We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Otsego Ski Club is going down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Otsego Ski Club White Birch Lodge. Looks pretty old and worn out. I miss the
beautiful annual flower beds which are missing. There are some ratty perennial beds in their place. The room was jsut okay but lacked a hairdryer and had a shower control that I could not work without calling the front desk and having a visit from someone. The grounds are not as lovely as they used to be. Sad to see.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lawflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

Pleasant staff and reasonable pricing make this a nice spot to stay. Rooms were clean and large and had been recently upgraded. If you are looking for good lodging when in the Gaylord area the Otsego Club will fill the bill.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hasbeanshockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I was there last weekend with my girlfriend and found that the hotel had great value. For being on the lower end of the price spectrum, the room was spacious and well maintained. Everything was spotless and, while the style was certainly "up-northy", the room was tastefully decorated. I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Let's start by stating this place was developed and built long ago. It is also geared a bit more toward skiing (on premises).

Main Lodge:
Nice and comfy Leather couches and chairs in the Lobby and Pool table room. Bathrooms were updated in the last 10 years. It shows of fresh painting and was clean. The windows on the back were very large and over look the ski slope and 18th hole (about 60 degrees to your left but quite visible) of the tradition golf course.

Lodge and rooms we stayed in:
Think it was called the Teloc lodge. Anyway, I was put in the handicap room on the end. It's door leads directly outside. There is 2 beds but only one faces the TV. The room was quite dated but was clean and acceptable. The other room my brothers stayed in was updated and clean, but they had issues with their A/C that turned on and ran for 30 seconds, then off for 5-10, then back on for 30, and so on.

Pool:
The pool was open to our delight since we were told when we booked that it was closed (emptied) while they tried to figure out where it was leaking. It was quite warm and a good size pool. It had 2 basketball nets and the resort had a basket ball and football provided in the pool area. They provided pool towels as well. The bathroom (mens) was clean. There is a deck on top of the bathrooms overlooking the pool that is OK for sunning during a short time that the Sun hits is. Overall, you could tell it was built long ago, but it was quite useable.

Other ammenities:
There was 2 shuffle board and 2 horseshoe pits that were aged but functional. The driving range has a small capacity of about a dozen golfers.

Restaurant:
Only one was open, Duck something. The potatoes and green beans were excellent. I had a Top Sirloin steak that was very thck and juicy, but lacked spices to give it good to great taste. Nothing wrong with it other than it seemed like they took it out of the Fridge and just cooked it. It was very tender and cooked right, but I needed some zip sauce which they didn't have to enjoy it more.

Golf:
On site is 2 courses. The Tribute and Tradition. Tradition is more open and less slope than the Tribute. Tribute had some rolling fairways and overall a good course. But if you are looking for really good courses and want some challenge but playable, then consider Fazio and Smith courses at TreeTops (couple miles away).

Used to top notch Hilton like accomodations? Don't stay here. OK with clean and maybe a bit dated accomodations at a good value, then this place will do.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 69-Mach1-lvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We enjoyed 2 nights at the Otsego Cub July 5-7, 2013. Our room was nicely updated since our previous visit. We had a king bed with nice linens and comforter, a refridgerator, a flat screen television, and a bathroom with a full tub. The outside temperature was very hot so the strongly working air conditioning unit was very much appreciated. The ice machine in the lower level got a workout. Our room was in the Blue Spruce Building of the resort which is near the golf range.

The resort has a pool, a volleyball court, a driving range with a sand trap, several putting greens, and two golf courses.

The Classic is an older course which could be nice with a little more TLC. The holes are rather open and long. The elevation is rather even throughout on the back 9. The front 9 offers a few large climbs and drops. the 9th hole has a wonderful view of the valley and the ski slopes. Not much love for the forward tee. As this is a family place, there is a junior tee box for children. They had some water coolers on the course, but as it was very hot, the water ran out. No beverage cart.

The Tribute is a beautiful course. The views are simply gorgeous. The some of the fairways are rather wide. If you hit your tee shot O. B., balls are gone. The course greens are very fast, perhaps too fast for a resort course since they slowed play.

The resort has a main restaurant, the Duck Blind. Our meal was good. There is an outside grill at the club house, and a sports bar in the main lodge.

We had a nice visit. We shall return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed this last weekend and I can't believe what is happening to this place. Our room was not ready and when they finally said it was ready it was still dirty. Food was good and service was not bad but found it disstribing when the server was bad mouthing the management. I guess they are not opening for ski and the management team inplace wants out. I could tell this was the case because the room and golf is going down hill. I hope someone can put some money in this place. Won't be going back anytime soon!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Our family spent a week skiing at Otsego Resort in December and enjoyed every minute. This is a well run resort that I would recommend to anyone interested in skiing.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enzo360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 15 in Gaylord
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gaylord
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Gaylord
188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#5 of 15 in Gaylord
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center

Address: 696 E M 32, PO Box 556, Gaylord, MI 49735-8789
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range: £75 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the hand-hewn beams of the main lodge as you warm up by the roaring fire! The 20 mile vista of the Sturgeon River Valley sprawls out to the north. The sun is shining. It's a perfect day for skiing. The kids grab their friends and their snowboards. Mom and Dad ski to the River Cabin to meet the kids for lunch. It's a full day of skiing followed by a full evening of entertainment. A great day. A great life. This is the essence of the Otsego Club.Short lift lines, combined with advanced snowmaking capabilities, a Professional Ski Instructor Association (P.S.I.A.) ski school, a nationally-recognized "all member" ski patrol, an unparalleled ski safety record, renowned children's program, Dan Webster's Ski Shop with ski and snowboard rentals, on-site bed and breakfast-style accommodations and condominium and log cabin vacation rentals, the award-winning cuisine of one of the finest restaurants in Northern Michigan, all give Otsego Club an appealing, quality atmosphere.Since 1939, a tradition of families spending time together.The Otsego Club also offers a golf experience comprised of two uniquely-challenging PGA championship courses - The Classic, and The Tribute, designed by Rick Robbins and PGA Tour Professional, Gary Koch. Each course offers scenic beauty in the form of woodlands, water and wildlife.THE TRIBUTE - OUR MASTERPIECE!Designed by Rick Robbins and PGA Tour Professional, Gary Koch. It is a Tribute to the game of golf, the Gaylord Golf Mecca Community and the unrivaled natural beauty surrounding it. Winding through 1,100 acres of northern Michigan's majestic Sturgeon River Valley, The Tribute offers stunning vistas and an array of challenge for all levels of play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otsego Club, Hotel Gaylord
Otsego Hotel Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing