We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unhappy”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very Unhappy”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I was unsure from the differences in the reviews i read, but i thought "some people are too picky" and decided to give it a chance. Our room was very small, the bathroom even smaller. Every bad review about the food and service is correct, the eggs were cold and tasted like fish. The table next to us got up and left saying the food was unacceptable, we ended up doing the same. No sugar for the cold coffee, no jelly for the old toast, just nasty! The server said the supply truck had not came yet. Maybe they should plan ahead and go to Gordon Foods in town and buy the things they need from the overpriced rooms they are charging for. 90 bucks a night, should have been 45 like the other dives trying to survive! We ate at Bob Evans across the street, plan on that. We also found a better hotel for the next trip!

Room Tip: Outer rooms are not looking at the pool through your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_Sim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

We use guest feedback to make us aware of ways we can improve.
I am sorry your visit was not up to your expectations. We are constantly making improvements and upgrades and would like to invite you to visit our property again in the future.

The restaurant that is attached is independently owned. I will make sure to address your problems with that owner, so that in the future these issues will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    37
    40
    33
    29
See reviews for
56
48
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Minnesota
Level Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

If you are lucky enough to be able to travel with your pet....and need a place to room overnight in Northern Michigan, this place is hard to beat. Do not expect anything other than a place for the family AND dog to stay overnight. Although, this trip there were lots and lots of snowmobile riders, so it may be a great location for that as well. The rooms are very simple at best. They do have an indoor pool that was quite busy, but have never jumped in to confirm. The breakfast is very very bad...from the food to the staff that serve it, not worth the time. I have stayed here 4 times within the last year, and each time my 11 year old daughter even notes, it is not worth time. My husband complained this time, he couldn't even get a cup of coffee to-go. Not sure why a chain like Quality Inn tolerates this place to serve their clients! Again, just sleep there and go down the street for coffee and you will enjoy the quick stop! I should also note, the hotel staff has also been very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puresynergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We do appreciate your continued patronage.

The attached restaurant is owned independently from us. I will make sure to give the owner your comments so that we can work on a solution to those problems. We work hard to make sure all of our guests are happy. If there is anything we can do to make you next stay even better please let us know.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This place needs some upgrades. The only thing I can say is the Staff is very pleasant. Gino's restaurant is disgusting. They were out of everything, including Butter and Cheese. They had two liters for the soda's, I used what looked like someones coffee mug from home.

The hotel stinks, beds are nasty, I slept on top of the covers. The conference room we had was freezing cold.
No water in the pool, Fitness center had no equipment. Walls are paper thin. Toilet overflowed 2wice. The shower head barely spit out water. It was a nightmare. Not to mention the stains on the carpets.

Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

We use guest feedback to make us aware of ways we can improve.
I am sorry your visit was not up to your expectations. We are constantly making improvements and upgrades and would like to invite you to visit our property again in the future. We are an older property but do our best to keep everything as clean as possible.

At the time of your stay our pool was closed for maintance and new paint. It is now up and running, looking better than ever. We have also recently added an exercise room. At the time of your stay we were waiting for the equipment to arrive. It has been installed with lots of postive feedback.

The restaurant that is attached is independently owned. I will make sure to address your problems with that owner, so that in the future these issues will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gaylord hotels

detroit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here a few years ago and had a great time. We were pleased to see that our room had new carpet and drapes this time. This is an older building but you can tell they are trying to improve when they can. Our room was spotless. Every staff member we encountered was very helpful and very nice. They made us feel like family. The breakfast in the morning is in the attached restaurant. It was a hot breakfast with a few different options. Both mornings our food was hot and very filling. I can understand how some people would just want a muffin to grab and go, but we will take a hot breakfast any day. The front desk staff gave us a great recommendation for dinner at Bennethums. It was fantastic!!!! This will be our hotel of choice when ever we are in the Gaylord area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racer8090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I have worked for choice hotel for the last 5yrs'and I believe this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at.I was called a liar by some kind of wanna be cook after my family complained about the food. Rooms need major work done in them.I was told it was cause we stayed in the old half,thought the whole place was old.Will say the pool was good.

Room Tip: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed now twice and we had been hearing negative things. We find it hard to believe anything bad about this hotel. Again our service was amazing and the rooms were great. You it only takes some selfish people to ruin a great experience. Quality Inn we take our hats off to you. The restaurant was great. People need to see the size of skillet my husband ordered. We are driving back just to try some of their wild game. Good job Tim. Told you I would mention your name.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haleigh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed for honeymoon. We had great service and our room was extremely clean. Our hottub was even spotless which I've seen a lot of dirty ones. The staff were all friendly. We even got hot food for breakfast instead of cold whatever. The dining room was full and people were impressed. Top notcth effort Plz. Keep up the good work will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Haleigh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
4.8 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#5 of 13 in Gaylord
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Ridge
The Ridge
#10 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 137 West St, Gaylord, MI 49735-1947
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Quality Inn
Quality Inn Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing