We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View”
Review of Terrace Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Terrace Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gladstone
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
198 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice View”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night while driving through the UP. The highlights have to be the view and the extra friendly and helpful staff. The young man at the desk when we arrived was very personable. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice flat screen TV. We ordered pizza from our room, which was very good. A request for an additional towel was met within minutes. Breakfast was adequate with waffle makers, french toast, cereal, muffins, etc. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganWildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    97
    37
    12
    7
See reviews for
95
74
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here for one night with my spouse in a king fireplace suite, facing the bay. It was a very clean, nicely updated suite. It looks like they took 2 original motel rooms, and made a 2 room suite from them. One room is the living room/kitchen with flat screen tv, couch, nice comfy chair, 2 end tables and coffee table. The kitchen area with a bar counter with 2 nice stools. There is an under-counter fridge and full size microwave plus sink in the kitchen area. The 2nd room is the large size bedroom, with a king bed, end table, nice wood framed fireplace in the corner (it is a separate unit but looks nice), flat screen tv, and large dresser. The bathroom is nicely updated also with a decent size counter with one sink and a walk in shower.

Pros: Newly updated, clean, nice carpet, comfy bed and sheets, comfy pillows, spacious, nice kitchen and counter area, great view of the bay! New wall a/c units in both rooms. There are 2 closets, one in living room and one in bedroom.

Cons: The only con is that there should be a second end table and lamp in the bedroom. There was only one end table with one lamp! No overhead lighting. So it was kind of dark in there. Also, there needs to be a second lamp in the living area. There is only one lamp next to the couch. There needs to be another lamp next to the really nice chair in there. Maybe a floor lamp next to the chair for reading.

Make sure you ask for one of the newer suites. Not all have fireplaces, and some do not face the water, but I am sure they are all similar and very nice.

We also ate dinner here. I will critique that under the restaurant section. It was very good.

Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here in one of the suites.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful view from our hotel room! The rooms are set in a quiet neighborhood. The pool area is really nice with enough room for a large group, such as a wedding. The restaurant had good service and good food.

Room Tip: Chose the hotel/golf/dinner option. It is a great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnierich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Have driven past this place for years ... and once I stayed there, would return for sure. Very clean room with a private , but small, balcony overlooking a bluff and Lake Michigan.
The room was not fancy, but very very clean and comfortable. All the staff were friendly ... the dining room was a pleasant surprise... very upscale and wonderful food, nice linens , wonderful view.
A wedding reception outside the dining room, on the bluff with gazebo and courtyard with fountain, was fun to observe. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a 2nd story room with balcony and a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalkaska
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just a stop on the way to Mayo Clinic. An older property but clean and everything worked. Waterfront rooms with terrace available. Nice place to sip wine in the evening looking out at Lake Michigan. Not overpriced. They also have a restaurant where we ate supper. Reasonably priced with good food. Wine, by the glass, was inexpensive also. I have stayed here before and will do so again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor waterfront rooms are nice if you like to look at the water and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Great stay. Very clean, super friendly staff. Couldn't have asked for a better nights stay. Beds were comfortable, and the view of the water from the walk out balcony spectacular. When we come back this way, we will definitely stay here again !!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littledoorharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and wished we could have had the lake view! Very large room and clean! Quiet even though a wedding was going on. Should have ate dinner because of the view! Great breakfast!

Helpful?
Thank Artemisia52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gladstone
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
4.4 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
773 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lakeside Motor Inn
Lakeside Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Gladstone
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Bay Hotel

Property: Terrace Bay Hotel
Address: 7146 P Rd, Gladstone, MI 49837-2525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Gladstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most hotels can't compete with its unmatched meeting accommodations, access to tournament class fishing waters, menu selections and attentive one on one personal services. Enjoy the tranquil waters of the bay from your private balcony complete with breathtaking sunrises. Relax in quiet modern spacious rooms where remote cable, high speed internet, and coffee makers are standard features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Terrace Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Bay Hotel Gladstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing