We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous food”
Review of Clarendon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarendon Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hebden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We visited this hotel on Friday and got a very warm friendly welcome. The staff were very helpful and managed to book us the last table when we phoned late on Friday evening. Food was absolutely wonderful. I had a vegetarian meal (pasta with sun dried tomatoes/olives/mozzarella/pesto) which was totally scrummy! Partner had shoulder of lamb which he said was delicious. It was very busy due to the Tour de France but service was excellent. Would definitely recommend this place and we intend to return! The added bonus is that it's dog friendly too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1113LME89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked two weekend nights b&b at very short notice having called in to the hotel (really a pub with rooms) on a previous visit to the Yorkshire Dales. Ideally located in Hebden, only 1.5 miles from Grassington and approx half a mile away from the river Wharfe from where you can head in either direction towards Grassington (2.5 miles along the river) or to Burnsall (1 mile) in the other direction. The Clarendon is well placed for touring the Dales.

Small room, but clean and with a comfy bed and views over to the village. Compact ensuite but ok for a short stay.

The owners are charming and they have a friendly team of staff. In addition they also run a small village store from the same premises, having opened after the local village store proprietor retired.

Plenty of locals using the bar (excellent beers, inc Timothy Taylor, Boltmaker and Landlord) and very busy serving food both evenings of our stay. We chose to dine in each evening and were glad we did. Generous portions from a good selection of menu items and extensive specials board. Excellent quality food, including the full breakfasts.

We shall be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffsTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Clarendon whilst touring the Yorkshire Dales with our young baby. Not only is the location perfect but Hayley and Ash, the owners, were fabulous. Having never stayed in a hotel with our son before we were slightly anxious about all the practicalities of being away with such young baby but we did not need to be. We were located in a quiet part of the hotel, where our son could sleep in peace and not disturb others, a travel cot and bedding was provided and we were quite free to leave our food in a fridge if needed. As a young family, we felt completely welcome.

In addition to the above, the hotel has a nice atmosphere, is well decorated and serves a range of good drinks, including local beers. We ate there for three nights and were not disappointed; the food was excellent. Our room was spacious with television and coffee making facilities. Although the bathroom was small it had everything you needed (apart from a bath; we had a shower cubicle).

The staff were all friendly and professional. Attentive but not intrusive, as we like.

All in all, great place, great food, great value for money. We would highly recommend and would stay again if we planned another trip in the area.

Many thanks!!!!

All in all we had a great time

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernMonkeys_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My partner and I dined at the Clarendon 3 times in May when we were staying locally. The first time we had slow cooked lamb and it was one of the best meals I've ever eaten. Also had a pork fillet and bacon stack - also quite good. Our next meal there was on a Sunday, so of course we had the Sunday roast. Roast beef was good and plentiful. Roast potatoes were crispy and the veg were cooked to perfection. The Yorkshire pudding, however, was pretty terrible - inedible, in fact. The dessert - sticky toffee pudding was good - tasted home-made. Our 3rd meal there was not good at all, My chicken breast stuffed with basil was entirely forgettable, and if there was basil in it, I couldn't taste it. My partner had pasta - bore little resemblance to the description on the menu and wasn't very nice at all. Dessert was an apple and rhubarb crumble which was to die for - really good and PLENTY of it. On all three nights, the service was friendly and helpful. The atmosphere in the hotel was good. Although I have rated the Clarendon "Average", Its variability makes it hard to rate accurately. If I had reviewed it after our first meal, I would have given it an "Excellent". If I had reviewed it after only the 3rd meal, I would have rated it poor. I guess, like most places they have their strengths and weaknesses.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DibleyDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Wonderful welcoming staff. We had 3 meals here as it was a short walk from our accommodation. The first meal (Thurs night) was absolutely wonderful 10 out of 10 for both our meals (slow roast lamb and basal stuffed chicken fillet with stilton sauce). My second meal (Sat) was very disappointing (pasta with creamy basil sauce with supposedly a pork fillet) this was nothing like the description on the menu!), but my partner enjoyed their meal. Tonight we were back there again after a tiring day hiking and we had the Sunday roast. Meat was scarce and a bit tough but lovely flavour, yorkshire pudding (no go!) and 2 measly roast potatoes plus a bowl of boiled veg). Disappointing after a great start. Not sure if they had a different chef on?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieSyd_Jen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here whilst doing part of the dales way. We were made very welcome, room was clean and inviting. Had dinner here - one of the best pub meals I have had in a while. Dog was made very welcome. Breakfast was really yummy and set us up for a days walking. All the staff here were very friendly and welcoming. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were staying in Hebden and decided to walk to the local pub. We had problems getting a table because it was so busy. Decor was unpretentious and dated but we liked that. A genuine local pub. However the food was excellent. We were really surprised at the quality and reasonable cost. The staff were really busy but very helpful. When the rush had died down the bar lady came over and had a joke with us. The owner was very pleasant too. No wonder they were so busy. We will definitely return when in the area.

Room Tip: Did not stay there so can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickshireMarakesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hebden
1.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 20 in Grassington
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Inn

Address: Hebden, Hebden, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington > Hebden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hebden
Price Range: £63 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Clarendon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing