We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Beacon Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Pros :
Not far from the beach (Nothing in this small town really is)
Clean Rooms and bathrooms
DVD player in room
Fast check in an check out (once the desk clerk realizes you're there)
Parking right outside of your room
They offer complimentary breakfast every morning. Though I did not eat there, I liked the option.

Cons:
TV buzzed loudly while watching DVDs
Freezer in refrigerator failed to freeze ice cream
Front desk clerks seemed to always be in another room
Remote batteries died and clerk asked me to bring it to the front desk to be fixed. I guess for a 2 star hotel this is common so maybe I shouldn't complain about it.

I would stay here again as it is probably one of the better accommodations in this area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    137
    42
    15
    2
See reviews for
182
116
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel was pretty good except paying 200 for a whirlpool room and the whirlpool didn't work. The hotel pictures are also a bit deceptive since it is off a major road. Fridge in room was very noisy.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryann49404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The stay was great! I would of like to stay closer to the beach but everywhere was booked. It was about a 5 min drive which is not bad, but I would of like to be walking distance. Over all the hotel was great! Breakfast was ok. not the best not the worst :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My parents and I came into town for vacation in Grand Haven. The staff were kind and professional. I got a "AAA" rate, which was still RIDICULOUS. The hotel is NOT 'downtown" and in not on the water. I have NO IDEA why the rooms are so expensive. NO "extras" no fridge, the beds were HARD, the rooms musty smelling, and extremely small. Made me feel as if I was robbed, not relaxed at all. :(

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland,mi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

For the price very disappointed. Rooms outside of "main" hotel are facing a car repair shop. Even though there aren't windows facing that direction it wasn't pleasant. The pillows were horrible, bed uncomfortable. Desk staff not very friendly acted like they were doing us a favor when they were just doing their job. Far from downtown not within walking distance. Probably our worst hotel choice in quite a while.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed not in the main hotel, because they had a room available and the price was cheaper. Wow! Clean clean clean. We have stayed in many hotels. This is simple and clean. You do have to head to the main hotel for the pool and morning free breakfast but it's a quick 10 second walk. We love grand haven and know the area so bring right on the beach for this quick stay wasn't important. But staying here we know we are a quick 10 min drive to downtown grand haven. The only con I have is the free breakfast area is small. So on a busy Saturday morning the space is very tight.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank favioa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, IN, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

One of the best hotels we have stayed at for quite some time. Excellent staff and very clean rooms. Well maintained. The location was reasonably close to the beach area and not in a tight traffic location. Easy in and easy out!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Haven
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#3 of 6 in Grand Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
8.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beacon Inn

Property: Best Western Beacon Inn
Address: 1525 S Beacon Blvd, Grand Haven, MI 49417-2612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Beacon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Beacon Inn is located in picturesque Grand Haven, MI. We're only a mile and a half from award winning beaches. We offer rooms with both interior and exterior entrances, and either two queen or one king bed per room. All of our spacious rooms have iron, hairdryer, coffee and a 40 inch flat screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beacon Hotel Grand Haven
Best Western Grand Haven
Grand Haven Best Western
Best Western Beacon Inn Grand Haven, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing