We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but nothing special”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is through renovations so it's a bit noisy and dirty at the front desk, the location was good though since there were a lot of good restaurants nearby. One thing I would suggest the hotel is to put a sign on West St, because I passed the entrance and mistakenly took the I-75 again which took me another 10 minutes for the next U-turn.

The room was clean and we got a whirlpool tube which my wife and I really appreciated after a long walk day at Mackinac Island.

Friendly staff.

Room Tip: If there's availability of whirlpool in the room take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gabriel_Gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

On behalf of our entire staff, I apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are making many changes and feel that they will improve the quality of stay for each guest. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate hearing from guests as to where we can make improvements. We use your comments and suggestions for make changes.

We hope to see you again! Have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,
Rose Ann Taylor
Front Desk Manager
Quality Inn of Gaylord

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed in a ground level room. We found the room to be refreshingly quite clean compared to other budget hotels we've stayed at. Sheets and towels appeared to be fairly new. The lobby area is undergoing renovation. The desk staff was very friendly and efficient. However, skip the breakfast in the adjacent "lounge" and go somewhere else. The place was quite dirty and unkempt, as was the staff preparing and serving the food (which was of very poor quality). The price was on the high side for this type of property.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tlgmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate your comments and will use them to make any changes for future stays. We are currently undergoing some renovation. We are excited about the changes and feel that they will ensure that all future guests will enjoy comfortable stays. Breakfast is an area that we are working on and hope to have that upgraded very soon.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Rose Ann Taylor
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel was under renovations which would have been nice to know when booking. Overall not a bad place. Room was clean, staff was nice. $100/night was too much for this hotel, but it was better than some of the other hotels in the area. Free breakfast was terrible. Hard biscuits, crunchy scrambled eggs (shells) and open topped containers of milk & juice that everyone poured from...even the gentleman who was coughing and sneezing all over the place. Hotel was ok, but would definitely recommend eating elsewhere. My husband and kids enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karensB8102NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Guest Service Agent at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. On behalf of our entire staff, we apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. As you noted, we are undergoing many updates. We are excited about these changes. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. We look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Rose Ann Taylor
Guest Service Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This location is close to I-75 and right along M-32 (Main Street). The accomodations were good, nice firm bed, and the facility was very quiet even though there appeared to be some sort of girls athletic team staying there at the time. My only complaint about the room would be the tiny bathroom, you had to close the door to sit on the toilet. The continental breakfast, which was obtained by getting vouchers at the main desk, was adequate but bland. The pool and surrounding area were well maintained and easily available from our first floor room. The premises seemed to be undergoing some sort of remodeling, and the limited number of entrances from the parking lot left something to be desired. At night the parking lot seemed somewhat underlit. The desk clerk was courteous, and housekeeping staff was friendly and attentive. The dining room staff (one person that we saw) seemed at times overwhelmed by the small to medium crowd that was present there during our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a first floor room near the back of the hotel, and thought it was quiet. The room had e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M4095RMpaulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Desk Agent at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate your comments and take them seriously. We use this information to make improvements. We are undergoing many updates. We are excited about all the changes and feel that all the changes will improve the comfort and enjoyment for our guests. We are sorry that we failed to exceed your expectations and hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Sincerely,
Rose Ann Taylor
Guest Service Agent
Quality Inn of Gaylord, MI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a hotel in great location - right off the expressway. The staff is very friendly and answered all the questions. The price was very reasonable. The breakfast was nice and hot. I got renovated room, looks freshly painted, nice TV. Good hot water in the shower, big nice size pool that kids enjoyed. Will definetely stay here again in couple months when going UP Michigan.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GuyfromCleveland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Front Desk Agent at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your recent stay at the Quality Inn of Gaylord. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Rose Ann Taylor
Guest Service Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel during July 4 weekend. I stayed here few months ago. This time we got a newly renovated room. I love the new design. The rate was very reasonable. The staff was very friendly and answered all questions related to weekend action. They look like still doing renovations and putting lot of money into it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Allendale123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, Guest Service Agent at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel. The Quality Inn of Gaylord is undergoing many changes and these are going to make the stay for all of our guests even more comfortable and enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here last August for one night and it was fine. No complaints. We requested and got a quiet room on the second floor. Since we will again be traveling through Gaylord to the Upper Peninsula, I made a reservation for August recently. I didn't get a confirmation for over an hour and went to bed. Not the fault of this hotel but probably the main office of the chain, Choice Hotels. By the next morning, I did have an email with the reservation. But, yesterday, a confirmation came by snail mail from Kirby, the Front Desk Agent. She was on duty when I called a couple times and she wanted to make sure I had the confirmation form! I have never had anyone in a hotel go beyond their job description to provide such a thoughtful courtesy.

Room Tip: Same as others have said. Second floor away from the pool and exercise room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mi702, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for writing a review after staying with us. We are very pleased to hear that we were able to help. We try to make sure that every guest is treated well and has an enjoyable stay. We do hope that you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 15 in Gaylord
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gaylord
10.4 mi away
Waters Inn
Waters Inn
#2 of 15 in Gaylord
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Downtown Motel
Downtown Motel
#2 of 5 in Gaylord
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 137 West St, Gaylord, MI 49735-1947
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range: £52 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Quality Inn
Quality Inn Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing