We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding reception” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellor
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wedding reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Attended for a wedding breakfast and reception, nibbles and a drink on arrival, staff very attentive. Wedding breakfast was lovely, food very delicious, leak and potato soup with truffle foam was delicious as was the blade of Cumbria beef and the sticky toffee pud was too die for! Service was excellent the tables were set out lovely with great attention to detail. We left the room for a while whilst they changed it for the evening reception, there was plenty of room for us in the bar area. Food at the evening reception was hot turkey or pork on a muffin with sauces and potato wedges. The meat was cooked well and there was plenty of it. All in all the hotel put on a lovely day for the bride and groom, and the top table looked wonderful and the staff service was very good. Would definitely go back

Room Tip: didn't stay over so not able to comment on this bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Delighted that you enjoyed your Stanley House wedding experience and hopefully we will welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    122
    61
    20
    10
See reviews for
117
261
5
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Firstly, just reading the other reviews, and have to say, we had a fantastic experience, and having been here before, I think this is the norm. Hottest day of the year so far so we started off with drinks outside and stayed outside for lunch. The waiting staff were very friendly and in control of what turned out to be a busy lunchtime. With a wedding also happening, the kitchens would be busy, but every course of our lunch was great. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Saturday lunch in Mr Fred's, what a treat! Thank you for your lovely review about our staff and the experience you had. Why not treat yourself to a luxurious stayover on one of our relaxing spa breaks, if we can tempt you......?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Set in beautiful rolling hills just outside Blackburn – and around five minutes’ drive from one of my regular clients – I have stated here a few times – and I love it so much that I intend to keep doing so again whenever there is a chance.
They make the most of their views here and this time I stayed in one of the new Woodland King Double rooms in the new wing, which was spacious, had floor-to-ceiling windows and fabulous view over the meadows – in the morning the bunny rabbits were playing on the grass!
Everything about the room was fabulous. In keeping with the style of the entire property – the interior design is elegant, contemporary and cosy with lots of complimentary browns and neutrals.
The lighting was excellent – the fixtures were nice looking, efficient at illuminating the space yet subtle and in all the right places. The bathroom had a choice of three scenes – two architectural – with LEDs outlining the base of the bath and the recessed accessory shelf, soft wall and bright overhead – which could be used in different combinations.
There were also soft fluffy towels, White Company toiletries and hooks / spaces for everything in all the right places
High thread-count cotton sheets and wonderfully comfortable beds induced seven star sleeps!
The desk area was large and the WIFI free and super-fast, and there were sockets all around the room in sensible and practical places.
The only thing that was a little odd in the room was the fridge, which was tiny inside – all it could hold was a few small bottles / cans – which was fine as all my energy drinks fitted in – but you can’t get a large bottle of water in there!
The large flat screen TV worked really easily and logically and there was a comfy soft sofa the other side of the room if you wanted to relax a bit more, recline and watch TV from a horizontal perspective.
Across the attractive gardens in the main hotel area, the bar and the restaurant – which I have eaten at before and also when not staying there – are excellent. Great choice, the food is delicious, well portioned and nicely presented. Staff are friendly and helpful
A limited number of items are available 24 hours on room service,
There are also conference and meeting rooms which I think are popular. The parking is free and there is lots of it … and there is a new spa at the end of the Woodland extension – which if course I didn’t get time to check out!
One of the best things about Stanley House is that if you want to be private and peaceful you can secret yourself away – in the summer in numerous tucked-away places in the extensive gardens … but if you want company, there is usually a bit of a buzz going in the bar.
In my opinion, there’s nothing that has not been thought about at Stanley House! It’s personal and individual yet with the service and facilities you would expect from one of the leading premium brands. I will continue to stay there and recommend it to everyone I possibly can.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to write such an amazing (and detailed) review and letting everyone know how much you enjoy coming to stay at Stanley House. We shall continue to welcome you back again and again, see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed overnight following a family wedding my room was spacious and furnished to a very high standard. The hotel is set In lovely grounds with views of the surrounding countryside. The food was excellent and well served. I didn't have the opportunity to use the Spa but will certainly be going back to try it out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BurySusieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
What a lovely review, thank you. You must come back again soon and use our amazing spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had dinner there as a group of 9 last week. Initial impressions were good - there were plenty of staff on hand, and we decided on pre dinner drinks before going to our table.
It quickly became clear though that the staff had no idea whatsoever about what drinks were available. Some of the party wanted real ale, some cider etc, but the waiter just seemed confused.
Later, when a drinks refill might be in order, the staff were either leaning over the bar, or huddled in the corner, having a laugh and a giggle about this and that. Everything except being attentive to the guests. It was a struggle to get anyone's attention to order another drink.
The meal itself was tasty, but portions were small.
When it came time to pay the bill, the lady brought the bill to the table but then never came back. Again, it was a struggle to get anyone's attention to come and process payment.
Seriously, this place is a gem that's being let down my the school boy/girl service. Apart from one, they all looked like it was their first day of service in their life!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you very much for submitting your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you loved the hotel and the food during your recent dining experience. I am however, disappointed that about the level of customer service that you received that evening. I can assure you that I have relayed your comments to the restaurant manager so that correct training procedures can be immediately put into place to resolve the issues that you went through that night. I do hope that you will return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stunning 360 degree views from beautiful, historic/modern hotel! Fabulous views from lovely clean room with floor to ceiling windows in some of the contempory rooms. Mr Freds restaurant lunch and dinner delicious! Spa staff quite cheery, spa a little smaller than expected, some of the facilities within the spa not working. Treatment (facial with head and shoulder massage) fab, and applied by a lovely young women. BAR STAFF and RECEPTION miserable, tired, underpaid, unhelpful, rude, clearly bullied by overbearing managers. Admin structure needs some attention as it was quite time consuming when trying to decipher how we had been charged for some things and what we had been charged for? Overall I believe this Hotel/Spa has potential for a 5* experience However that will NEVER be achieved until your CUSTOMER SERVICE and hotel reception team have some proper Customer Services training!

Room Tip: The Woodland rooms have beautiful views and huge picture windows to view them from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on the Escape for the Night spa package. Your constructive feedback is most appreciated and will certainly assist us in continually improving our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poitiers, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was taken here to eat last October 2013 I cannot praise the restaurant highly enough.
Perfect service and food. Slight fly in the ointment was the girl from reception desk (ex army) rather intrusively chatty while we had post prandial coffee.
That would not deter me visiting again though.

Room Tip: Did not room, just ate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judithcatlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your meal at our Grill on the Hill Restaurant, it is very much appreciated. Looking forward to seeing you 'up the hill' again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellor
4.8 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
15.2 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
19.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Property: Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Address: Further Lane, Mellor BB2 7NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Mellor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanley House Hotel & Spa is set in 54 acres of Ribble Valley countryside in Mellor, Lancashire, Stanley House Hotel is a stunning, award-winning hotel. With 30 first-class bedrooms, unrivalled wedding and conference facilities, the stylish Grill on the Hill restaurant, the hugely popular Mr Fred's bar and lounge and a world-class spa, Stanley House is truly a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stanley House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Mellor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing