We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Glen Arbor B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice, clean B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at this B&B for a few nights in July. Very nice facility. Owners were friendly and helpful, suggesting places to visit and eat during our stay. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was plentiful and nutritious. There was a wrap around porch with a few tables where you could enjoy your breakfast or just sit and enjoy the scenery. This B&B is conveniently located to the restaurants in town, the shops and the local grocery store. We thoroughly enjoyed our time spent here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orcalvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    26
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
72
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We got lucky that they had an available room, while we were driving through on our "mini-moon" after our wedding. We stayed in a lovely french themed room, with our own private entrance, and it was perfect. The Inn is walking distance to the restaurants in town and to the beach, and I couldn't say a bad thing about it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicag0jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

What a wonderful place to spend a few days! The innkeepers were very inviting and offered great advice on places to visit and things to do. The room (we had a suite) was very comfortable and relaxing. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning on the front porch. The breakfasts were more European in style, with hard boiled eggs, fruit, cheeses, breads and yogurt with granola. No heavy eggs and bacon here thankfully! Tea and hot chocolate were available at all time. The Inn allowed guests to borrow beach towels and chairs, which was nice. The location is perfect - right in the heart of Glen Arbor but it feels relatively private and quiet. An easy walk to shops and restaurants as well as the beach. The sand dunes are just a short drive away. For a relaxing and enjoyable stay, the Sylvan Inn is the perfect place!

Room Tip: The suites are more private and quiet. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellaurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Three couples stayed here for a mini reunion. The location is great- can walk to everything in the town of Glen Arbor and drive or bike to Sleeping Bear Dunes, Leland and other great places. Breakfast is modest but just how we like it- fresh fruit- a bread or two, granola, juice and coffee. The big porch is a lovely place to sit. The innkeepers are very accomodating and helped us with everything we needed and every question we had. The air conditioner was noisy and difficult to control but the weather was such that we were able to leave it off most of the time.

Room Tip: Rooms with shared baths are not a problem as I think all rooms have a sink in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeen Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We could not get over the hospitality! Ralph and Rose are the best. Stayed in room 5 and loved it. Did not want to leave but we are already trying to plan or next visit. My wife and I have stayed in a few great B&B's in Maine, the Sylvan is right up there. We were greeted by Rose who spent a good deal of time with us explaining where everything was around the inn and the attractions, restaurants and beach access in the area. We were in Michigan for my mother's memorial and the Sylvan was a real pick me up!!!!
It was my pleasure to get the brochures for you Rose!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarennEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Was lucky to find this nicely priced b&b the day before I needed a place to stay. We usually travel without reserved accommodations and I was lucky enough to score a Friday night room on the day before. Lucky as the inn was full come Friday night. My first impression upon entering this home was how attractive and clean it appeared.

We asked for least expensive and were given a room on the 2nd floor which included 2 twin beds, 2 reading lamps and a small table in between the beds, a chair, dresser and corner sink. Right outside our bedroom door were 2 bathrooms which we shared with the other 3 rooms on our floor. One bath had a window, tub, sink and toilet and the window made the room bright and welcoming. The 2nd bathroom was smaller and contained a sink, toilet and shower. Our room was sunny and cheery with 2 windows. Room was very clean and beds comfortable. The floors were really pretty squeaky so I don't know how that affected to folks in the room below us.

Friday evening we enjoyed a couple of drinks (brought our own) on the nicely appointed front porch before walking into town for dinner. The b&b is just a couple of houses down from the center of "town".

Coffee and juice were available downstairs at 7:30. We took our coffee out on the porch and welcomed in the morning before the breakfast buffet was ready @ 8 a.m. Lovely presentation and tasty food made for an especially nice morning for me. Almost everything included fruit and my husband does not eat fruit, so they only think he would eat for breakfast was a walnut and spice bread and coffee. Just a heads up if you have finicky eaters.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottagetupandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Had a great time at The Sylvan Inn. My girlfriend and me checked in on a Monday and stayed the whole week. Ralph and Rose were wonderful hosts and conversations with them were very nice. Any question we asked was answered completely whether it was what beach to go to or where to go to eat.
The breakfast was great! If you're looking for bacon and eggs, this isn't it. Fresh fruit, granola, homemade pastries and more made this a one of a kind place.
I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking in the Glen Arbor area.
Thank you Ralph and Rose for a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michealamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
14.6 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
22.2 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
22.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Lakeshore Inn Motel
Lakeshore Inn Motel
#2 of 3 in Glen Arbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
6.8 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6680 Western Ave, P.O. Box 648, Glen Arbor, MI 49636-5103
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic 14 room Inn in the heart of the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore Park. Walk to charming downtown Glen Arbor for boutique shopping, art galleries, restaurants and more. 2 Blocks to beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sylvan Hotel Glen Arbor
The Sylvan Inn Bed And Breakfast
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast Glen Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing