We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will NOT go back”
Review of The Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ridge
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Brighton, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will NOT go back”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Went snowmobiling - They advertise mid week discounts, check in on a Wednesday asked about discount, LARRY said that is on Tuesday's
(I thought it would be Wednesday, shame on me!). The trail map they gave us had there ad on it saying "mid week discount". They only had the hot tub open for short hours during the day time. Just be careful of what they tell you. There are many other places to go that LIKE snowmobilers........... Winter of 2010/11

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    14
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
5
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Lenox IL
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in the Hart cottage in mid january.

We were there for a weekend of snowmobiling and it was a great location. Food is pretty decent, staff is very friendly and helpful. Cottage was really nice and really made you feel like you were up north.

Only thing was it wasn't as clean as we would have expected. The bathroom had some mystery gunk along with hair from a past traveler here and there that came up easily with some towels. Other than that it was great.

If you're hauling a trailer keep in mind the drive is very steep and on a slippery day we saw a couple trucks having a difficult time getting up the hill.

Room Tip: I don't think any of the choices are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Mi
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed overnight and played two rounds. Purchased the group golfer package. This included 2 rounds, overnight stay, breakfast, lunch, dinner and one drink ticket. Kristine at the front desk was pleasant during booking and check in. Only choice for breakfast was the buffet. Just an OK breakfast. The only item available for lunch was hot dog and chips. We did not use that the first day, and the second day after golf we were just ready to hit the road. No lure to go in and have that hot dog! The drink ticket was only a draft, well, or wine. No biggie. The best part of the food review was dinner.There were limited choices with the tickets. My husband had the prime rib, I had the ribs. Both dinners were excellent!!!! They both came with roasted potatoes, fresh vegetables, and rolls. Again, the dinner was very good.
As far as service goes, they did OK. We were never asked at dinner if we would like a second drink. I guess we could have asked for another, really not a big deal. We just went back to the room and had more drinks that we brought with us.
Michelle at the bar was nice both mornings we were in the restaurant. However, early on the second morning for breakfast, she was very busy. They need to have more than one person waiting, picking up plates, cleaning tables and doing drink service. I really don't care to hear the excuse that she was really busy either. I get that she was, just have sufficient coverage.
I know they knew they were going to be busy too. We really wanted to use our package before it expired, and or the weather got a lot cooler. The accomodations were full. We even had to upgrade to the last suite available. So they knew the house was packed. On the second moring the public bathrooms were messy and the trash was overflowing. Our suite could have used a little more TLC. There was heavy dust on a lamp. A little carpet cleaning on some stains, would have spiffed things right up.
Overall we had a great time. The course was in good shape, outside of the rocks in the sand traps. It was a beautiful course, that was very fun to play.
We did get our monies worth with the group golfer rates. It is a really nice place. It just seems like with a little better management and some tweaking they could have a gold mine.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tversluys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have visited Marsh Ridge on several occasions both in early summer and in early fall. We have enjoyed the lovely grounds that are kept immaculate and pleasing to the eye. The golf course is challenging enough for the weathered golfer and forgiving enough for the novice, surround by mature hardwoods that are majestic and colourful in the fall. Some of the buildings we have stayed in have been average but clean and comfortable. Updating is needed in a few of the buildings. The restaurant/bar offers a good selection for all meals at a reasonable price. We have found the staff always to be friendly and helpful. During the fall there a great offers from golfing packages to stay and dine.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, we recommend staying in the cottages if not then anyother with the exception o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kipper2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We've stayed here before and enjoyed it, would not have gone back if we didn't. But while we liked the condo it needs some work...they advertise TVs in every room...there used to be as evidenced by the disconnected cables. The first floor bedroom absolutely needs a ceiling fan, there is one double window which brought in zero fresh air. And a number of windows in other rooms that we wanted to open for fresh air wouldn't open or didn't have screens. And the sow bugs seemed to have the run of the place...I know they're harmless but if they can get in what else can?

Hopefully management will get their act together....

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Our room was dated but nice enough. Very small TV, and our jacuzzi tub wouldn't hold water, which defeats the point of a jacuzzi tub. Front desk didn't seem to care. No towels at the pool, I had to get some at the restaurant as the front desk was closed. Hot tub cover was a chunk of foam board insulation.
Golf was great considering the lack of rain in MI this summer. Pro shop was very accommodating and the course was scenic. The food was also good.
Despite the downfalls, I had a nice time.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jdmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I booked a golf package surprise for myself and my husband for our 47th anniversary. This package included breakfast, lunch, dinner, one drink each, 36 holes of golf and a hotel room. What a great surprise! The meals were top notch. Not only did we get a great drink, but we had half price drinks during happy hour. The room was clean and the bed had a new matress. The room had a microwave and small frig. The staff was very accomodating. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the pro shop and the restuarant. I would go to the Ric"s just for the foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funinthesun462013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaylord
4.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
4.4 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#12 of 14 in Gaylord
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 14 in Gaylord
175 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 14 in Gaylord
477 reviews
21.8 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge

Property: The Ridge
Address: 4815 Old 27 South, P.O. Box 1367, Gaylord, MI 49735 (Formerly Marsh Ridge Resort)
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Northern Michigan's Friendliest Resort. The Ridge offers Stay and Play Golf and Snowmobile Packages. Hotel rooms offer 1 King and 1 Queen bed, flat screen T.V.s, large common areas, and are within walking distance from our restaurant. The Summit Grill at The Ridge offers a warm and relaxing environment while enjoying our scenic views, and our outstanding food created by our award-winning Chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsh Ridge Hotel Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing