We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa get away with a friend”
Review of Riverwalk Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gladwin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverwalk Place
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gladwin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My best friend and I go twice a year. We come in on the first night and settle in. The next day we enjoy a manicure with lunch in the salon chairs. We have a full facial, a massage, and hair salon services. We enjoy a delicious dinner at the grill and settle in our room for some good TV or a movie. We slowly get up the next morning and walk around the cute shops downstairs and then head back home fully relaxed and rejuvenated. We love the people and the atmosphere and all of the wonderful service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan K, Public Relations Manager at Riverwalk Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Wendy - We're so glad to hear that you enjoy your visits with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our suite was beautiful, had all comforts we could ask for and it felt like home. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a quiet and confortable place to vacation. we have stayed here before and each time has been wonderful. The balconys are spacious and you have room to move around, which is a plus for someone who is afraid of heights. I can't say anything bad about the hotel, will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan K, Public Relations Manager at Riverwalk Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Pamela - We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.... and the balcony even though heights aren't your thing! =) Thanks so much for writing us a review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Friends recommended Riverwalk Place. I wanted a to recognize my daughter's 40th birthday with a special celebration. She loves going to the spa so I thought this would be a perfect way to make her happy. Neither of us was disappointed with the hotel, restaurant, or spa! We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnergizerBubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan K, Public Relations Manager at Riverwalk Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

EnergizerBubbie - Thanks so much for writing us a review here on Trip Advisor! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you both again soon! Belated Happy Birthday to your daughter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The suite was beautiful. It was confusing to register when we arrived. Had to go to the car areA as there was no counter service. Also, the tv in the larger bedroom (suite 305) was not working. Other than that, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redwing1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan K, Public Relations Manager at Riverwalk Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Redwing1985 - Thanks so much for writing us a review- we appreciate your feedback and will strive to make the check-in process easier as well fix any issues with the TV in your room. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed in a standard double. Perhaps the suites are different. This pl has the architecture to be a luxury or design boutique hotel but falls short.

PROs
Restaurant below with outdoor seating overlooking the river.
The landscape gardens and river in the back are picturesque.

CONs.
The other side of the hotel overlooks a busy road and Burger King and a Howies pizza joint.
Mattresses are flimsy and cheap w cheap uncomfy unshape-able pillows.
Sheets don't feel smooth nor cool nor soft against the skin.
The furniture shows wear. Overall interior design is dated.
The bathroom ceiling is the ceiling of an office space.
Passive aggressive signs all over the room: NO smoking, $ FINE for any evidence of smoking, Most guests do NOT want a change of towels everyday, checkout is PROMPTLY at 11:00, housekeeping begins at 11:00. These are not paper signs. Someone paid for these plaques and hung them on the wall. Not elegant. Makes one feel unwelcome. There are more graceful ways to express these concerns.
If you are checking in late, you have to check in via the restaurant below. Though the staff are nice, the evening I arrived, 2 parties were waiting for a good 15-20 min til they were seated while wait staff was walking past them. The restaurant was half empty but obviously still short staffed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mooveestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan K, Public Relations Manager at Riverwalk Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

mooveestar - We so appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. Your feedback is welcome and we will do our best to improve upon the issues you've raised. We hope we can accommodate you again when you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was there for a family wedding and stayed 2 nights. Great food, exquisite shops, immaculate rooms and the friendliest service I've experienced in a long long time! I felt safe inside and out. The Gazebo area was a gorgeous setting for a summer wedding. Flowers were in full bloom and the steam from the Cedar River provided a real sense of peace and beauty. Once you walk through the front doors, you would never believe that a venue like this could be located in the city limits! Kudos to management and staff alike!

Room Tip: Can't believe there's a "bad" one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 800MaryLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan K, Public Relations Manager at Riverwalk Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

800MaryLou - So glad you enjoyed your stay and our facility! Thanks so much for the review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Suite was very clean and beautifully decorated. Enjoyed the balcony overlooking the river and a wonderful dinner at the restaurant downstairs. would definitely consider coming back and enjoying a spa package.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan K, Public Relations Manager at Riverwalk Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Evelyn - We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for writing us a review. We hope you can enjoy a spa package soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gladwin
15 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Cottages
16.8 mi away
Days Inn of Clare
Days Inn of Clare
#2 of 4 in Clare
499 reviews
22.9 mi away
Super 8 West Branch
Super 8 West Branch
#1 of 3 in West Branch
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwalk Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Place

Address: 777 W Cedar Ave, Gladwin, MI 48624-2069
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Gladwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gladwin
Price Range: £74 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2015 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Winner Riverwalk Place features overnight accommodations in luxurious suites and hotel rooms; delicious dining at Riverwalk Grill and unique shopping at RW Threads & Chic Boutique along with relaxing salon and spa treatments at Oasis Salon & Spa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing