We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Treasure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gladwin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lost Arrow Resort on the Water
Ranked #1 of 2 Gladwin B&B and Inns
Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Real Treasure”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

What a charming resort, we were looking for a place to take a small group of friends to socialize and tour the colors via water. We enjoyed a tour of the entire estate including the small cottages, the hotel rooms and the banquet center. We stayed in the river houses and they were perfect and comfortable. The real surprise was the restaurant, Chef Fred Garcia prepared an amazing assortment of entree's that included walleye, pheasant, prime rib and farm raised venison, all were delicious. We found the meals to be priced with in reason and the portions very adequate. This must be a very popular spot for summer vacations as the facilities also have a horse stable, Pool (not open at the time we stayed), horseshoes, volleyball, docking for boats and endless trails on state land. The staff was friendly and engaging, we even met Chef Garcia who came out to tell us more about the dinner. We all agreed that this would not be our last visit to Lost Arrow!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 360traveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Branch, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The resort had been closed for a year after the death of the owner. It has been reopened and IS doing a fantastic job to make the resort again popular. I went for a dinner meal back in August and met the new staff and the food IS terrific. The prices are reasonable. I returned with a group last night and had the fish (Perch) dinner special and it was pretty darn tasty. $20 for two people! It was worth every penny. I will be returning for that special alone. On the table was a small placcard that advertised upcoming events that they are offering. Their efforts to make the resort a friendly and comfortable spot is outstanding. I would not hesitate to HIGHLY recommend Lost Arrow to anyone. But, a word of warning........ it's a resort!! It's not city living and is neat and tucked away in the north country for you to enjoy the wonderful scenery and peace and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludington, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We visited the resort the weekend after Labor Day for a wedding. The setting is beautiful with the resort along side the river just up from Secord Lake. The restaurant was open and the food was very delicious and service was excellent. We stayed in a river house with a waterfront view from the covered front porch. Very relaxing. There was a small frig, a microwave and a coffee pot but even though the river house is large and has a dining space there were no plates or silver to use. There was no mention of this in the description of the river house. I would stay again but bring along picnic supplies for breakfast or lunch if I was staying for several days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troy934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We hated it so much we checked out and drove all the way home in the middle of the night. Staff especially Jennifer was very indifferent to our complaints. Resturant very pricey for in the middle of the boondocks and they have you captive because there is no place else to go for miles. I guess you bring lots of snacks and a cooler (no frig in room) or spend big $$$$. Needless to say it was an experience we don't want to repeat. We left because when we arrived there was a barking dog who would not stop staff said "what do you want me to do tell him to shut up". There shouldn't be dogs allowed in such close proximity. They were going to change our room but couldn't quite seem to make that happen. So we left!

Room Tip: Unless you hunt or fish or just plain like the wilderness go some place else for your getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gladwin hotels

Highland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I was at the resort with my mom on June 30-July 3, 2013. We arrived around 2pm which was very fortunate. The sign on the door says the office closes at 4 or 6 that day. (I can't remember which). When the office closes, there is NO ONE there. We were never told when we made our reservation that we had to be there by a patricular time. Anyway, when we checked in, we were told that the restaurant will not be open until the end of the month and the pool was also closed. Huge bummer since I was there with my elderly mom and we didn't not have any plans to ever leave the resort while we were there. I bet there were only 3-4 others staying at the resort. It was a ghost town. We eneded up getting a night for free to make up for the lack of amenities. We were told that the owner died and a new management company had just taken over. I sure hope they can keep the place up. It is truly a gem. I will be back and give it 1 more chance; only after the restaurant and pool are operating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metikosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladwin, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

If you are going to stay here then you need to know that this is a hunting resort and that it is in the woods and sits on a part of the Secord river. If you stay here rent a cabin which is beautiful and then you have waterfront living fro the time you are there.

The cabins are cozy with a fireplace they have a nice hot tub in some cabin and a covered front porch that faces the water.

This a 4 diamond resort and you simply can not beat the peace and quiet of river life. There are boats and pontoons to rent and Secord lake is an all sports lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

They have different types of rooms. We stayed in a motel room with my sister, who rented the room next to us. Rooms are very, very small. The staff was okay, really didnt make us feel welcome. I think a small 'resort' would go out of their way to make sure you feel welcome. This is not the case. We were there at the end of the season and maybe they were just tired. I can't imagine staying longer than one night and honestly, I wouldn't go back. We travel to Gladwin often and we can get the same type of room at half the cost with better service at a 'smaller' motel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelinklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gladwin
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in West Branch
137 reviews
11.8 mi away
Super 8 West Branch
Super 8 West Branch
#1 of 3 in West Branch
467 reviews
18.1 mi away
In Town Inn
In Town Inn
#1 of 2 in Standish
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Pinconning Trail Inn
Pinconning Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Pinconning
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lost Arrow Resort on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Arrow Resort on the Water

Property: Lost Arrow Resort on the Water
Address: 1749 Bowmanville Rd, Gladwin, MI 48624-8301
Region: United States > Michigan > Gladwin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gladwin
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Lost Arrow Resort On The Water Hotel Gladwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing