We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treetops Resort

Treetops Resort
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There are four courses at Treetops - the Masterpiece, Treetops Premier, the Signature and the Tradition.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Golf Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Eight of us played 90 holes of golf over 3 days on all 4 courses and had a great time. This was our 3rd time at Treetops, staying in the chalets. All courses were in great shape. Courses played much firmer than in years' past. Not sure if it hadn't rained much the last few weeks, or if it's the result of the harsh winter. That's not a negative - just an observation. The only negative was there was a bachelor party from Canada in front of us on Friday afternoon that made the round take over 5 hours. The ranger kept us informed, and did what they could to get things moving, which it did pick up eventually. Most of the backup occurred on holes 10-12 - then things moved better. The assistant pro even came out to the course (about hole 15) and said we would get a voucher for free golf. Everyone was gone for the day when we finished - I will be calling this week - so hopefully they will live up to their word.

Some advice - if you are a novice golfer, I would avoid the Masterpiece. Much harder than the other 3 courses. And play the correct set of tees. I know the white tees are short on the card - but the course doesn't play that short as most of the holes have severely uphill 2nd shots. I'm a 6 handicap, the whites were plenty for me.

The chalets now all have new LG TVs, which is a huge upgrade from the old tube TVs from years' past. The chalets are functional - nothing fancy. But we're pretty much only in our rooms to sleep, so don't need much. If people complain about the chalets, they just had the wrong expectations or didn't do their homework.

Breakfast was outstanding, as they have added an omelet station with 2 people and 4 skillets, so you never had to wait long for your omelet. And the sports bar food is above average for bar food, and the pizza is great. Plus several TVs tuned to different sports.

We will definitely be back!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    40
    22
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Starting to Slip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just finished a great golf outing here. The courses were a bit rough, but it is early and has been a tough winter., They still remain the best collection of great golf in Michigan or anywhere. The hotel is also in a bit of need for updating, but remains comfortable. Food was good for a large outing like this of over 100 people. Overall, the staff was very hospitable and accomodating. You are sure to have a pleasant time here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For the right price, best golf around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Normally, this is overpriced, but if you can find a deal of some sort, it is great golf. The Jones course is beautiful, but too hard for my liking. Driver, 3 iron to par 4's gets old quickly. Especially with difficult greens and fairways that don't hold shots easily. The Fazio course is the BEST course on the planet. Everything that frustrates me about the Jones is reversed here. Course is just long enough and the greens and fairways are very receptive to quality shots. Look for all you can play or discounted rates for stay and play. If you are not paying full price, you are getting your money worth.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fatki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“breat golf resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

restaurants are good, tennis is good , golf is excellent.Skiing on family style hills. We are local and our friends love to play treetops golf courses.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetennisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great stay & golf package”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We used this as a "home base" for a color tour of the area for several days. We had regular rates one night and a golf package with unlimited play/cart/breakfast another day. Our room was in the lodge. Room itself was huge, with vaulted ceilings, 2 queen beds, couch & love seat....and a really weird bathtub...this was a huge, rectangular Jacuzzi tub with very high sides...nice idea but impossible to get into. That's where the shower is too, so even if you don't want the Jacuzzi, you still have to climb into this thing. the décor is very lodge-ish, burgundy & green but it's definitely time to update. The carpet in the common areas are terrible with huge stains and they need to start closing the doors to all the maintenance and office areas by the elevators (very unprofessional, littered with boxes, files on floor, messy...just close the doors folks)
Golfed the Robt. Trent Jones course...gorgeous.
The bartender in the sport bar/grill was great...stopped in to compare menu and wound up sampling beers & getting lots of local info.
Ate upstairs that night...excellent waitress, April. The food was just ok, good but nothing to rave about, but she made the whole experience a pleasure.
Ate the buffet breakfast the next morning and it was very large & good and only $10

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBBokky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Treetops Resort also viewed

 
Gaylord, Otsego County
Gaylord, Otsego County
 

Been to Treetops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing