We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Beach Beacons”

Grand Haven State Park
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Grand Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Beach Beacons”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Yes the Beach should Beckon's but in Grand Haven the State Park beach is situated next to the boardwalk which leads to a lighthouse and a tower beacon and is an awesome place for seeing a romantic sunset.

The beach has full facilities to shower after a day on the beach and has a small food court. Bring all your beach toys because there is plenty of space to play. Park has fantastic volleyball courts and Lake Michigans famous "Singing Sand". There are many other food and ice cream places within walking distance but not for too young of kids. Plan a trip to Pronto Pups for a Grand Haven lunch treat.

ARRIVE EARLY (by 11am) on a hot Michigan day as the park reaches capacity very quickly and often there is a mile long line of cars trying to get in only to be turned away so don't be surprised by this. As an alternate you can park along US31 at a local shopping center (enter Family Dollar in your GPS) and ride the bus system to the park, you just don't have access to your car but they will give you a ride back too. There is a varying cost to this service each year.

Tripadvisor only lets me select one type of visit but I have been here many times and this is a great place to take family with young kids or teens or a friends get together and there are several places nearby for business meetings.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ccopsmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    92
    26
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
736 reviews
456 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Huge beach with gorgeous sunsets”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Loved visiting this beach in late summer to catch the sunset. There is so much beach that you can easily find a place to plant yourself for the day. The water was clean. Parking was easy to find later in the day, but impossible on a weekend afternoon. We drove by the first time in early afternoon and couldn't find parking so we went into Grand Haven to enjoy the shops and restaurants. Found it much better near sunset.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great visit even on a cloudy day!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We took a beautiful walk on the South Pier to see the Lighthouse. We talked with the fisherman on the Pier and there were lots of people enjoying themselves sight seeing, jumping into the water, even as construction is going on.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank miadventuredont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webberville, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved Grand Haven Beach!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family took a day trip from the Lansing area to the beach in Grand Haven and had an excellent day! Weather was perfect, water was warm and there were huge waves for body surfing! It cost $11 for a pass, but besides lunch, that's the only money we spent. We walked down the beautiful white sandy beach to the pier and then strolled all the way to the end just in time to see a huge freighter getting ready to pull in. We joined several other families on the pier to take pictures and watch its progress up into the docks. After a few hours, we used the super-clean public restrooms/changing rooms to shower off and change, then headed into the downtown for lunch. Lots of options for dining, and we stumbled into the Tri-Cities Historical Museum where our kids (17, 14 and 14) had a great time exploring. It was a fun free way to top off a great day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauk City, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Camping on the Beach”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a wonderful first time experience camping on the beach. It was like being on the ocean, beautiful, soft, clean sand, and no rocks. But, you must love sand, there is no grass. Great for families, lots of asphalt roads for biking, scooters, skateboards and rollerblading. A beautiful river walk and lighthouse at the end of a long pier, fishermen galore and lots of doggies, mine included, in the park. The dogs even have their own part of the beach. Excellent bathroom and shower facilities, even private shower rooms with toilets. Saw two beach weddings and candle lanterns set off at night, just beautiful. You can walk to Grand Haven, lovely shopping and great eating along the way,especially the ice cream.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Umbiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Haven State Park also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Been to Grand Haven State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing