We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It worked!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Cedar Park
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It worked!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had been driving all day on a busy Saturday and needed a place to land. Hotels were filled everywhere, and one such hotel suggested that they probably had vacancies at the Alpine Lodge (which should tell you something). It was definitely overpriced- jacked up as rooms were hard to find. The hotel is dated- I could see it was a nice attraction in its day. It has everything- bar, pool, jacuzzi, pinball, pool table, etc. - great if you have kids and need to unwind. Our room was acceptable- just dated with some flaws. I didn't feel it was unsafe or unsanitary. The staff were friendly, and they had an omelette bar for breakfast (free) which was very good. Finally, it is a great location off the freeway with a lot of stores and restaurants nearby. Probably more economical than the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    62
    39
    31
    52
See reviews for
95
52
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I spent my fifth wedding anniversary here. We checked in and went straight to the bar were we were greeted by a friendly and fun staff who encouraged us to stay for dinner. We did! We loved it! The food was awesome! Gourmet! Art on a plate. Very reasonable prices. My mouth was so happy and my wallet didn't mind. The staff was very professional and courteous. The manager assured us that we would love the food, and she personally came by to see if we were satisfied. I can't wait to go back again. I wanna take every kid I know here. Great family hotel. Lots of space for kids to run around. Perfect for rainy summer days. Right next to I-75. Convenient for travelers, its food, drinks, sleep, and fun in one stop. Grocery store nextdoor, gas station across the street. Everything you want and need.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princessprettyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We found our room to be very comfortable and clean. Little dated but well kept. While we didn't use the pool, we definitely knew it was there. Apparently there was a large group of young ladies on a road trip...they ere around 14 yrs old. Fortunately, the atrium closed at 10--we called. The young "ladies" were so loud they were like a herd of screaming wild animals in the hallways, atrium, and parking lot. And, yes, the sound carried very well. We had to turn the volume up just to hear our television. Apparently, there was no adult supervision.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TitaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsburg, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Alpine Lodge during one the busiest times of the year, July 4th weekend. The place was sold out! We were a little worried about the noise level as we have 3 small children that need their sleep, but to our surprise, it was very quiet! The room was newly remodeled with new memory foam mattresses as well as laminate wood floors. The floors were amazing for this germ freak! It felt SO much cleaner with the floors being laminate. As soon as all of the rooms are done, I am sure this place will be a favorite for lots of people! The service was great. We were even able to meet the new owner and his family while we were eating dinner one night. They were great people and their concerns were for our comfort and quality of stay. The free breakfast was great for a busy family like ours, but their dinner menu was wonderful! We had the pizza, and I can easily say it was one of the best I have ever had! Our 4 and 7 year olds each ate 3 pieces! We will definitely plan another stay here!

Room Tip: Request one of the newer remodeled rooms with wood floors and one that backs to the pool area for ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Despite being outdated, it wasn't too bad. We enjoyed having an entrance to the outside. We loved the atrium and pool.....we spent plenty of time there. Some staff wasn't in uniform so we couldn't always tell who worked there. The breakfast was ok...historians were gross. The problem with breakfast was we constantly waited fir them to fill a container and by the time the food was ready it was gone because we were all waiting. My largest complaint was there is a dog on the property that was allowed to run around. The dog seemed friendly but my 2 yr old is nervous around unfamiliar dogs and this guy was HUGE. So when my 2 yr old was screaming, the dog started getting nervous, naturally. The dog didn't understand my son was just nervous. So I picked up my son and held him over my head but the dog was taller than me when it stood on its hind legs. I screamed asking for the dog to be put away and the workers complied making sure my son was ok. It wasn't the dogs fault, but it shouldn't just be running free. There were also some children of workers who had free reign and would tell my kids they couldn't do certain things but they would do them. It was annoying. We would stay again for the atrium though.

Room Tip: Pool access leads to atrium... the non pool rooms on the first floor have outside access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Although this hotel was just going to be for resting purposes, we were not expecting greatness. However, from the very start it was below expectations. We booked the room through Hotels.com, and actually had to pay for it up front upon booking 3 weeks in advance . We paid for a king size bed, and when we got there, we were told all they had was a queen or (2) doubles. After explaining that we paid already, they started bashing online reservations and that we should have booked directly through them. The rooms were super outdated. The beds were hard. They did not clean our room on the first day, so we did not get new towels or other items. The walls were thin, and our co-travelers said they could hear people using the bathroom thru the walls. They kept wanting us to eat in their "restaurant" by badmouthing local restaurants. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Alpine Lodge was one of the best experiences I have ever had while on the road. I spend a lot of time in hotels with my job and this one made us feel like we were right at home. I would recommend The Alpine Lodge to anyone traveling through northern Michigan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Josh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
4.8 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#4 of 13 in Gaylord
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Downtown Motel
Downtown Motel
#2 of 5 in Gaylord
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Property: Alpine Lodge
Address: 833 W Main St, Gaylord, MI 49735-1901
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Gaylord
Best Western Gaylord
Gaylord Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing