We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Treetops Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treetops Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Horton, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed Saturday and Sunday nights in the Lodge. THe TV had to be 20 years old. You couldn't see it from the bed. The shower is in the large jetted tub with high sides. Very hard to get in and out of. One small shampoo bottle and that was it for toiletries. For the price of this room there should have been robes. The beds were comfortable. The air worked fine.
The restaurants and bars were pretty nice and walking distance from the lodge. The food was good and reasonable. Had fun in the bar with live music. But it was only open Friday and Saturday night.
The indoor and the outdoor hottubs were out of order. It was chilly in the evening, but the firepit was not lit both nights. The workout room had a basement musty odor.
We did not use the SPA.
We golfed only on the Signature course and it was beautiful.
All the staff was professional and very helpful.

Room Tip: I have heard that the beds were quite a bit harder in the Inn than the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your round on Rick Smith’s Signature course! Our restaurant and bar are open 7 days a week, but it is only on Friday and Saturdays that we provide live music in our third establishment Hunter’s Grill. Also we are making changes on our property when it comes to TV’s, and more changes are yet to come in renovating our property. Again thank you for your input and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    122
    71
    57
    49
See reviews for
101
132
1
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We played all the courses and they were in terrific condition and a lot of fun to play. The hotel rooms are quite dated as evidenced by the Zenith televisions, tire furniture and dated bathrooms. The restaurant and bar are quite a distance from the rooms.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Teblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
We apologize that your stay at Treetops Resort was less than exemplary. Please know that we are in the process of beginning to update all rooms on property. Though this process is not an overnight fix we want to be able to offer our guests quality that they expect.
We appreciate your feedback. It helps us to know where our problem areas are so that they can be addressed in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

5 stars for the golf and 1 star for the accommodations.

We went on our annual buddies golf trip to Northern Michigan. We've played the Boyne Courses for years but decided to give Treetops a try. We played all 5 courses in 2 days. Great layouts for all the courses. Challenging but not unfair by any means.

We stayed in the Inn. Thank goodness we were out of the room nearly the entire day either golfing or eating. Very old rooms. The worst parts were the mattresses which were hard as cement and the televisions which were extremely small and had to be over 10 years old. We really don't ask for much other than clean rooms, a good mattress, a hot shower, and place to hangout and watch some TV before bed. We aren't looking for ultra comfort but it seems some upgrades would be a good investment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4mangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We apologize that your stay at Treetops Resort was less than exemplary. Please know that we are in the process of beginning to update all rooms on property. Though this process is not an overnight fix we want to be able to offer our guests quality that they expect.
We appreciate your feedback. It helps us to know where our problem areas are so that they can be addressed in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My friend and I stayed four nights. It was 80-90 degrees during the day and there was no air conditioning. We complained several times and were told it was a well problem. They gave us a fan. The room was hardly cleaned. We made our own beds. The sinks/tub weren't cleaned. Even when we put the sign on the door it was not cleaned. The hair dryer in the room came out of the wall so I went to the spa to use that one. It didn't work either. We either got none or only one coffee package, tiny shampoo bottle was not replaced once. Supposed to have a plastic bag for wet clothes-not supplied. The entire hotel seemed old and musty. Staff watched us come in carrying luggage and cooler, etc., and no one offered to help at all, not even to hold a door open.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Guest Relations Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We apologize that your stay was not as expected. We addressed your housekeeping issues immediately. Our staff is well trained for hospitality and I apologize that you did not receive the first rate service that we are known for. We are in the beginning stages of updating our rooms on property and would love for you to give us another try in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I recently spent one night at the Treetops Resort. The resort itself is old and needs to be updated but if you love to golf, this is a great place to stay. The rooms were large and clean but very outdated. We ate at the Legends restaurant and were surprised that it wasn't nicer than what we had assumed. The sports bar was a great place for a drink and to watch a game. After dinner we went outside and enjoyed a beautiful sunset. It was nice that everything was so close.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tornadomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
It is exciting to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are looking to update the property so that our guests have the Ultimate experience while on property. Thank you for using the amenities that the property offers along with the great views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

After years of coming up to Treetops and golfing for a few days, I think this is our last year. We are always hoping they will upgrade the accommodations, but they never do. The golf is fabulous, yes, but we just can't get past the depressing lodging anymore. The Inn is just downright unacceptable - it is truly just a guys' golf flophouse. The Lodge is better, but it's very old with rooms that look like they truly have not had anything done to them in 25 years. The bedspreads are gross, the carpet looks old and stained and I was afraid to sit on the sofas. God knows when they've ever been cleaned. Even the carpet in the lobby was all old and stained. I think this place now is just for guys' golf trips where they just don't care about the lodging. I think that is who they are catering to. It's too bad - there are a lot more couples golfing now and I saw a lot more women than I've ever seen out on the courses. They are going to be expecting a little cleaner/more updated accommodations. There is great golf all over Michigan with way nicer lodging and dining (Crystal Mountain, Garland, etc.) and next year we will skip Treetops.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you at The Inn unless you truly don't care about where you sleep. That plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cascio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our resort. Please know that we are in the beginning processes of updating our rooms on property so that they match the caliber of our golf courses. We apologize that your stay was not as expected and we hope to see you again so that you may enjoy the improvements that we will be making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

With the price that I paid, I was expecting a nice updated resort. Our room was smelly. The mattress was so old that I kept rolling into the middle and it was very lumpy too. The ceiling outside our room was dripping water into a bucket. The carpet was dirty. The bathroom & shower are old. The breakfast buffet was out of sausage & bacon when we arrived at 9:30. We tried talking to a manager to get some of our money back, but all we received were apologies. Don't waste your money on this resort. Golf courses were beautiful but very backed up. It took up 6 & 1/2 hours to play 18 holes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfer2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We apologize that your stay at Treetops Resort was less than exemplary. Please know that we are in the process of beginning to update all rooms on property. Though this process is not an overnight fix we want to be able to offer our guests quality that they expect.
We appreciate your feedback. It helps us to know where our problem areas are so that they can be addressed in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaylord
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.8 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
18.9 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Resort

Property: Treetops Resort
Address: 3962 Wilkinson Rd, Gaylord, MI 49735-9800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular golf, world-class instruction, spa, downhill skiing, snowmobiling, meetings and fairytale weddings are just some of the reasons people visit Treetops Resort & Spa. Let's start with golf, Treetops is truly the Midwest's "Must Play" resort and arguably the best collection of golf anywhere in the country. Our awards and accolades from the nation's top golf and travel publications seem to agree. Treetops is home to 81 holes of championship golf and features five distinctly different courses by renowned designers Robert Trent Jones, Sr., Tom Fazio and Rick Smith. Dramatic views, contours and rolling terrain provide a beautiful setting for world-class golf. The Masterpiece Course was Robert Trent Jones, Sr.'S final design in Michigan and is truly a masterpiece. In his own words, Jones claimed it his crowning glory. The course is located at the headwaters of the Pigeon River and takes full advantage of natural valleys, ravines and broad plains. The signature sixth hole features a 120' vertical drop and a panoramic view of the Pigeon River Valley. Dine Like a Champion, Party Like a Rock Star! Enjoy a hearty backwoods breakfast, great food, fine wines and good times, in a casually quaint atmosphere with spectacular views. Rich beginnings, succulent entrees and signature desserts are the perfect complement to a great day on the course or the slopes. Nightlife also abounds too with live entertainment and a sports bar with a massive collection of the world's favorite brews. Enjoy your favorite team on a host of flat screen TV's or create your own action on one of our pool tables or relax and take in the spectacular star show in the sky as you cozy up to our fire pit. Sleep Like a Bear Treetops Resort features 238 guest rooms, including standard and deluxe hotel rooms and two and three bedroom condominiums. Nearly every room takes advantage of our majestic setting and offers sweeping vistas of ski hills, golf courses, pristine woods or wetlands. Wake up refreshed as a bear in springtime, ready to do it again, for with five courses, 23 runs and the vast beauty of the Michigan wilderness surround you, you'll never get bored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Treetops Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Gaylord
Treetops Resort Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing