We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Haven Campground
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Beware if renting one of the deluxe cabins site 93 and 94. The cabins are less than impressive and certainly not worth what they charge. You can tell they have not been taken of care of. We found our cabin to lack profoundly in cleanliness & repair. The cabin smelled like an old attic (musty),the window sills had multiple dead bugs and flies on them, there was mold in the shower, the pans weredirty, the floors were not swept, the trash can inside the cabin was rusted had dried on food on the inside and outside, there was tin foil underneath the burners on the stove that had burnt material on them, there were mouse dropping in the closets, there were food crumbs in the futon. The air conditioner did not work. The television did not work, we were told that all televisions were out, then told that someone must have taken the cable for the tv and finally told that the tv was for game boxes, dvd players,etc. No one had their story straight. What we thought was going to be a wonderful family weekend camping was instead a extremely disappointing experience. The staff was curt and lacked compassion for more than one very upset customer. We had site 93 and the people who were in site 94 (who we did not know) came to our site to ask about our cabin. There cabin was cleaner than ours but they still voiced that it was not cleaned as it should be, their air conditioner did not work, etc. After speaking with them and visiting each others cabins we found we had many of the same complaints. Will NEVER stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank farmgirl666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

We had a great time over Memorial Day weekend staying here. It's no longer a NASCAR park or owned by Morgan RV Resorts. We could see a lot of good changes from last year. The kids loved the activities and the dance on Saturday night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were looking for a one night stay for a fishing trip during the last week of August near Grand Haven & everything was booked or way over priced. We found this site and and booked a one room cabin. The place is well suited for kids but bring your own airbeds because the pull out, no sheets 'queen', slept like a mixing bowl. Out of 10..tent/RV sites-8, staff-8, location to GH 8.5, kid stuff-9, shwrs-6.5, our cabin-5. The pool was heated and clean & the grounds were nicely wooded, patron ed with families that didn't wake the dead... though pretty close to earshot of US-31.

To our disappointment the main office was not open Sunday morning so a 4mi drive for coffee(we packed light) was required.

It would be nice if they upgraded the pull out bed.... it was definitely well used and ready for retirement. The 'mulched' walkway leading to the cabin also made us chuckle as we navigated our way past 'sticks' and chunks of concrete.

PS... though it says 'Nascar'... it's more like a pit stop with a 5mph track speed strictly enforced ;)

Room Tip: Cabin 40's pullout queen will bruised.. disoriented & in desperate need of a Chiropractor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is a very nice park, however I think it was better when it was Yogi Bear. I don't think they have as much for the kids to do as before, but we would come back. The sites were fairly level and clean with fire rings and picnic tables.

Room Tip: Bring bug spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed here in the spring this year. We stayed during the week so it was slower and very relaxing. The managers were extremely helpful and even let us use the mini-golf even though it was not open. They were always there to help with anything we needed. We plan on returning again in the fall.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Haven
5.9 mi away
Best Western Beacon Inn
Best Western Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
492 reviews
5.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
6.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#3 of 6 in Grand Haven
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
896 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Harbor House Inn
The Harbor House Inn
#3 of 9 in Grand Haven
131 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Haven Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Haven Campground

Address: 10990 US Highway 31, Grand Haven, MI 49417-9664 (Formerly NASCAR RV Resort at Grand Haven)
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Number of rooms: 282
Also Known As:
Grand Haven Campground Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing