We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a standout, but it works”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not a standout, but it works”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I guess I have to agree with the majority, in that the hotel could use some rennvoation. We've been going there for years to visit family in the area, and have witnessed the wear and tear on the property. Still, there aren't a lot of better choices in the area, and we weren't really disappointed with our most recent stay. The king suites with jacuzzi are nice and not too expensive. I would choose that over the queen bed rooms, which are a little cramped. The place was reasonably clean and not too noisy, and the staff met our needs. We ate breakfast there every morning, and didn't have a problem with the food. You can't really expect restaurant quality in a hotel without a restaurant, so our expectations were not very high. Besides, there is a very nice restaurant right next door. Overall, I certainly wouldn't avoid this hotel -- we'll stay there again -- but neither would I seek it out as a destination.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justusor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    117
    57
    31
    11
See reviews for
169
111
16
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Reserved nonsmoking room smelled of smoke and mildew so badly that we would have left if we had not arrived so late. Staff didn't care and barely made eye contact when we signed in. Beds messed and damp. Mildew in tub area. Watered down coffee and juice in am. Don't know how this could have rated as well as folks have written. I would have rather camped out.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALP910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Older Hampton in need of an update. the room were clean but it is a worn out hotel. Friendly check in. Did not use the pool and hot tub but looked larger than most. There are many restaurants a short drive away and a Ruby Tuesday, Bob Evans within walking distance. The best part of the hotel was the channel choices on the flat screen TV's. They have a lot of HD channels and a full cable line up. I wouldn't stay here more than one night.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ohio28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

It's a standard Hampton, the room needed a little refreshing, particularly the shower but was ok. Nothing that would scare me off, but not the usual Hampton standard. It's probably the best property in Gaylord so will continue to stay there. I've noticed a bit of a decline however in Hampton's everywhere, wonder what is going on. As always though the customer service was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominicanfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

As a Hilton Gold Member we have stayed at plenty of Hampton Inns, I found this one below their standards. Plumbing needed major wok and the entire property needs updating. Pool area was alright and the televisions were old.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank the5brs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I can't understand after changing to a "renovated" room why would I feel the actual coils in the mattresses and see mildew in the shower. So what did they renovate, the wallpaper, carpet and lamps? There are many work travelers that just want a simple comfortable and affordable stay. I am still searching for a place in Gaylord. I keep running short

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Hotel was convenient for us as we did not want to drive all the way from Detroit to Mackinaw late Friday night. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The breakfast was lacking. The coffee and orange juice were watered-down. The eggs (powdered?) were not mixed properly. The hotel is fine for one night, but you may want to go out for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elko1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaylord
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
0.2 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
4.9 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#5 of 13 in Gaylord
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
15.2 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gaylord

Property: Hampton Inn Gaylord
Address: 230 Dickerson Rd, Gaylord, MI 49735-9205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gaylord 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get out of town and experience the great outdoors with the Hampton Inn Gaylord hotel. Surrounding this clean and comfortable hotel in Gaylord, you'll find the beautiful tree-lined streets of the Alpine Village, home to contemporary shopping and dining. Discover the breathtaking Pine Baron Pathway, a six-mile loop in the Mackinac State Forest or see herds of elk in Beaver Creek. When winter arrives, you can discover a wonderland of snow covered trails, and ride a snowmobile from directly outside the hotel through the Pigeon River State Forest. Summer brings with it a new choice of adventures with an impressive 21 golf courses in the surrounding area, fishing, hiking, or one of our many beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Gaylord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gaylord Hotel Gaylord
Gaylord Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing