We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
southern ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful getaway”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you are a golfer you will love this resort. Even if you are not a golfer, the scenery is breathtaking. You can hike, bike, walk and of course golf. I spoke with Zak on the phone before our trip. He was very helpful. We were looking for two adjoining rooms, as we had our son with us and did not want him to feel left out. (he is 17) We stayed at the Hilltop lodge. It was the top of the line of what they had to offer. Our two bedroom suite had King room with kitchen and dining room/living room area. Our sons room had two queen beds and kitchen area. The lodge area attached to the Hilltop units was awesome. Lots of room with a 12 person dining area, bar area to set up if we wished, huge fireplace and lots of lounge area. Perfect for a larger family getaway. I think there are 6 units total in the Hilltop section. They have many options for accommodations from budget to deluxe. Depends what you want. The two golf courses were challenging, and scenic. Breakfast was at the main lodge, 8.00 per person, quick easy hot basic buffet. Coffee , they had basic black. cappuccino and more. Dinner at the main lodge was expensive but ok. Overall would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: I would ask if the units you are looking at have been recently renovated or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfun457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back and see us in the future...... you should see the courses in the fall!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    15
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
17
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Big new changes to this gem of a resort that is home to a private ski club all winter. Not a typical hotel, like staying in an old fashioned lodge teeming with character. There is a great range of lodging choices from budget to very high end (Hilltop where we stayed) to economy rooms and slopeside condos, even homes. Ask about choices and options, some lodging was available with full Duck Blind breakfast. There is a Pro Grill for lunch and new Chef Tim at Duck Blind who rec'd the encrusted walleye and planked salmon we very much enjoyed with some very good wines by the glass from a surprisingly astute wine list.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank donderover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheatley, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great location, food was good but the rooms are getting tired.
Time for some renovations. Gardens needed some major weeding also.
Golf course was fun!
Could also use a business centre where you can use a computer if need be or make copies etc.
Most staff was helpful (especially manager) and pleasant but bartender in proshop ignored us completely while we sat at the bar and had a bite and a drink- zero conversation. Should have been a "hi, where are you from?" at least.

Room Tip: Rooms shown on the website are not the standard rooms. We did not get offered an upgrade when mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebM3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeshore, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A group of 6 of us went here for guys golf weekend. The staff here are excellent. Super friendly and very accomodating. You can tell they really appreciate the business. They have 2 awesome golf courses that are both beautiful and challenging. The restaurant there was amazing. Our deal included pro shop discounts and free breakfasts. The pro shop deals were unbeatable. The rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWing51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Visited the restaurant with family, service OK food nothing exciting or special. Was a bit surprised as this was the resorts main dining venue. The waitress did her best taking care of us. Price was fair for the food ordered.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in the newly refurbished Hilltop Lodge and really enjoyed it. The room was very well appointed and the building is very uniquely laid out with a large central common area and bar which could be amazing if a large group were to rent out the entire building (8 rooms).

The restaurant was great for both dinner and breakfast. The view is outstanding and the golf course (which we explored after-hours on some carts with a couple of locals) was utterly amazing. My husband was salivating the entire time but our time there did not allow for any rounds of golf this time---must return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

What an amazing experience we had on the slopes. Stayed in hilltop and ate at the new Stubli restaurant. What a great concept.... Everything was top notch. Truly outstanding wine list and the river cabin and logmark are not to be missed. So cozy with all the fireplaces everywhere. We had a special dinner on new years eve at the Pontresina which was fantastic. The giant snowflakes outside the window completed the experience for us.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skisinternationally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 14 in Gaylord
463 reviews
1.3 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#11 of 14 in Gaylord
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 14 in Gaylord
169 reviews
3.5 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#4 of 14 in Gaylord
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center

Property: Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center
Address: 696 E M 32, PO Box 556, Gaylord, MI 49735-8789
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the hand-hewn beams of the main lodge as you warm up by the roaring fire! The 20 mile vista of the Sturgeon River Valley sprawls out to the north. The sun is shining. It's a perfect day for skiing. The kids grab their friends and their snowboards. Mom and Dad ski to the River Cabin to meet the kids for lunch. It's a full day of skiing followed by a full evening of entertainment. A great day. A great life. This is the essence of the Otsego Club.Short lift lines, combined with advanced snowmaking capabilities, a Professional Ski Instructor Association (P.S.I.A.) ski school, a nationally-recognized "all member" ski patrol, an unparalleled ski safety record, renowned children's program, Dan Webster's Ski Shop with ski and snowboard rentals, on-site bed and breakfast-style accommodations and condominium and log cabin vacation rentals, the award-winning cuisine of one of the finest restaurants in Northern Michigan, all give Otsego Club an appealing, quality atmosphere.Since 1939, a tradition of families spending time together.The Otsego Club also offers a golf experience comprised of two uniquely-challenging PGA championship courses - The Classic, and The Tribute, designed by Rick Robbins and PGA Tour Professional, Gary Koch. Each course offers scenic beauty in the form of woodlands, water and wildlife.THE TRIBUTE - OUR MASTERPIECE!Designed by Rick Robbins and PGA Tour Professional, Gary Koch. It is a Tribute to the game of golf, the Gaylord Golf Mecca Community and the unrivaled natural beauty surrounding it. Winding through 1,100 acres of northern Michigan's majestic Sturgeon River Valley, The Tribute offers stunning vistas and an array of challenge for all levels of play. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Otsego Club, Hotel Gaylord
Otsego Hotel Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing