We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just above average...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bennethum's Northern Inn

Bennethum's Northern Inn
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in Gaylord
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
175 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Just above average...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Based on the reviews, six of us had dinner after a day of golf. For the Gaylord area, the restaurant is better than average, but it's all relative, as it seems there are not that many decent restaurants in Gaylord, so the bar hasn't been set all that high.

The service was good and the food arrived somewhat promptly. Sadly, my planked whitefish, recommended by the server, was smothered in paprika and was cooked until dry.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingPencil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paig S, Manager at Bennethum's Northern Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Bennethum's after your recent visit. We welcome and appreciate your feedback, especially when it offers insight into areas where we can improve. If alerted us of your dissatisfaction we would have been more than happy to provide you with a new meal or removed the charge from you check. We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Paig S.
Dining Room Manager BNI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    58
    17
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the mussels appetizer to the lake perch entree...you cannot go wrong with anything you order on this menu. The atmosphere and staff are awesome as well. When you go ask for Kari. Shes the epitome of a great sever and will make your dining experience one to remember.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stopped here on our way home from bay mills casino, everything was SOOO good! I wish you would open a resturant in Midland Mi!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuttles42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent food, great up north atmosphere, excellent service. The entree portions were very large - only wished they had 1/2 sizes for the smaller appetite. Will definitely return if in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerMI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Shelf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

You can't beat this place for quality of food, atmosphere and and service. I've been there once a year for the past three years and every time have come away highly satisfied. The staff are very personable, enthusiastic and helpful. The atmosphere is relaxed, informal and bright. My only hesitation is in the pricing, but then high quality usually comes at a price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deltadriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bennethum's Northern Inn also viewed

 
Gaylord, Otsego County
Gaylord, Otsego County
 

Been to Bennethum's Northern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing