We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop”
Review of Terrace Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Terrace Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gladstone
Certificate of Excellence
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice stop”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This is an older hotel and a little dated but very well kept. The rooms are clean and the staff was very nice. The best part is the view, it is right on the lake. Didn't eat the restaurant but it looked ok and also had a nice view

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    124
    54
    24
    9
See reviews for
139
95
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Terrace Bay Inn in Gladstone, MI, while attending our nieces wedding being held there. Our niece had always wanted a wedding held in a gazebo overlooking the water and the Terrace Bay met those requirements. Terrace Bay is an older resort that must have been something in it's prime. Through out the Inn there is historical memorabilia posted about the Inn's illustrious past, Big Bands, lounge singers, & dances must have warmed up those cold UP winter nights. Today, the Inn is a lot quieter. Our room although not fancy had a small balcony overlooking the bay. I witnessed some beautiful sunrises from this vantage point. The room was a little dated but was comfortable and quiet at night. Our shower had so so pressure and more than enough hot water. In the morning the Inn provided a free continental breakfast. The usual offerings included cold cereals, toast and bagels, make your own waffles some yogurt and canned fruit. The breakfast was nothing special. The Inn does have a bar and restaurant although we did not utilize either service. The wedding turned out to be beautiful and the reception hall, catered meal and the staff were all perfect. If you happen to find yourself in the Escanaba/Gladstone area of Michigan and are looking for a place to stay that offers a comfortable stay and a great view the Terrace Bay Inn might be just what you are looking for. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view of the bay to increase your enjoyment of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSHpointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerraceBay, Front Office Manager at Terrace Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for your review. We have found our customers have really enjoyed the historical memorabilia that we have added. Your comments regarding the views and the reception are appreciated! We hope you have a chance to come stay with us again.
Thank you,
Mary Ann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We're indebted to friends for recommending this quiet motel along the shore of Lake Michigan. Staying here was so much better than staying at a chain motel or run down motel in nearby Escanaba.

Our room was dated but clean and comfortable. Check in was a breeze and we were greeted as valuable guests. The view from our window and (small) balcony was of Lake Michigan. Ducks and geese swam bye the short walking path in front of the property. If you want to walk off your drive, there's a quiet residential street right in front.

Dinner was 90% good. We had a drink in the bar first and our bartender was great...interactive, informative about the area, and friendly. She even got us a nice window table in the restaurant. The hostess, by contrast, was snippy and disinterested. Our server was also so-so...not too attentive to refilling glasses or checking on other needs.

However, the food was excellent. We had bacon-wrapped pork chops and spinach salad and all was wonderfully prepared. The portions were large (we split). Even if you don't stay here, come for the dinner.

Room Tip: be sure to choose a room with a lake view. It's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trailman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because we were in the area for a wedding. This is a older hotel and the lobby reflects it. I "hear" the restaurant is very nice but only open for dinner it over looks the lake. The rooms are clean and spacious. The beds are very hard so if you like that then you'll be happy. I put a pillow under my hip that helped a lot. The bathroom have been remodeled it looks like new tile, new tub and a double sink and countertops. All in all its clean and comfortable and if I'm in the area I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattyj013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan Falls, WI
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed one night while business traveling. Friendly staff. Rooms are dated, but bathrooms appear to have been updated. Room was very clean. Hallways had a minor odor but it was just odd, not necessarily unpleasant, Facility was very quiet at night.

Rooms are still using metal keys instead of key cards. No in-room fridge. It would be possible with a little gymnastic skill to move from one room balcony to another. Door to balcony has only a simple push-in the handle lock. Balcony door should have a dead bolt.

Dining room was excellent with a great view of the bay.

Room rate was reasonable. This is good basic motel. Don't expect contemporary furnishings and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Facility is located right on the lake shore. If possible get a room on the lake side. You'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights with the Holland Christian Robotics Team. Had no idea what to expect when we arrived but were happily pleased. Hotel is older but rooms are spacious and clean! Michelle at the front desk was amazing! THANKS for all your help. The staff is friendly and helpful. Do not hesitate to stay here if you are in the Gladstone/Escanaba area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BONZI2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCHESTER
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

....we found a keeper!
We travel through the UP frequently but this is the first time we stayed in the Gladstone/Escanaba area. The Terrace Bay Inn is between Gladstone and Escanaba on a bay. It's been around a while - a history of the property is available in the office area - but it has been well maintained. The rooms are roomy, comfortable and clean. The staff is small town friendly. (that means - sincere.) Our dinner was very good and the prices seemed reasonable. Our room faced the bay and we enjoyed watching a family of swans and another of sandhill cranes from our balcony. There is a boardwalk that runs between the inn and the shore of the bay - not long - but a nice quiet walk. Breakfast in a motel is - breakfast. It was just what we needed. And, as we started our trip south, my husband said - "I think we should go back there again." So - it's a winner! And we will be back.

Room Tip: Stay on the bay side. I don't think there is much street noise - but "street side" is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missinginmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gladstone
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
4.4 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
2.3 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
817 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#7 of 10 in Escanaba
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Bay Hotel

Property: Terrace Bay Hotel
Address: 7146 P Rd, Gladstone, MI 49837-2525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Gladstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most hotels can't compete with its unmatched meeting accommodations, access to tournament class fishing waters, menu selections and attentive one on one personal services. Enjoy the tranquil waters of the bay from your private balcony complete with breathtaking sunrises. Relax in quiet modern spacious rooms where remote cable, high speed internet, and coffee makers are standard features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Terrace Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Bay Hotel Gladstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing