We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Porto Bello

Porto Bello
Ranked #20 of 104 Restaurants in Grand Haven
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our first dining choice of the evening was a long wait so we ended up here. The building was a former piano factory so it had some character. Beautiful night to sit on their lovely patio - could even see part of the Musical Fountain show. Our waitress was good, we ordered a glass of wine and parmesan crusted white fish, it came with veggies and an order of pasta w/marinara sauce. I don't recall having this combination before but what the heck! Our salad (with house) dressing was okay but rather wet (water) and flavorless. The piece of fish was huge but rather flavorless. My friend ordered alfredo sauce with her pasta and it was a little flavorless. The marinara sauce had plenty of oregano in it but could have used a little salt. We finally noticed that not only were salt and pepper absent from everything on our plates, it was also absent from all the tables. The atmosphere was nice and the food was hot it was just very bland. If I were to go back I'd have to make sure and bring me own salt & pepper.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    46
    45
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Italian in a great location”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Good Italian variety, excellent oven baked bread, excellent atmosphere. We ate outside which i highly recommend. In prime location downtown with view of Grand River. Drinks were watered down but Salad, Bread, & meal made up for that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1965Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst food I've had in a long time.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My family and I ate at this restaurant over Labor Day weekend. The food was absolutely horrible! No taste at all. The restaurant is very dirty!! My sons butter and noodles was cold, the noodles were hard and floating in butter. My chicken cacciatore dish was gross! The salad is drenched in dressing...save your money don't eat at this dirty restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VicNikShiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian food”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had dinner here while on vacation. The food was wonderful including the rolls with garlic butter. Best pasta I've ever had. We had dinner outside which was really nice and romantic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PLEM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holy Large Portions, Batman”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Friends were visiting from out of town and we decided to go out to eat to a place we have never been before and we were very pleasantly surprised!

First of all, you should order the flash fried green beans. They are fantastic. I could have just sat down with a bowl of those beans and been satisfied. They were very good. One of our friends doesn't even like green beans and she couldn't stop eating them.

The portions are very large... so large that I ended up taking most of my meal home to enjoy later. They also bring bread and garlic butter to the table as well as salad.

I ordered the pasta with vodka sauce and it had a bit of a kick to it that I enjoyed. My spouse ordered pasta with garlic, olive oil and tomatoes and it was very good! I stole a couple bites because I liked it that much. The only thing I didn't enjoy was the Italian salad dressing. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't my kind of Italian.

The service was really nice. Our waitress was friendly and engaging and the food arrived quickly! I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveR49417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porto Bello also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Been to Porto Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing