We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't Be Staying Here Anymore”
Review of Treetops Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treetops Resort
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After years of coming up to Treetops and golfing for a few days, I think this is our last year. We are always hoping they will upgrade the accommodations, but they never do. The golf is fabulous, yes, but we just can't get past the depressing lodging anymore. The Inn is just downright unacceptable - it is truly just a guys' golf flophouse. The Lodge is better, but it's very old with rooms that look like they truly have not had anything done to them in 25 years. The bedspreads are gross, the carpet looks old and stained and I was afraid to sit on the sofas. God knows when they've ever been cleaned. Even the carpet in the lobby was all old and stained. I think this place now is just for guys' golf trips where they just don't care about the lodging. I think that is who they are catering to. It's too bad - there are a lot more couples golfing now and I saw a lot more women than I've ever seen out on the courses. They are going to be expecting a little cleaner/more updated accommodations. There is great golf all over Michigan with way nicer lodging and dining (Crystal Mountain, Garland, etc.) and next year we will skip Treetops.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you at The Inn unless you truly don't care about where you sleep. That plac...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cascio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our resort. Please know that we are in the beginning processes of updating our rooms on property so that they match the caliber of our golf courses. We apologize that your stay was not as expected and we hope to see you again so that you may enjoy the improvements that we will be making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Treetops Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

With the price that I paid, I was expecting a nice updated resort. Our room was smelly. The mattress was so old that I kept rolling into the middle and it was very lumpy too. The ceiling outside our room was dripping water into a bucket. The carpet was dirty. The bathroom & shower are old. The breakfast buffet was out of sausage & bacon when we arrived at 9:30. We tried talking to a manager to get some of our money back, but all we received were apologies. Don't waste your money on this resort. Golf courses were beautiful but very backed up. It took up 6 & 1/2 hours to play 18 holes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfer2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We apologize that your stay at Treetops Resort was less than exemplary. Please know that we are in the process of beginning to update all rooms on property. Though this process is not an overnight fix we want to be able to offer our guests quality that they expect.
We appreciate your feedback. It helps us to know where our problem areas are so that they can be addressed in a timely manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I'm a little torn in providing an 'average' rating for Treetops Resort for many reasons....

We were excited to head to northern Michigan, where we've never visited before, to get in some great "couples golf". There are several golf resorts to choose from and many, many courses, and we settled on Treetops due to the great golf course reviews. We weren't disappointed - the golfing was phenomenal. They have five courses at Treetops, and we played four of them in four days, in this order: Threetops, Signature, Premier, and Traditional. We ran out of time to play the Masterpiece, which also looked lovely. As a couple who golfs, were're looking for a course that offers a challenge from multiple tee blocks, beautiful views, is well maintained and has nice clubhouse facilities. Check, check, check and check. The courses offer up some of the most beautiful scenery I've ever seen. Threetops, their 9-hole PAR 3 course is so much fun and offers an exciting hour and half of golf, making you want to try it again & again. Both Signature and Premier are beautiful courses, each with their own character - I couldn't put my camera down, the beauty of each hole seemingly outdoing the one just played. These courses were fun, too - the greens are undulating and a big challenge to end each hole. Great fun all around.

Imagine my great disappointment, then, with the accommodations. Talk about a let-down after spending the day admiring the beauty of the courses. The chalet we stayed in, while clean, was terribly worn out with rippling wall paper, out-dated and tired furniture, threadbare carpet and generally over-used, just waiting for a big reno. The kitchen was stocked, but the tiny bar fridge barely held our food - you need a cooler for drinks. The bedroom was really big and offered lots of room, that was nice - however very dated bedspreads and blankets you really didn't want to think about too much. The bathroom was clean, but tired looking, the shower head given uneven water distribution, and the towels OK, no blow dryer provided in the room, but one was gladly & quickly loaned when I asked for it. The room was cleaned up nicely each day by the resort staff. I imagine a stream of mens' groups rushing through and not minding their surroundings - however, I was quite disappointed. For example, the chairs around the wobbly dining/kitchen table were conference centre cast-aways - really? that's what you're going to put here, Treetops? Sad. The main building where you check-in is also very well-used: stained and rippling carpets, threadbare furniture in the lobby. You can tell it was lovely at first, but hasn't been properly upgraded over the years.

There is a nice large pool and a very large hot tub, both of which we used - they were nice, clean, and had a nice peaceful patio to sit around. There was a large fitness facility we didn't use. The grounds of the resort are quite extensive, and as are the golf courses, are well maintained.

Therefore, what to rate? Golf - excellent; resort grounds - very nice; main building check-in area - needs extensive work; the chalet unit we stayed in - very disappointing, but at least clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in the chalets down the hill; they were nice, because they offered kitchens where you coul...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VNKSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

It is exciting to hear the enjoyment you had while playing our courses! Please know that we have begun the process of updating rooms on the property, so that they match the expectations of the courses. We do hope to see you again in the future so that we can have the opportunity to WOW you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If golf and decent food at the two restaurants is what you want, say no more, the golf is where they spend their money. The layouts, tee, fairway, greens, sandtraps, etc. are the equal of any you will find. Really exciting golf courses with variety to keep it even more interesting.
The two restaurants on on top of a hill next to the ski runs and have good chow and a million different beers.
If you need the latest TV's, up to date furniture, fancy bathrooms you won't find them here. The good news is that I don't want to pay Homestead or Sea Island rates for a "buddy trip" so I can overlook the digs. They do clean every day, the people are terrific and I'll be sure to return. Bob Ross

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

We are excited to hear that you enjoyed our courses and amenities! Also our staff strives to be number one in customer service and to hear your praise validates their efforts. We are in the beginning stages of updating rooms to meet today’s travelers. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had been looking to visit Treetops for many years for our annual golf outing, but was never able to stomach the price premium over other Golf Resorts (i.e. Boyne). Finally this year we hung a right on M32 and headed to Treetops. Overall the golf courses were nice, but lacked the small attention to detail that you'd expect for a premium golf resort. Course maintenance was fair at best, play was very slow at times, proper etiquette was not enforced and beverage cart service was non existent. While many of the views throughout courses are spectacular there is really nothing about any of these courses that would make me go out of my way to play them again, let alone pay the price premium.

The other resort amenities were fair/poor at best. We stayed at the lodge which is the 'newer' location, and I would compare conditions to a worn Holiday Inn/Best Western. The rooms serve their purpose, but aren't exactly the kind of place you lounge around in or walk around in your bare feet (stained carpet, peeling wallpaper, dated fixtures and bathrooms, etc.). There are a 3 restaurants/bars on the property and which are good for drinks and bar food, but given that Gaylord is so limited on after hours eating establishments you are really limited to these options.

All in all, its is nice to 'check the box' on Treetops and validate my opinion that other locations (Boyne, Shanty Creek, Tullymore) offer a much better value at a smaller price. I don't really see a reason to revisit Treetops again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

We appreciate your feedback. We are truly sorry that you did not have the spectacular experience that we offer. We are working hard on your issues that you mentioned. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience so we can learn from it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

golfing experience was great. greens at masterpiece needed little more attention. All other courses were in good shape.Threetops is a must play golf course. masterpiece is beautiful, golfing experirence can be frustrating because of the high difficulty level due to terrain.
we were asked to skip a hole , no warning was given , there was nobody behind us. They had Proam coming , we didnt appreciate it. Rangers need training in customer service.
They made comments like:
"I this a legal signature in your country"
"you are spending too much time looking for balls"
At the sametime when we had a. group of ladies blocking our play not a single rnger came in to increase the pace of play.
lodging needs serious upgrades. we were just there to sleep so we didnt care but if you are going to stay in the hotel for konger period if time. This is definitely not a quality place. Maybe 2 star lodging. five star views. four star golf courses. 2 star customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helper521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed our golf courses! We are currently in the beginning stages of updating the rooms on the property so that they can match your reviews of the views. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If I were Rick Smith, I'm not sure I'd want my name attached to this property anymore. Years ago, Treetops was a spectacular place. The views still are, but that's about it. The chalet style inn and the newer lodge are need of repair. Previously, we'd stayed in the inn and the bathroom tile was all cracked, wallpaper pealing off the walls and it was downright noisy with it's paper thin walls. We had a "jet tub" , but there was no way I'd want to even sit in that thing. We didn't want to give up on Treetops, so this time we opted to stay in the newer lodge to see if it was in any better condition. Well, it looks newer but the "jet tub" was in the same condition, bathroom tiles cracked, the toilet barely flushable and hardly seated on the drain, and there was hardly enough pressure to take a shower. The heating/cooling until didn't work either. Even though we had it on low heat, it just blew cold air no matter where we had it set. Thank goodness for the extra blanket we found! It's so sad to see this place go down the tubes. And, please get more help at the front desk. Jessica did a fabulous job fielding the phone and taking care of customers. She deserves a raise. Food at the Sports Bar was good. The golf courses not as kept up as they used to be. I will say it's a beautiful setting. It really is. However, the place sorely needs a few dollars spent on general maintenance. We won't be back any time soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the lodge are newer. Be prepared to be awakened at night by people coming in late from the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michigalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

I appreciate your feedback. I am truly sorry that you did not have the spectacular experience that we offer. I promise you that we are working hard on your issues that you mentioned. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thanks you again for taking the time to share your experience so we can learn from it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 15 in Gaylord
487 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
4.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gaylord
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Gaylord
185 reviews
11.9 mi away
Waters Inn
Waters Inn
#2 of 15 in Gaylord
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Resort

Address: 3962 Wilkinson Rd, Gaylord, MI 49735-9800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range: £118 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular golf, world-class instruction, spa, downhill skiing, snowmobiling, meetings and fairytale weddings are just some of the reasons people visit Treetops Resort & Spa. Let's start with golf, Treetops is truly the Midwest's "Must Play" resort and arguably the best collection of golf anywhere in the country. Our awards and accolades from the nation's top golf and travel publications seem to agree. Treetops is home to 81 holes of championship golf and features five distinctly different courses by renowned designers Robert Trent Jones, Sr., Tom Fazio and Rick Smith. Dramatic views, contours and rolling terrain provide a beautiful setting for world-class golf. The Masterpiece Course was Robert Trent Jones, Sr.'S final design in Michigan and is truly a masterpiece. In his own words, Jones claimed it his crowning glory. The course is located at the headwaters of the Pigeon River and takes full advantage of natural valleys, ravines and broad plains. The signature sixth hole features a 120' vertical drop and a panoramic view of the Pigeon River Valley. Dine Like a Champion, Party Like a Rock Star! Enjoy a hearty backwoods breakfast, great food, fine wines and good times, in a casually quaint atmosphere with spectacular views. Rich beginnings, succulent entrees and signature desserts are the perfect complement to a great day on the course or the slopes. Nightlife also abounds too with live entertainment and a sports bar with a massive collection of the world's favorite brews. Enjoy your favorite team on a host of flat screen TV's or create your own action on one of our pool tables or relax and take in the spectacular star show in the sky as you cozy up to our fire pit. Sleep Like a Bear Treetops Resort features 238 guest rooms, including standard and deluxe hotel rooms and two and three bedroom condominiums. Nearly every room takes advantage of our majestic setting and offers sweeping vistas of ski hills, golf courses, pristine woods or wetlands. Wake up refreshed as a bear in springtime, ready to do it again, for with five courses, 23 runs and the vast beauty of the Michigan wilderness surround you, you'll never get bored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Treetops Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Gaylord
Treetops Resort Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing