We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I golfed here with friends a few summers ago and loved it. Last year, my wife and I took our daughter, son-in-law and 3 grandkids for a winter get-a-way. We could not believe how children friendly it was, especially for skiing. They had a lot of people working there that would teach them to ski (and snowboard). The parents could go off and adult ski, and we watched in amazement how many adults from the resort would stop and check on the 6-11 yr old grandkids while on the slopes. We could meet them at the bottom of hill in the River Cabin where they could get warm next to a huge fireplace, and we could get them food (and adult beverages for us). Fine dining with a wonderful wine list, well lit trails at night with warm-up fires on the way to the bar, it was FIRST RATE all the way. Just amazed at all the indoor and outdoor activities they had for a family to enjoy in a safe environment.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We are so pleased that we were able to provide you and your family with a great experience! We do pride ourselves on creating a warm, family-friendly environment, not just for the kiddos but for the adults as well. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip north!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    15
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
17
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

In June I was a part of a twenty something man golf outing. All in all, the experience was wonderful. Good food, friendly staff, spectacular views, great golf. The Tribute is arguably the finest course around. The staff bent ovet backward as we used shared rooms and a main cabin to accomodate our awards night. Great, but reasonable wine list in the restaurant that was just written up in the Wine Spectator magazine. Think log cabins, humble surroundings in this unique little gem of a resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for visiting our "unique little gem"! (What a great description) We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I will start out by saying this is a great resort an my kids learned to ski Otsego at 3 years old.

My wives family were members for 30 years and we would members for 6 years and we came every Christmas week as my kids were growing up.

We moved over 600 miles a way and the prices for coming once a year were not aligned correctly for someone who would ski once a year. When the resort was purchased the price for someone like me that was 600+ miles away went out of control.

I would consider coming back when the prices align correctly for someone that lives over 600 miles and only gets to use the resort once a year for a couple days.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssopko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for letting us be a part of your far reaching memories with family skiing and yearly get-togethers! We have made many efforts to create numerous different kinds of membership attempting to suit more of our members. In your case one possible option is the "300 Mile plus" membership where we honor your commitment over a great distance. Again everyone has very specific desires depending on their spot in life and we will absolutely exhaust all possibilities in order to offer you a reasonable membership while also maintaining the financial stability of a private, membership based ski club. Please do not hesitate to contact us so we can discuss options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent 3 nights at the resort this summer, and really enjoyed our stay. From the Bloody Mary bar at the pro shop early in the morning to late nights drinking wine on our balcony, we got the most fun possible from our time there.

The place is quite large, and when you arrive at night, don't argue when offered a guide. I went solo and wandered for quite a long time.

The views are spectacular, particularly over by the main building with the restaurant. Grab a couple chairs and a glass or two of wine at sunset and you will have a great experience.

While our experience was great, there were little things that caught my eye and knocked it down one star. First, many of the lodges need a new coat of paint, ours had quite a bit of peeling and flaking. Second, a lot of the stone work is starting to crumble and needs repair. Several of the stones in front of the entrance to the reception area are broken, which made me wonder what else was in need of repair.

The rooms are nice sized, and have all of the right amenities, but the walls are paper thin. I could hear our neighbors talking - luckily they were out golfing most of the time.

Despite some annoyances, the experience and service were great - I would definitely visit again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phildude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback after staying with us. We appreciate the time you took to send these notes. All comments get forwarded to the department in charge. As we are aware the devil is well known to be in the details, like paint and stonework we make sure to take all positive and negative feedback with the goal of continuing to improve the property. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Been skiing at Otsego for 48 years. We raised our two kids skiing there and they have such fun memories and became great skiers. The new owners have done an excellent job reviving the club property, accommodation options, skiing, and dining options. The snowshoe/cross country trails are fun and can bring you to a welcoming bonfire and hut called the Beaver dam. The River Cabin and fireplace is one of a kind. As empty nesters we will still ski, snow shoe and have good times with our friends. There are many kid activities, a great ski school, race training, sledding, skating and it's self contained, and safe. I highly recommend it to families with kids.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate our resort. We are always pleased to hear from members & former members. Comments like yours are what we strive for and hope that everyone has the same warm feelings about their "home away from home". Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you are a golfer you will love this resort. Even if you are not a golfer, the scenery is breathtaking. You can hike, bike, walk and of course golf. I spoke with Zak on the phone before our trip. He was very helpful. We were looking for two adjoining rooms, as we had our son with us and did not want him to feel left out. (he is 17) We stayed at the Hilltop lodge. It was the top of the line of what they had to offer. Our two bedroom suite had King room with kitchen and dining room/living room area. Our sons room had two queen beds and kitchen area. The lodge area attached to the Hilltop units was awesome. Lots of room with a 12 person dining area, bar area to set up if we wished, huge fireplace and lots of lounge area. Perfect for a larger family getaway. I think there are 6 units total in the Hilltop section. They have many options for accommodations from budget to deluxe. Depends what you want. The two golf courses were challenging, and scenic. Breakfast was at the main lodge, 8.00 per person, quick easy hot basic buffet. Coffee , they had basic black. cappuccino and more. Dinner at the main lodge was expensive but ok. Overall would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: I would ask if the units you are looking at have been recently renovated or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfun457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back and see us in the future...... you should see the courses in the fall!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Big new changes to this gem of a resort that is home to a private ski club all winter. Not a typical hotel, like staying in an old fashioned lodge teeming with character. There is a great range of lodging choices from budget to very high end (Hilltop where we stayed) to economy rooms and slopeside condos, even homes. Ask about choices and options, some lodging was available with full Duck Blind breakfast. There is a Pro Grill for lunch and new Chef Tim at Duck Blind who rec'd the encrusted walleye and planked salmon we very much enjoyed with some very good wines by the glass from a surprisingly astute wine list.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank donderover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.5 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#4 of 13 in Gaylord
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center

Property: Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center
Address: 696 E M 32, PO Box 556, Gaylord, MI 49735-8789
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the hand-hewn beams of the main lodge as you warm up by the roaring fire! The 20 mile vista of the Sturgeon River Valley sprawls out to the north. The sun is shining. It's a perfect day for skiing. The kids grab their friends and their snowboards. Mom and Dad ski to the River Cabin to meet the kids for lunch. It's a full day of skiing followed by a full evening of entertainment. A great day. A great life. This is the essence of the Otsego Club.Short lift lines, combined with advanced snowmaking capabilities, a Professional Ski Instructor Association (P.S.I.A.) ski school, a nationally-recognized "all member" ski patrol, an unparalleled ski safety record, renowned children's program, Dan Webster's Ski Shop with ski and snowboard rentals, on-site bed and breakfast-style accommodations and condominium and log cabin vacation rentals, the award-winning cuisine of one of the finest restaurants in Northern Michigan, all give Otsego Club an appealing, quality atmosphere.Since 1939, a tradition of families spending time together.The Otsego Club also offers a golf experience comprised of two uniquely-challenging PGA championship courses - The Classic, and The Tribute, designed by Rick Robbins and PGA Tour Professional, Gary Koch. Each course offers scenic beauty in the form of woodlands, water and wildlife.THE TRIBUTE - OUR MASTERPIECE!Designed by Rick Robbins and PGA Tour Professional, Gary Koch. It is a Tribute to the game of golf, the Gaylord Golf Mecca Community and the unrivaled natural beauty surrounding it. Winding through 1,100 acres of northern Michigan's majestic Sturgeon River Valley, The Tribute offers stunning vistas and an array of challenge for all levels of play. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Otsego Club, Hotel Gaylord
Otsego Hotel Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing