We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”
Review of Khardomah Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khardomah Lodge
Ranked #7 of 9 Grand Haven B&B and Inns
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Recently reserved the entire Khardomah Lodge for my daughter's wedding reception. Since we had family members coming from several states we wanted everyone in one spot. The Lodge turned out to be the perfect setting. The lodge is so unique! A beautiful quiet peaceful setting just up the road from Lake Michigan, set in the woods. Guests were able to see deer everyday. Lodge has everything needed to make the wedding a VERY special occasion. We hope to make this an annual destination. Highly recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    1
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We rented the entire lodge and suites for the weekend for our daughter's wedding. We sat around the fireplace, cooked our own meals, and walked on the beach and in the woods. It felt like going back to Grandma's house (with lots of places to gather) and the two families shared days together instead of an hour or two in a formal setting. Though the bathrooms are few, it worked out and we got to know everyone very well! We had a parade after beautiful wedding in the woods back to the lodge (about 1/2 mile) with music and banners. Many people told us it was the best wedding they had ever attended. Thanks Khardomah lodge!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horserider00894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Myself and a large group of friends heard about the Khardomah Lodge through a friend who had previously vacationed there. I decided to do a little research and after looking at pictures of the Lodge, its location (on a quiet street with massive trees hiding it....and about a five minute walk to the beach) and realizing the growing size of our group (perfect for large numbers) we were easily sold. Even if you didn't have a large group like us, the way the Lodge is set up, it makes for people who aren't travelling together to strike up conversation and mingle very effortlessly.

The Lodge has all the amenities we needed i.e. huge patio with two barbecues, fully stocked dinnerware in the kitchen, cozy bathrooms, large open concept reading/louge area, restaurant style seating in the dining area, quaint bedrooms, two additional private suites and plenty of parking spaces.

The managers at the Inn (Jack and Sally) were unbelievable hosts with great knowlege and insight of the area. They even popped in occasionally to make sure everything was okay. It felt like we were staying with them at their own home. The only negative thing is that we couldn't stay longer. Thursday to Sunday just sped by way too quickly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KG09_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 11th anniversary here in Grand Haven and really enjoyed our relaxing stay. We had been to the K.L. 7 years before. It was ironic that we were placed in the same room as before without even being asked, which was nice to rekindle good memories. We look forward to coming again. Thanks Sally & Pattie for the great room, service, value, cleanliness and dining experience. We truly needed this time away together!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We stayed for one night at Khardomah as a sort-of last minute getaway (booked the week before). Although we showed up a bit early we were able to get right into our room, which was the hot tub suite. Jack, one of the managers, was very friendly and helpful, and was eager to give us a tour of the whole place. I appreciated his enthusiasm - it's a good sign when the managers are as excited as you are!
The building is old but charming, and has a lot of history. It was neat to hear some of the stories. We were soon left to our room, and then didn't see another person the entire time we were there, it had a very secluded feeling. As far as our suite goes, I felt like we had our own private cabin in the woods.
The suite was way bigger than I expected, more than large enough for the two of us. In fact, 4 would not even be pushing it. It had two beautiful and cozy bedrooms, and a large bathroom with two sinks. It also has a large living room. The kitchen area comes complete with anything you might need and there's even a grill on the deck. (This came in handy when we realized we forgot a corkscrew for the wine! But of course, there was one in the drawer.) The only complaint I could have was that you could hear a lot of walking around above, but with old hardwood floors, what do you expect, and it wasn't obnoxious stomping either. The private hot tub was the best part. Clean and worked well, and it was great not having to share it. Considering we only paid a bit more than a hotel room, I can't believe the value. The summer rates seem reasonable too - it's only a very short walk to the beach, and being able to prepare and grill your own food is an added bonus. Everything was super clean and comfy! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucycat1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Lodge. We were only there for just a night, but what a great place to relax and enjoy. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating.
We plan on staying again, this time a little longer.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boggslogcabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wapella, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

My wife and I stayed here this past summer for 3 days. We had a great time. We were on bicycles the whole time and everything was no more than a 15 minute bike ride. The beach is 2 blocks away, and downtown is about a mile. The staff is extremely friendly. There is no restaurant on site, but there is a bar & grill on the beach a couple of blocks away. They also have a full kitchen and dinning room, so you can cook there if you want to save some money. The only things that I can think of that some people might not like is that you share bathrooms, and the rooms are kind of small.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwheat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Haven
1.1 mi away
Best Western Beacon Inn
Best Western Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#3 of 6 in Grand Haven
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
360 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khardomah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khardomah Lodge

Property: Khardomah Lodge
Address: 1365 Lake Ave, Grand Haven, MI 49417-1758
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Khardomah Lodge in Grand Haven, Michigan is located 200 yds from Lake Michigan and Grand Haven State Park beach. It is a rustic 4 story building set into the side of a wooded dune. The Main Floor, Second Floor, and a lower level house 15 bedrooms, 4 1/2 baths, common areas, dining room and kitchen. The dining room can seat up to 45 and has 2 sets of french doors that open to a wrap around wood deck. A private suite is on the lower level with a balcony looking out over a wooded ravine and another suite is at the base of the dune with an out door hot tub on a covered deck. The suites are quite spacious and each has kitchen facilities, living room, cable TV, and can accommodation 4 easily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khardomah Lodge Grand Haven, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing