We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oldtown Farmhouse B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$337
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
US$184
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zuni Hotel(Kilkenny)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kilkenny River Court Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
59
2
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmary and johnring fortfull irish breakfastjoy to beholdlarge bedroompropertykellsirelandkilkennybnbhostesshosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was our first stay during our tour of Ireland and we were really made welcome by Mary who is the proprieter of this lovely b and b.

Our room was fresh, modern, stylish and immaculately clean. All the linen was crisp and fresh and towels were soft and fluffy.

We had a large room with a brilliant view from the full width window. It was warm, comfortable and had everything we needed.

Mary recommended an excellent local pub called Carroll's in Knoctopher which we visited and enjoyed our first taste of a true Irish pub. It was very good.

Next morning Mary cooked a lovely breakfast, it was excellent bacon - thick cut instead of the usual transparent stuff.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the warm welcome Mary gave us.

Room Tip: Just ask Mary
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at the Oldtown Farmhouse B&B for 2 nights during our trip to Ireland. This was the first B&B we stayed at while in Ireland and compared the rest to this one. The location was great, it was centrally located to all the sights around Kilkenny that you would want to go see. The owner, Mary, was wonderful and was willing to give us any directions and recommendations that we needed during our stay. The bedroom and en suite was a perfect size and we had plenty of room and felt very comfortable. Mary served a great breakfast both days and was accommodating to whatever your tastes might be. She was a very gracious host and was very happy to talk with us and show us around the property, the view from the house was gorgeous. Would defiantly recommend staying at the Oldtown Farmhouse and would stay there again if we are ever back in the Kilkenny area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madams07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Excellent B&B in the quiet countryside near Kilkenny. Great as a base for touring such well known sights as Kells Priory, Kilree Monastic Site and Jervis Abbey, all of which are within a 10 minute drive.
Kilkenny Castle is about 20 minutes away. We stayed 3 nights and toured the Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle, Swiss Cottage and Ormond Castle as well as Kilkenny . All are within an hours drive or less.
Mrs. Fitzgerald was friendly and full of helpful information and directions. The full irish breakfast was delicious. Surprisingly, even tough you are in the midst of farmland, there is a really good bar and restaurant just 5 minutes away in Knockopher. at Carroll's Hotel. We ate there two of the nights we were so pleased with its menu.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fullprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Oldtown Farmhouse was the fisrt place we stayed after landing in Ireland. We stayed two days there. Mary's attention to detail was above and beyond! The bed was absolutely the best bed we had in all of Ireland -- Large, soft, I think she even Ironed our bed linens they were so crisp and clean! Her breakfast was outstanding. The location was great with lots nearby to see yet in a rural area so very quiet and peaceful. Unfortunately this being our first place we stayed our expectaions were set very high and absolutely no other place compared to Mary and Johns! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

By far the cleanest B&B we have ever stayed in. It sparkled. Mary and John were warm and wonderful hosts. We came in jet lagged, exhausted and left rested and excited for the remainder of our trip. Mary had good advice for us and is a lifetime local so knows the area well. Mary and her home are real Irish GEMS!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews