belle de la Riviere Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrington Inn

Address: 1117 W Main St, Fremont, MI 49412-1476
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Newaygo County > Fremont
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fremont
Price Range: £72 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harrington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 3-Diamond AAA rated hotel, our friendly staff promises that whether you select a roomy Single Queen or a Deluxe King Jacuzzi Fireplace State Room, you will have a quiet, clean, comfortable and enjoyable stay. The Harrington features a 24/7 front desk, free high-speed WiFi, business center, on-site laundry, and fitness center. At no cost, guests may use the nearby Spectrum/Tamarac Fitness Center featuring a fully equipped with an indoor pool, track and sauna. A seasonally-heated pool is on site. All rooms have interior hall access, keyless lock, refrigerator, microwave, pillow-top mattress, comfortable leather seating, desk, and 32" HDTV with DVD. Enjoy a continental breakfast, afternoon fresh-baked cookies and evening popcorn. Douwe Egberts coffee, tea, juice and fresh fruit are always available. Restaurants, Nestle'Gerber, Dura Automotive, Fremont Insurance, Spectrum Gerber Memorial Hospital, Fremont Theatre, Dogwood Performing Arts Center and the 825-acre, all-sports Fremont Lake are all nearby. Only minutes from the Muskegon and White Rivers, four area golf courses, along with parks and walking paths. Free transportation is available to/from Fremont Airport. Lake Michigan, Michigan Adventure, wineries and Meijer Garden are an easy drive. Major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Harrington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrington Hotel Fremont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing