We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are trying!”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Upper Midwest
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“They are trying!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

I spent a night here in spite of TA reviews, as other hotels were booked. I had a good stay.

The hotel is quite dated, and the funky Bavarian decor looks very 1950-60s. It seems they are working to improve: construction undeway for repairs, new carpet in hallway, room dated but seemed okay clean. I was impressed by how friendly the staff was. I did not risk b-fast @ the restaurant, not even a sign out front.

I might stay again, but would look elsewhere, first.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4MidwestFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We work very hard to keep our guests happy. We are always trying to improve the hotel to the best of our ability. We are an older property but we pride ourselves on our cleanliness. We hope that in the future you try us again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    38
    42
    35
    30
See reviews for
62
49
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

I do many reviews every single week for trip advisor and for the most part I try to remain positive. With this hotel in particular it just needs a complete renovation. From the flowered wallpaper to the stained carpet and everything in between. On a positive note Teresa at the front desk was very pleasant and very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoYoManDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of you busy schedule to write a review of our property. We are an older property that strives to maintain and improve to the best of our ability. We have recently received new carpet in the second floor hallways. We are also currently working on improving the outside of the building, along with new wallpaper in our future.

Our cleanliness and guest satisfaction are at the top or our priority list. I will be sure to let Teresa know of your compliment.

In the future I hope you will try us again. We would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Started out that a fuse blew due to the coffee pot, it took way to long to get it fixed and a contractor that was working there fixed the problem. Internet access took an hour or so to connect on one laptop, was not able to connect a second laptop. Pool was closed for maintenance. Out side of building is in serious need of maintenance. The only thing that I am happy about is the fact I did not have to pay for this room, but my company did and will be informing them of this.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terryw42665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

We use guest feedback to make us aware of ways we can improve.
I am sorry your visit was not up to your expectations. We are constantly making improvements and upgrades and would like to invite you to visit our property again in the future. We are an older property, but do everything we can to keep it maintained and clean.
Since your stay we have gone over with all staff on the procedures on how to handle a blown fuse. I am sorry that it took so long to resolve the problem. Our pool is now open with a fresh coat of paint. It looks better than ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gaylord hotels

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

There was a phone book, a shower that was like new, a coffee pot with 4 servings of coffee instead of just one, a room safe, and a hairdryer. The room was impeccably clean, and the towels, pillows and sheets had a good thread count. Also, there were lots of towels. Pets are welcome here, which I didn't know. I've been leery of quality inn due to my experiences in the past, but it is clear that this one is very well-run. The staff were absolutely delightful. On top of it, the price was well within my budget (I'm a single mom).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We work very hard to keep our guests happy. We are an older property but we pride ourselves on our cleanliness. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

For a trip "stop-over" where all you need is a place to rest your head, then this is fine; this is an older hotel and the walls, carpeting, paint, furniture, etc., show it. The staff were great [except when one of the staff was standing just outside the entrance smoking; she did dispose her cigarette (but not fast enough), and opened the door for us], greeting us like old friends even though this was our first time. I am handicapped and there were no support hand-rails in the hallways. The beds and pillows were comfortable; the smallest bathroom I had ever seen in a hotel was very clean. They did not have a continental breakfast; they had Complimentary Breakfast in their restaurent; most unusual.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are an older hotel but we pride ourselves on our cleanliness. We are constantly trying to upgrade and improve the property. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This hotel was older and dingy. No elevators, old carpet, tacky wallpaper, and dirty. The staff were very friendly. The rooms had a lot of dust. The breakfast was not edible. The eggs were cold and the coffee was bland. Worth the extra money to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RB86Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

We use guest feedback to make us aware of ways we can improve.
I am sorry your visit was not up to your expectations. We are constantly making improvements and upgrades and would like to invite you to visit our property again in the future. We are an older property, but do everything we can to keep it maintained and clean.

The restaurant that is attached is independently owned. I will make sure to address your problems with that owner, so that in the future these issues will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

As other reviewers have noted, don't expect much from this place. Unless you're traveling with pets, you can probably do better. We needed a place to say with a dog at midnight during a snowstorm, so we were perfectly happy with it. The rooms were adequately clean. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was kind of odd -- there was just one option (served semi-hot) and the server was very reserved and didn't have a uniform -- seemed like a patron at first. We also had trouble with our keycards not opening the backdoor. If you're looking for a reasonably safe place to crash with your pets and can't make it up to Mackinaw City, this is it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We do appreciate your continued patronage.

The attached restaurant is owned independently from us. I will make sure to give the owner your comments so that we can work on a solution to those problems. We work hard to make sure all of our guests are happy.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.2 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#12 of 14 in Gaylord
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 14 in Gaylord
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
4.8 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#4 of 14 in Gaylord
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 137 West St, Gaylord, MI 49735-1947
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Quality Inn
Quality Inn Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing