We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Terrace Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Terrace Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gladstone
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Have driven past this place for years ... and once I stayed there, would return for sure. Very clean room with a private , but small, balcony overlooking a bluff and Lake Michigan.
The room was not fancy, but very very clean and comfortable. All the staff were friendly ... the dining room was a pleasant surprise... very upscale and wonderful food, nice linens , wonderful view.
A wedding reception outside the dining room, on the bluff with gazebo and courtyard with fountain, was fun to observe. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a 2nd story room with balcony and a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    88
    36
    10
    7
See reviews for
91
69
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalkaska
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just a stop on the way to Mayo Clinic. An older property but clean and everything worked. Waterfront rooms with terrace available. Nice place to sip wine in the evening looking out at Lake Michigan. Not overpriced. They also have a restaurant where we ate supper. Reasonably priced with good food. Wine, by the glass, was inexpensive also. I have stayed here before and will do so again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor waterfront rooms are nice if you like to look at the water and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Great stay. Very clean, super friendly staff. Couldn't have asked for a better nights stay. Beds were comfortable, and the view of the water from the walk out balcony spectacular. When we come back this way, we will definitely stay here again !!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littledoorharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and wished we could have had the lake view! Very large room and clean! Quiet even though a wedding was going on. Should have ate dinner because of the view! Great breakfast!

Helpful?
Thank Artemisia52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iron River, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Ive been here many times,with family,husband and 2 young granddaughters.We love the pool,the restaurant -bar is excellent. The view is out the this world,sunrise is a photographers dream. No its not fancy, but Ive told many people about it .All the staff are kind and helpful,rooms clean,and very safe,and a great price.I tried some where else once,more expensive but pet friendly.nothing compares to Terrace Bay.Just wish they would have a few pet friendly rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for bay side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

I have to respond to Troy S's "horrible" description. I have stayed in this hotel many times over the years and while I would agree that the decor is somewhat dated, I have always found it to be clean and very quiet. That the Troy S. review is so biased lends more support to the proposition that reviews are often driven by commercial avarice or an unstable personality.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spencer96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I was in the Escanaba area for a training and stayed at this hotel. If I'm being honest, I was skeptical at first. I work for the government and normally when I go to training, I would be staying at some chain hotel. I was very surprised when I learned that this was where I was being sent for lodging. The hotel decor is definitely outdated, however the rooms were incredibly CLEAN and QUIET. The continental breakfast was typical but nice. I did not personally use the pool however my colleagues who did said it was nice and also mentioned the cleanliness of the place. The motel also had a nice view from the balcony. If you don't need anything fancy or flashy but are just looking for a quiet, clean, place to stay, this is a great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gladstone
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
4.4 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
2.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lakeside Motor Inn
Lakeside Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Gladstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Bay Hotel

Property: Terrace Bay Hotel
Address: 7146 P Rd, Gladstone, MI 49837-2525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Gladstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most hotels can't compete with its unmatched meeting accommodations, access to tournament class fishing waters, menu selections and attentive one on one personal services. Enjoy the tranquil waters of the bay from your private balcony complete with breathtaking sunrises. Relax in quiet modern spacious rooms where remote cable, high speed internet, and coffee makers are standard features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Terrace Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Bay Hotel Gladstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing