We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Beacon Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Grand Haven)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtesy Motel(Grand Haven)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Fairbfeild Inn&Suits(Norton Shores)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
270
157
51
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
270
157
51
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingshort drivepool and hot tubwould stay here againstaff was friendlywould recommend this hotel to anyoneeasy accesswafflesconvenient locationvery clean hotelseparate buildingthe breakfast areagreat place to stayfront desk staffcontinental breakfastother hotels in the areacomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed in the older 2 story building on the back of the property. This hotel is listed on a few websites that all rooms in this hotel have microwave and refrigerator. This is not true. I believe that the only rooms that have these conveniences are the ones in the new building. We had a nice, clean, spacious older room, the tub/shower had recently been rennovated, but no microwave and frige. The pool, hot tub and breakfast area are in the main bldg. It was a little walk to get to breakfast, so we had to bundle up each morning. The breakfast was a continental breakfast, muffins, pastries, cereals, yogurt and waffle maker, it was ok. Our room was on the back side of the older bldg., a train track is just a few feet from the door, so it can be very loud. Overall our stay was nice, but if you are staying here in the middle of winter, I think I would rather pay extra and stay in the main building. I heard one guest say that it was $30 more to stay in the main bldg. I don't know if this is correct, but I would call to make this reservation to make sure you get the room you want, instead of booking online.
P.S. if you have car trouble while there, visit Matt @ Auto Zone, very close to hotel. He took GREAT care of us!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewoka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I chose this hotel because most other hotels in the area had questionable reviews. The price was too high for a basic room and breakfast, but there were no problems with our room, and we appreciated a ground-level room where we could park just outside our door. We noticed that two adjacent businesses, one an auto repair shop and I can't remember the other, were somewhat noisy during the day. That did not bother us since we did not arrive in our room until late and left fairly early the next morning. It was an easy drive from the hotel to Grand Haven parks and downtown, and there were a number of stores including a 24-hour Walmart within a short drive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vwdriverWestChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We evaluated this hotel for our wedding guests, comparing it against almost every other hotel and motel in the Grand Haven area. Fortunately, we were able to look at rooms in every one of their buildings, even though the hotel was almost full the day we were there. We were pleasantly surprised!

As past reviewers said, the hotel does have some older outbuildings, but as of late last year, all of the rooms were remodeled. As a matter of fact, we felt that the "courtyard" rooms in the one-story motel building were a bit larger and nicer than the rooms in the main hotel. The cheapest rooms were in a two-story motel-style building (which was mentioned in other reviews), but they were only slightly smaller than the rooms in the main building, and essentially furnished the same.

Compared to the other chain hotels in Grand Haven and Spring Lake, we felt the Best Western's rooms, furnishings, and common areas were the nicest. The staff was also the most polite and knowledgeable. The location was nothing special, but it was no better or worse than any of the other chain hotels.

Grand Haven has some fantastic boutique lodges and B&Bs (the Harbor House Inn, for example), but most of them cost a lot more than the Best Western. As a result, the Best Western was an easy choice for our hotel room block.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

I read some good online reviews at other sites for this hotel. Don't be fooled. The location is pretty good - close to the main highway & only 2 miles from downtown. But that's its only selling feature. No where does Best Western state that there are 3 "out" buildings not connected to the main building. Even though the hotel was far from full we were put in almost the furthest room away from the lobby where the pool & breakfast area were. It was cold & we would have to go outside in our bathing suits to use the pool. Of course this was inconvenient so we were not able to use the pool & this was a main reason we had chosen this hotel.

The breakfast area was small, food choices were VERY limited & many items had run out by 8:30am. We had to go out for breakfast 2 of the 3 days & this was not included in our planned budget.

The room itself was clean & the shower curtain appeared brand new but there was absolutely no soundproofing & we could hear everything from our surrounding rooms. Noise from when other guests were taking showers would wake us up.

Definitely would NOT stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank athena15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2007

My wife and I needed a hotel room during Labor Day weekend and were happy to find that the Best Western had availability (they were later fully booked on that Friday and on Saturday) We paid $117 for a room in the newer section (AAA rate). We found the receptionist staff to be very friendly and efficient. The room was large, clean and smoke free and the continental breakfast was more than adequate and nicely laid out.

We would definitely stay here again.

Tip: Drive to the pier area, walk the beach and then have dinner on the deck of the Bil-Mar .... a Grand Haven tradition and local hang out.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank germanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews