We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff; key cards don't work, even after 5 tries, poor water pressure, and did I mention, RUDE?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rude staff; key cards don't work, even after 5 tries, poor water pressure, and did I mention, RUDE?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Five key cards were made; none ever worked more than once. Manager called after checkout and accused my athsmatic wife of smoking in room. Then proceeded to call her a liar when she told her neither of us smoke. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darthyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We are sorry you felt that we were rude. Our rooms are cleaned and checked each day and this room had definitely been smoked in. When you arrive and sign the registration, you initialed the smoking clause which means that you acknowledge and accept responsibility for what happens in that room. We do welcome our guests' pets as well. However, there is a pet fee and certain rooms are set aside for guests with pets. Please let us know at check in when traveling with your pets. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    36
    39
    33
    29
See reviews for
56
48
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

On a tight budget, My hubby and I had a great time at this hotel. The clerk was friendly and informative. It was cold but we got to go swimming in the indoor pool and enjoyed the whirlpool. The bed was pretty comfy. At night they had a live band playing and a bar which was cool. In the morning, you got to choose a decent breakfast in which was served to you. The waitresses and waiters were excellent. Thanks everyone for a fun time.!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are an older hotel but we try our best to make our guest feel comfortable. I will pass on your kind words to our team. I will also let the restaurant know that you had a wonderful time over there. We look forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

we stood here for one night to go play at Treetops.

Was remarkably outdated(which isn't the worst thing because looks aren't everything in a cheap hotel) but the bed felt like it was 30 years old. Super stiff, slept horribly because of it.

Ironically, the guy running the front desk's main comment to us was how comfortable the beds were. In hindsight, i am wondering if he was being sarcastic.

I would stay somewhere else if we head back up there. The free breakfast sent you next door for scrambled eggs, 1 piece of toast, and 1 piece of sausage with some hash browns straight from the freezer bag. Would of been better off not eating.

I hate to leave poor reviews, but this stay was awful.

Room Tip: somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am sorry your recent stay did not met your expectations. We use guest feedback to make us aware of ways we can improve. We are an older property but we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and staff service. We are constantly making improvements and upgrades.

We have recently gone through a change with the ownership of the restaurant that provides our breakfast. We have been receiving many compliments about the service and food quality.

We hope that if you are in the area again you would give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Checked in, took the person at the desk at least a full minute to look up and say "do you have a reservation"? Not "how is your day", "sorry for your wait", "I'll be right with you"...not even a smile. Told me to go in an outer door that they knew didn't work most of the time. The doorframe around this door had big chunks of concrete missing. And that was on the inside! Didn't work for me either. The room smelled really bad. Beds were horrible. This hotel is old, old, old and is in serious need of a complete. Along with the staff. My wife and I travel extensively and have stayed in many quality inns. This is by far the worst one ever and we would never stay here again or recommend that you do.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etimblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am sorry your recent stay did not met your expectations. We use guest feedback to make us aware of ways we can improve.
We are an older property but we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and staff service We are constantly making improvements and upgrades. We are currently in the process of improving the exterior and interior of the building. If you are ever in the area again, I hope you may try us again. We would love to show you some of the improvements we are working on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotts, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is an older hotel which is in good shape. The pool area is very nice, the hot tub was a bit too hot, but pool was good. I did not care for the breakfast. There was nothing healthy to be had. Scrambled eggs, ham, potatoes, biscuits and gravy. The orange juice tasted like tang. No fruit, no toast, no oatmeal, not even cold cereal. They really need to have the "typical" choice hotels breakfast. The breakfast is held in an adjacent bar/restaurant.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. The feed back we receive from our guests is incredibly important to us. We are an older property and try our best to make sure our guest enjoy them selves. We apologize that breakfast did not meet your expectations. The attached restaurant is independently owned, and I will make sure to share your comments with them. We hope to see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

My advice is to look at your room before committing to it. Unfortunately I cannot think of anything positive to say. The free breakfast was served in steamers that have not been properly cleaned. Our room was dingy. We had a pipe running through our room that was noisy every time the toilet above our room was flushed. This really needs a major overhaul. The hotel is not up to the normal Quality Inn standard

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JBBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of you busy schedule to write a review of our property. I am sorry that your experience was not up to your expectations.The feed back we receive from our guests is incredibly important to us. We are an older property that strives to maintain and improve to the best of our ability.
The restaurant that is attached is independently owned. I will make sure to address your problems with that owner, so that in the future these issues will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkhill, Ont
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We decided to stop in a new place on our way up north, and selected the Quality Inn at Gaylord, Michigan. It was an older looking building but it was clean and looked like some up-grading had been done. The room was spacious and looked out into the pool area. We went out to sit and enjoy the late afternoon but we were disappointed. They had a patio that was not in the best of repair but maybe part of the future plan to up-grade. There were benches along the sides of the patio but no chairs. Luckily we had chairs in our car. In the evening we went down to the lobby and enjoyed a coffee and sat on a nice sofa and watched TV for a few minutes. I was slightly disappointed when two girls decided to do housecleaning and one turned on the vacuum cleaning and proceeded to clean around our feet. This was at about 8 PM in the evening. The breakfast was real good, served in their restaurant. You had a choice of 4 different plates. I went for the French toast and my husband had pancakes. They were real tasty. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The only night complaint we had was there was a fitness room beside where we stayed and something made loud thumps that continued on for about 1/2 hour -- and this was after midnight. But all in all we enjoyed our over-night stay and likely will go back when driving up through the district.

Room Tip: ask not to be beside the fitness room. I am sure that is where the noise was coming from at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are an older hotel but we try our best to make our guest feel comfortable. We are currently doing some improvements to the property and the patio is on our list. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
1.3 mi away
Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#5 of 13 in Gaylord
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 137 West St, Gaylord, MI 49735-1947
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Quality Inn
Quality Inn Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing