We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Econo Dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Crest Motel Gaylord
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Econo Dump”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

A more appropriate name would be the Econo Dump.

* A whole through the wall next to the heater that you could literally see through to the outside
* Three of the four lights in the room did not work
* The towels were the equivalent of 60 grit sandpaper
* There was a gift awaiting me in the toilet when I checked in


On the plus side, the night manager was a very friendly man and was doing the best he could with the hand the motel owners had dealt him. There are far better choices in the area though that you could find.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    9
    17
    40
See reviews for
34
19
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We read the reviews on this hotel and was quite skeptically on what it would be like. Since it was a busy weekend and all other hotels were booked, we decided to try it out. What a surprise! Our room was huge, clean and in a great area, close to trails, gas and food. Their breakfast in the morning was good. Enjoyed the friendly staff. Yes, we will be back. Thanks for the excellent hospitality!

Room Tip: Room #279 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The housekeeping staff was wonderful, they tryed to do whatever they could for us...the sheets bedding awful! The rooms r nasty but clean!!!!! Needs a bad update and kid friendly electrical open to children....horrible.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handlethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gaylord hotels

Bay City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I do not recommend this place to anyone. Room was too hot or no heat at all. No mattress pad on bed, not a glass or cup in the room, dirty bathroom, holes in the walls, chairs in disrepair, noisy neighbors, I could go on and on. You get what you pay for.....awful!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesaning, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Pool was ice cold. the windows in the pool area were open and could not close. I went there this past christmas. So there was ice in the window openings. the exersice/hot tub building ( not even in the same building) was locked and there were supplies in teh building. teh hut tub was not even open to use. Don't believe the breakfast area photo is not what it looks like. Mangement was not very friendly or helpful and made me feel like i was a bad guy. Game room was not even fuctuinal the vent was broken and open to the sonow and ice. Do not go here ever!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onaunosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Walked in the room to a awful smell-cannot describe it. There was a hole in the bathroom door from a fist. There was yuck goo on the ice bucket, stains on the sheets, dirty bathroom floors, a tub that I would not give my dog a bath in-this is just a start of the list. There were holes in the walls, stains on the towels and bath mat, garbage outside the doors in a heap (lots of garbage), the heater had parts missing and was caked with dust and dirt, outside vents for the heaters were falling off the outside of the building, coke machine out of order, dirty mattresses sitting in the hallway. Don't just walk away turn and run as fast as you can

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Yuck. Our towels were definitely not clean, the shower curtain stank and had mold all over it. Don't be enticed by the pool, sauna or whirlpool. The pool is sketchy and looks really icky. The sauna is a work zone full of paint cans and the whirlpool isn't even full. We didn't even want to sleep under the covers of the bed for fear of contracting cancer or tuberculosis, so I slept on a towel (that I hoped was clean).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sdk0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
0.7 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#12 of 15 in Gaylord
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Gaylord
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 15 in Gaylord
484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Crest Motel Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crest Motel Gaylord

Property: Royal Crest Motel Gaylord
Address: 803 South Otsego, Gaylord, MI 49735 (Formerly Econo Lodge Gaylord)
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Crest Motel Gaylord 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crest Motel in conveniently located in Gaylord, Michigan and just four miles from Otsego Lake State Park, Otsego Memorial Hospital, Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse, Pigeon River State Forest, Call of the Wild and Bavarian Falls Park. Our motel amenities include an indoor heated pool, free continental breakfast, free wireless high-speed Internet access and free local calls. All guest rooms include hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some of our rooms also feature microwaves, refrigerators and sofa sleepers. This is a pet-friendly hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Crest Motel Gaylord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing