We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place for team building event”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sojourn Lakeside Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Gaylord B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Gaylord, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place for team building event”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We used Sojourn Lakeside Resort for our annual staff retreat. The facilities are amazing. The atmosphere is relaxing and the staff, incredibly accommodating. We were able to be indoors for formal presentations and move to the patio and beach for team building activities. The staff appreciated being able to wander the grounds during breaks and enjoy the flowers and beach. Sojourn truly fits it's name!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank molson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
Couples
0
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. It was absolutely perfect! The seclusion and privacy is wonderful. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. Nice combination of outdoorsy meets classy style. Very relaxing

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Summer432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We loved the resort. It exceeded all of our expectations. We had our wedding there, I am completely happy with the entire experience at Sojourn! I loved the rooms, property, hall, and staff was great. The scenery was perfect, we didn't have to leave the property for pictures.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenkle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were the first overnight meeting of the season. Staff went over and above to provide all that we needed to make our meeting a success. I never heard the words "we can't do that". Staff was extremely helpful

Green Features: Environmental friendly is a focus. Green leaders gold level
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waters, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

How wonderful! Sojourn is beautiful and the accommodations are lush and very, very well appointed. I enjoyed the lovely setting, the warm welcome and the overall attention to my "experience" there. As far as the quality of the retreat itself, it was well organized and a wonderful treat for body and soul. It was really outstanding. I will be attending any future wellness events! I live in the area and Sojourn is such a welcome addition to our community; top tier accommodations were sorely needed. Sojourn: Please schedule more events so I have an "excuse" to overnight with you. Marcia Taylor

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylord, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I recently attended the first of many wellness events held at Sojourn and it was a treat from beginning to end! The facility is beautiful, cozy and comfortable and the presenters were warm, friendly, educational and enlightening. It was a perfect restorative setting/event. I can only imagine how lovely a place it would be for a wedding or family reunion. AWESOME!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marjorie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I was born and raised in Northern Michigan and lived there over 20 years before moving to California. Having traveled all over the world, I always dread coming back to Michigan for the lack of classy accommodations. I no longer have that concern after having stayed at Sojourn Lakeside Resort. The staff and the accommodations are 1st rate; far better than anything offered in Traverse City and comparable to what you would find on Mackinac Island or a decent size city. This is the only place I will stay for years to come; its offers an amazing location, great views and brand new rooms. Well done Gaylord, well done.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank RECIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 14 in Gaylord
476 reviews
3.5 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#12 of 14 in Gaylord
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 14 in Gaylord
175 reviews
8.9 mi away
Waters Inn
Waters Inn
#2 of 14 in Gaylord
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojourn Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Lakeside Resort

Property: Sojourn Lakeside Resort
Address: 2332 E Dixon Lake Rd, Gaylord, MI 49735-7005
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Northern Michigan, tucked along the sandy shore of Dixon Lake, Sojourn Lakeside Resort is your place to gather, rejuvenate, and connect. With over 500 feet of lakefront and 32 acres of wooded grounds, multiple meeting spaces and 20 guestrooms, Sojourn is the perfect setting for weddings, reunions, conferences, corporate retreats, and single-party celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sojourn Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing