We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings and true beachfront feel”
Review of The Homestead

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Arbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Homestead
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Arbor
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As another reviewer was surprised to find out, there is no A/C in the condo units. I've summered there for the last 5 years in mid-July and only needed it once about 3 years ago. If you're going to relax and enjoy Lake Michigan, golf, hiking, biking on the new trails, etc. this is a great place. Relaxed, casual and pretty - not luxurious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHomesteadMI, Public Relations Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Tina M,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit. When the resort was initially developed, a/c was not added mostly because it wasn't typically needed in northern Michigan, and secondly to maintain the peaceful setting with little noise pollution. As we've added newer facilities (in the last 15 years), a/c has been added to facilities and now a/c can be found in our four hotels and the grand quality condominiums and homes.

We are glad that you enjoyed the area and a relaxing visit. We do hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for The Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been planning a family trip Up North for the past several weeks, zeroing in on The Homestead as a place to house my wife and two small kids for several days while I join some friends for a golf weekend before we move to a beachfront house the following week this coming July. I spent a considerable amount of time on the phone with the Homestead and on the website researching and planning, ultimately settling on a condo that appears to have been updated (most of the properties look like they haven't been refreshed since the 80s) which I had put on a courtesy hold. After all of this effort, I called to reserve the room only to be informed right before I gave them a credit card number that none of the condos have air conditioning. How on earth did this not come up before now? I was told that they don't have AC because the summer weather in northern Michigan doesn't require it. I had to remind the reservations person that the past two summers, the mid-July temperatures there were in the high 90s. The property we are planning to book has a loft bedroom, which is bound to get hot. I asked her if she could arrange to have a couple of fans put in the unit prior to our arrival, which she flatly refused. When I told her I needed to extend the hold on the property for another 24 hours, I was given a hard time by her and she said she could "maybe" hold it until 2pm the following day. Only when I reminded her of the inconvenience created by the failure to inform me of the lack of AC did she relucantly agree to extend the hold.

Between this frustration in booking the condo and the many negative reviews I see here, I am very concerned about booking the stay now. This is especially disappointing considering the premium rates they are asking....nearly $2500 for the week. Not a good start.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at the Beals house in May of 2014 and enjoyed the beautiful view of Lake Michigan, changing every day as the last of the winter ice melted away. The beaches were well kept and great for exercise. The accommodations themselves are superb, and we enjoyed the jacuzzi, natural fireplace, gas fireplace, and full kitchen. The wifi worked flawlessly. Nearly hikes of the dunes also added to the adventure. We had the whole place to ourselves in May and enjoyed the romantic retreat. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pschonschack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHomesteadMI, Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Pschonschack,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed a romantic getaway in May. The weather was unseasonable but we're thankful you were able to enjoy the beaches and hiking in the area. Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again soon at The Homestead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is definitely a good choice when visiting Sleeping Bear National Park. Homestead is a sprawling resort with many kinds of accommodations spread out on many acres. We chose Little Belle which is an adults only facility. Our room had a king bed, jacuzzi tub for two, two TV's, a small fridge, and a coffee maker. The room was clean, maid service adequate, and the bed comfortable.
We were worried after reading so e of the reviews but found nothing to complain about. Front desk staff was helpful on check in. Evening staff a bit inexperienced, but not worth complaint about.
Nonnas restaurant is staffed by young and inexperienced folks who try hard, food is ok, and the restaurant adequate for a meal when you do not want to drive.
The location cannot be beat and we would definitely stay here again.
ZB

Room Tip: Stay in an upstairs room at Little Belle.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the location, room and property. The spring is a time when our seasonal associates start their positions. Our goal is to be sure all of our associates are properly trained to give the level of service our guests desire, and deserve. Be assured that this is an ongoing commitment.

We hope to see you again soon for another visit!

Sincerely,

Jamie Jewell
Vice President, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Hawk's Nest #58. First of all, the view is exactly as shown. It is beautiful. Aside from that, this property has not received much care in the last few months. When we arrived we found the place to be dusty. The sheets smelled like they came from your grandmas closet and had not been freshened. I really didn't like that at all. When it was time for a shower this morning I found the shower on the first floor didn't work. We paid for two but only one works. On our way out of the resort we reported this to the person at the desk. She said they would send someone. We said we preferred not to have plumber while we are out but if they could replace the linen it would be appreciated. She assured us she would have this done. Well, on our return we found nothing had been done and the linen still smelled like grandma's attic . I'm very disappointed. We usually stay in Traverse City and I guess next time we'll return to our old digs.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Claudette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHomesteadMI, Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. I apologize that the housekeeping and maintenance of this unit to be lacking during your visit. The condominiums are privately owned, however, our staff should have freshened the unit prior to your check in and ensured that appliances and fixtures were in working order.

Please accept our sincere apologies and keep in mind that we have four small hotels and many vacation homes and condominiums available to rent. It is our hope that you would provide us the opportunity to show you we can do a much better job.

Warmly,

Chris Sutton
Accommodations Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

50's couple over from Australia traveling through Michigan over Easter. Stayed at the Homestead and was pleased we did. Yes rooms need a little updating but they are still lovely. We stayed in the Little Belle suites and had a lovely room overlooking the village. Everything worked and we had no complaints.
Off season was very quiet but if you want relaxation without a crowd at great prices, this is the place. Very easy to see how spectacular this resort would be in mid-summer but rates are higher then. All staff were very friendly and we had a wonderful dinner at Nonna's. We wouldn't hesitate staying there again or recommending this resort to others seeking some quiet off-season time.

Room Tip: For a room with a view ask for an upstairs suite.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwingkingGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHomesteadMI, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Swingking Golf Coast,
Thank you for choosing The Homestead while visiting from Australia. We are pleased that you enjoyed the quiet time of our season and the room. Hope to have the pleasure to host you again!

Robin Harper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Homestead for an early spring getaway weekend. We knew that it would be pretty quiet at that time of year, and were at peace with that since we just wanted to relax. Check in went smoothly, and very nice woman welcomed us and gave us directions to our rooms and information about the resort. We stayed in the Little Belle suites. The suites were cute, clean and pretty comfortable. The first suite we stayed had problems with the hot water heater and it would not even fill up the whirlpool tub. We were moved to a second room, and the hot water heater worked much better. The second room was a bit musty smelling due to the fact that it was partially underground, it wasn't really bad though. It kind of just smelled like "up north" cabin. As previous reviewers have stated, bedding badly needs to be updated. The sheets were pilly, and most hotels have switched from quilts to duvets, which would have been nice. All in all, it was a nice place to get some R&R and I can see how beautiful the property must be in the summer. I thought it was a good value for the $117 we paid in way off season, but would have been disappointed if we had paid high season prices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kacampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHomesteadMI, Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Kacampbell,
We appreciate your constructive comments regarding your recent stay. The Homestead has recently updated bedding at Stony Brook Lodge and The Inn...and sheets for all accommodations. You're right, the area is even more spectacular and beautiful in the summer months. And, it provides a great opportunity to enjoy the many activities and amenities the resort and area has to offer.

We do hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future.

Best,

Logan Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
12.8 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
80 reviews
20.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
21.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,256 reviews
21.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.7 mi away
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
#2 of 3 in Glen Arbor
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1 Wood ridge rd, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Arbor
Price Range: £69 - £686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Homestead Glen Arbor
Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
The Homestead Glen Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing