We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's ok. ”
Review of The Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ridge
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“It's ok. ”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Bergen Lodge for two nights with a group of friends in April 2014. The room was ok, seemed clean enough. Only two sets of towels when three of us had checked in. Pull down bed was a little skimpy in the mattress dept but otherwise ok. One of my friends got sick from the food at the restaurant and used all the towels to clean up. Nobody answered the phone at the front desk so that we could request new towels. This was 8 am when you might reasonably expect someone to be there. So no shower for us the first morning! Used the one remaining hand towel to wash up. We did get towels later in the day but not when we needed them. The common areas in the lodge were nice for our group to gather in.

We ate dinner at Jac's place on Friday night. Slow service, and we were given only the "expensive" menu. Didn't know there was also a burger and pizza menu until we saw other tables getting those foods. Would have been nice to have a burger rather than paying almost $20 for pasta. And, as I said, one of our group got sick from her meal.

Our gathering moves to different places every year. This was ok but I'm not in a big hurry to come back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5damage5, Manager at The Ridge, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Sorry to hear of your experience hear. We have two new chef's that have taken our food quality to a new standard and has done a excellent job at keeping the kitchen area clean and tidy. Again, sorry to hear of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    13
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
5
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and i went to Marsh Ridge in mid Sept. 2013. There were highs and lows at this "Resort".
First of all, the golf course was great! Not busy at all, excellent layout, difficult greens, great fairways. That is where the highs ended. Lowest of the low was the food at this facility. My wife and i both became sick after eating in the restaurant. The receptionist was no help what so ever and was very fake. Rooms had new carpet and paint but were dirty. Bathtub was slimmy and slippery. Cleaning staff and housekeepers were rude and lazy. Bedroom walls were paper thin. Swimming pool was empty and hasn't been used in years. Some of the outer buildings on the property were surrounded by debris and clutter and were not well kept. If it wasn't for the golf course i would never go back. But i will absolutly never stay the night again or eat at this location again!

Room Tip: Good Luck if you are sleeping here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gaylord hotels

Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Me and a group stayed here for a nights stop over on a golf weekend. We got the "scramble" deal ... I thinks that's what it was called. So it was $90/per golfer, you got a room for the night, a round of golf with range balls as well as a pizza and a pitcher of beer ... Great deal!! The course was decent. The tee boxes need some love. Too many were really beat, sandy or just not cut. The layout was fairly challenging, some holes were a bit goofy in my opinion. Lots of blind shots, but some nicely laid out holes as well. I think as someone else had stated the course needs more grooming. The trees need cutting back in many tee areas and around greens ... all the shade seems to be taking its toll. True "Up North" experience, some excellent elevated tee shots. The rooms themselves were acceptable. They were clean enough for a group of golfers. Now I wouldn't take my wife there. The bathroom was funky as pointed out below, the shower/bath is open to the room through a sort of sliding closet system. Hilarious. Anyway, I thought all of the staff there were very pleasant and helpful. The dining room on a Thursday was totally PACKED. People were enjoying themselves, live music playing. Good times. I suppose if I got the deal again, Id probably stay a night. For the money how much can you complain ...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GettinErDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed at Marsh Ridge for a nice two night getaway August 5-6, 2013. My husband went to golf and have some drinks and relax and that is exactly what we did. The staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived late for our tee time and were more than accommodating to get us out. The golf course was in great shape, we golfed 63 holes in two days. I enjoyed the food (pizza was awesome). Our room was large, clean and quiet. Room had all amenities i needed including a fridge and microwave. Although the TV was a little dated but wasn't there to watch TV anyways. My only disappointment was the pool i am not sure if they are planning on doing work on it but it was empty. Would i go back absolutely. The package deal we purchased had exactly what we wanted.

I have read other comments on here and i didn't have the experience those people had. Don't expect a 5 store resort, I believe that sometimes people just are too darn picky. If the room is clean, food is good and staff is friendly your vacation is what you make it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerbear35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort for two days recently. The resort is stuck in the 1970's and REALLY needs to be updated. Our room was large, but that is the only positive thing I can say about it. The bathroom that I used after nine holes was the worst bathroom that I've ever been in (smelled, no toilet paper, trash on the floor)! We won't go back unless there is a major renovation!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty52Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

You see that beautiful pool? It's an empty cement hole with no water.
You see that beautiful room? It's dated and the 'new' mattresses should be returned.
You see that big flat screen TV? You can't because it's way too small
You see that toilet? you can from the bed, because a wooden partition separates the two.
You see that extra pillow ? You won't because they never brought it.
You see that manager? Only when you ask a question at the front desk, then you'll see her pop out of her office behind and not be so 'pleasant'
You see that Twilight golf rate? You will and realize every course around is $10 less.
You see those bugs? You will because they'll be all over the sliding glass door.
You see anything good about this place?
yep - the omelette, the bartender, it's close to some nice courses and the driveway down to get you out of there.

Room Tip: we were told that B6 was a great room. we were told wrong. employees use the restroom that's rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samual I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Midwest
Level Contributor
201 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed 2 nights at MR on Feb. 15-16, 2013 for snowmobiling. This is a resort located on a golf course and they cater to golfers in the summer and skiers and snowmobilers in the winter. We found our rooms to be clean and tidy and had everything we wanted. Front desk staff was polite and very helpful and we felt the price we paid for our rooms was decent value. Don't expect a 5 star Marriiott because that is not what MR is about. It's a sports resort that caters to golfers and outdoorsman. Our room had 2 double beds with a whirlpool tub and it was large and spacious. There was a microwave and fridge in each room. Came in handy since the restaurant don't serve breakfast. The lodge we were in had a nice large rec room with tables and a fireplace. This was real nice for having snacks and talking about the days ride in the evening and planning the next days ride. Very nice and comfy. Was told the they have another rec room with sauna and hot tub but never checked it out.

Things important to snowmobilers are direct trail access food and gas. This place has it all. Gas is close only about a mile away and they do have a nice dinner restaurant there called Jacs Place but it is open for dinner only. It would be great if they could open for breakfast. There is really no restaurant around to have breakfast in the morning and if the restaurant served breakfast this would have our trip go from great to outstanding. There was a youth hockey tournament staying here during this time and some of hockey moms had said it would have been nice to eat breakfast at the resort. Can't imagine the money they lose by not serving breakfast however maybe it don't pay to be open on the weekends for breakfast?

The only minor problem here (not too bad) but minor is that you have to park your snowmobile trailer in the main trailer parking lot and leave your sleds with the trailer when you finished riding for the day and then drive your car back to your room. There is simply no parking for trailers or snowmobiles near your hotel room. Snowmobilers like to be able to ride from thier hotel door and its pretty tough to do here but would never stop me from going back. Can't wait to return for Harley's in the summer. Other than that we have no complaints and like here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caymankid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
4.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
4.4 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
6.6 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#4 of 13 in Gaylord
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge

Property: The Ridge
Address: 4815 Old 27 South, P.O. Box 1367, Gaylord, MI 49735 (Formerly Marsh Ridge Resort)
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Northern Michigan's Friendliest Resort. The Ridge offers Stay and Play Golf and Snowmobile Packages. Hotel rooms offer 1 King and 1 Queen bed, flat screen T.V.s, large common areas, and are within walking distance from our restaurant. The Summit Grill at The Ridge offers a warm and relaxing environment while enjoying our scenic views, and our outstanding food created by our award-winning Chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsh Ridge Hotel Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing