We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lawcus Farm Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Stoneyford
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zuni Hotel(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveller rating
1,038
27
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,038
27
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanne marielawcus farmkells prioryhighlight of our tripkings riverhand drawn maplocal pubguinea pigsb bwonderful hostsstone roomgoatirish countrysideporridgefeed the animalsstayed longerfamily suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
575 - 580 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were driving from Dublin heading to Kinsley and didn't have a place to stay. While driving near Kilkenny, our guidebook recommended Lawcus Farm, so we gave them a call. As luck would have it, they had a group that couldn't come and they had a room available. We liked it so much, we stayed an extra night!

Unfortunately, Anne Marie was out with a family emergency, but Mark couldn't have been a better host. His colleague Robin was on-hand and he was a great cook, it was the best breakfast I've had so far during our trip. This is a working farm, so our daughter also loved being able to feed the cows, pigs, horses and goats every morning.

Mark & Robin have hand-built the farm and I would love to have them build a house for me! It was exception and the attention to detail impeccable. Although they only serve breakfast, Mark told us where to eat and his choices were great. He also recommended that we visit the locals ruins and, I have to admit, they were pretty cool. Plus, they were free to roam about, so that helped too.

Would we stay again? Without hesitation. In fact, if they would allow it, my daughter is ready to come back for the summer and help them on the farm.

It is a few miles outside of the city, but it was beautiful and Mark is a great host. Yes, you should stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and I don't think there's a bad room. But, they have a new building and I would stay there the next time we visit.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved it here. The rooms are comfy basic, perfect for a farm guesthouse feel. Ann-Marie and Mark are awesome. Breakfasts were great and location is near. Kilkenny and local ruins that you can explore without the crowds.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richsklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

By far the best BnB we stayed in during our 2 weeks of travel in the Republic. Our room was bursting with charm and character and very comfortable, as is the whole house. Our hosts, Mark and Anne-Marie, were fabulous; great country Irish breakfasts in their kitchen and took the time to show us around their farm and fabulous stone home (built by Mark). We only stayed 3 nights, but would've loved to have stayed much longer, if time allowed. Located close to the small villages of Stoneyford and Kells, its a short drive to Kilkenny and other interesting sites including Jerrepoint Abbey and the ruins of Kells Priory and castle. Had some fantastic nights at Shirley's pub in Kells with great music and singing performed by the legendary, John Travers, a local musician with world class talent. Couldn't believe we were hearing such quality music in an out-of-the pub and all from one man!
Will definitely return to this BnB. Thanks so much Mark and Anne-Marie for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Mark and Anne-Marie were fantastic hosts. Mark took us on a tour of the property and told us about all of the local attractions. Our room was spacious and immaculate and breakfast was delicious. We could easily have stayed here for a week and have already recommended this stay to several people.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is definitely old world charm. Mark has a heart for this farm and the guests that come and call it home for there stay. When we arrived Anne Marie was out of town for a family emergency so he asked if we could change our room reservations. He put us in fewer rooms but better accommodations than we booked. He was quite hospitable. Be gave a local map if the sites around and made suggestions for dinner. Listen to him. He won't swear you wrong! The grounds were breath taking.
The next morning he took us on a tour of the house he and roger built. AMAZING! It just beautiful.
My advise for you reading this, treat this B&B has a destination. Give yourself time to enjoy the scenery, the land of the farm, the animals on the farm, the house tour, and the sites around. You won't be disappointed. If you want to know the Irish country and hang with some wonderful and charming locals then this is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazywish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews