We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't ask for more in Gran Marais”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilltop cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilltop cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't ask for more in Gran Marais”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The cabins were wonderful and had the whole "hunting" theme going on. It did take quite a while for the room to heat up so I don't even want to imagine how it is in the Winter. Everyone was very nice and friendly. For breakfast I had homemade muffins and they were one of the best things I've ever eaten. Beautiful view. I would recommend if going with a larger group of friends or family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lflopezq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    22
    14
    0
    5
See reviews for
29
47
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it. Some of the reviewers says the place is out dated, but it's upper Michigan. We loved it. The Knotty Pine walls and ceilings were great. They have a very nice Rec Room also. Staff was very friendly and the price was not to bad for a stand alone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honey moon sweet and thought it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hunteris40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We come here multiple times a winter. Love to snowmobile. The location is close to the trails and in the summer it is close to a lot of other places and has a great view. Rooms were nice and clean. They had what you needed and not much more. Everything was very clean. The website said they had free wifi but there was none while we were there. People are friendly and go out of their way. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: If you want a cabin get either cabin 1 or 2. Those are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at the cabins while traveling thru the UP, and found these "cabins" to be very outdated. The couch in room very worn , drapes don't fit the windows., curtain rods crooked , stains on carpet , dead plant hanging on the porch above our door, decor very 60's, tackey is best word.needs a serious update.

Room Tip: Stay at the Voyager in Grand Marais instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just returned from a short trip to the UP with my daughter. We had comfortable and cozy accommodations at the Hilltop cabins. The mattress was supportive, the cabin well stocked and clean and despite the wet weather, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cajohnso33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We just got back from a two week trip to Michigan's UP. The Hilltop Motel was one of the nicest places we stayed. The motel room was clean and nicely furnished and decorated. Very nice northwoods feel and classy compared to the chains. We grooved on the views from the gazebo and deck, and loved being lulled to sleep by the wind through the huge cottonwoods on site. It was super quiet there, quieter than the campsites we had. We also loved the homeade plum cobbler for a late night snack, the wonderful laundry room and breakfast nook, much more than we were expecting. I checked my e-mail on the deck overlooking the Lake, how cool is that! The owner/host was a joy to do business with. Hope to come back someday and maybe rent one of the cabins. Also loved the fire pit with wood standing by, although we weren't able to take advantage of that. Also liked the nice gardens on the grounds. Room had micro and fridge and we were able to grill our dinner on the porch. All was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Go to the Web site for the business, that's what helped us with our expectations and choices. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was our second visit to Hilltop Cabins, and a great experience. Wonderful location for viewing the sunsets! We had a room for a couple of nights--really nice room with a microwave and fridge. We then moved to a cabin which was newly renovated, a 2 bedroom with full kitchen, TV, porch. Comfortable and clean. Laundry facilities on site. Pet friendly. Helpful and welcoming owner. We've already booked for next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wfss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hilltop cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop cabins

Property: Hilltop cabins
Address: N14176 Ellen St., PO Box 386, Grand Marais, MI 49839
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilltop cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilltop cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing