We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spa Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellor
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Spa Break”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed her with a group of ladies in March for a Spa weekend. We paid £135 each for a shared twin room with use of the spa, one treatment, breakfast and dinner.
The hotel is situated on a hill with 360 degree vista of the surrounding countryside, beautiful but very cold and windy when we were there. The spa was one of the nicest I have visited and the facial I had left my skin feeling soft and smooth for days.
I could not fault the size and comfort of the bedroom and well appointed modern bathroom which was situated in the spa block.
Staff at the hotel were pleasant and the service good.
As part of the package we had a 3 course meal in Mr Fred's. The menu was odd and I found it very difficult to select a balanced option although the quality of the food was decent enough. At breakfast I enjoyed smoked salmon with scrambled egg and toasted brioche which was lovely but luke warm. As a bonus the orange juice on the buffet table was served by Tess Daly who was staying at the hotel for a family wedding!!!
I would stay here again and recommend it to others however next time I would opt for the slightly more expensive option to dine in the Grill on the Hill. Had the food option been more inspiring I would have awarded 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Vizsla_Posh_Paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    130
    64
    21
    10
See reviews for
126
279
6
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgeville
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

In attempting to trace family roots in the area, we struggled to find above average hotels. Stanley House proved to be a find, albeit expensive in that we were lodged in a superior suite in the original house ( the rest having been tastefully built up in modern hotel accommodation). In driving to it and finding signs on the highway for the hotel up a hill, we were even more surprised at its wonderful hilltop location overlooking the valley below and well away from any traffic. The room we got was unusually decorated in almost medieval style with a canopied bed and heavy tapestry type curtains. But the bathroom was modern and the suite spacious. Dining facilities were in the now main hotel building ; pleasant and well lit by large windows. The menu was varied, well prepared and service throughout was excellent.

Room Tip: Though an experience, believe the newer rooms in the modern hotel wings would probably be better val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakeKGeorgeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My daughter wanted a spa break for her Christmas present and I was recommended this hotel by a colleague. We opted for the one night Spa package at £125 per head which includes a 3 course meal, 2 hours in the spa and a treatment of our choice. We felt this was good value for money and when we arrived were pleasantly surprised by how lovely the hotel was - the decor throughout, friendliness of staff and the beautiful setting. We upgraded or meal to the grill on the hill restaurant for £15 per head and it was well worth it. Definitely not the cheapest venue to go to but you get what you pay for

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SasJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you chose to stay with us for your daughter's gift and hope that we will welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My friend had her wedding here and it was amazing such a beautiful place and helpful staff with very nice food, me and my husband stayed in a woodland themed room it had everything you needed and beautiful views, we had a full English breakfast which was nice. I would love to stay again and maybe enjoy the spa and pool next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell-lord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your views on your stay with us whilst attending a friends wedding. Please come back again and enjoy our amazing spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

The visit at Stanley house today a lovely relaxing afternoon at Mr Fred's restaurant Great service, good quality, lovely food overall excellent relaxing lunch couldn't of asked for more, extra special thank you to Megan along with her staff we shall be back for afternoon tea keep up the hard work Mr Fred's.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GemmaS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

This was our 4 visit following us getting married here in 2009. There is no question that the place is stunning, with wonderful views & beautiful surroundings (internal & external). This was our first stay since the spa and woodland suites have been built, so we opted to stay in the woodland suite for a change. The rooms are different to the elegance of the main house but that said we were not disappointed with the room...large room with comfort! One thing I was surprised not to see was a room guide to tell you 'the need to know' about your stay, from breakfast times (as we were told on check in) to the technical bits & bobs in the room. Reception was welcoming & despite not telling us about breakfast times all other instructions about navigating ourselves to the room & spa was fine. We had lunch in Mr Fred's before our spa & it was lovey, really enjoyed it...it was fresh & very tasty. Then we headed to the spa & we was not disappointed...it was absolutely beautiful! We were lucky enough to have the thermal journey to ourselves too which was lovely. The heated loungers were not heated which was a shame. The staff were attentive & the girls that did our treatments were fantastic...we have had many treatments over the years in some fabulous hotels in some beautiful countries & this was defiantly in our top 10 of massages! We felt fabulous afterwards. And was very much looking forward to our champagne & chocolates in our room (that my husband had pre ordered) but it was not there when we got back to our room & he had to call for it...it was clear they had forgotten. Whilst it was with us in no time, in a hotel of this calibre you would not expect to 're order' something that was ordered when the room was booked....especially when the hotel was fairly quiet & it was for a special occasion! We did receive an anniversary card in our room which was lovely & a nice touch but other than that there were no 'extra' touches that we have found when visiting other hotels for special occasions. We ate in the Grill on the Hill in the evening & it was lovely, really fabulous room & we had the cutest 2 seater table which meant we sat next to each other rather than opposite each other, was lovely. The food was nice but not as good as other times that we have eaten there which was disappointing. Waitress was lovely yet the waiter had a little bit of an attitude & was a little grumpy with us. That said the waitress made up for him & indeed excused his behaviour on one occasion! Breakfast was lovely & check out smooth!

All in all this place is fantastic & we will visit again. To move to the outstanding category it would benefit from a little more attention to detail & a less grumpy waiter!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Goa2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have just returned from another great stay at the Stanley House Hotel and Spa ( previous visit October 2013) and are glad to say it just gets better! The staff are all very welcoming and nothing is to much trouble. The room was superb (No.29 in the new block) and the food in Mr Fred's was, once again, very good indeed, the waiters and waitresses were very attentive. We both booked the spa and it was again very well organised by the staff who are very good at their jobs. We also had a three treatments each which were reasonably priced and very well administered also by the girls in the spa. This is one of the best Spa's we have come across, very professional and we will certainly be booking the whole magical experience again. Well done Stanley House and many thanks.

Room Tip: New block is very good indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymad8449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellor
4.9 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,044 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
439 reviews
15.3 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
7.8 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Property: Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Address: Further Lane, Mellor BB2 7NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Mellor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanley House Hotel & Spa is set in 54 acres of Ribble Valley countryside in Mellor, Lancashire, Stanley House Hotel is a stunning, award-winning hotel. With 30 first-class bedrooms, unrivalled wedding and conference facilities, the stylish Grill on the Hill restaurant, the hugely popular Mr Fred's bar and lounge and a world-class spa, Stanley House is truly a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stanley House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Mellor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing