We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilltop cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilltop cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Marais, Mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have stayed at the Hilltop MANY times and have enjoyed ourselves so much. We have even opted to go up and have Thanksgiving here two years in a row! Incredibly hard working owner and staff that have our stay at heart! They strive for perfection, but like all of us are not perfect. If we have ever needed ANYTHING, it has always been graciously provided. WE lOVE LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellylovesGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    22
    14
    0
    5
See reviews for
28
47
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Where do I begin? We made online reservations 10 days in advance and requested a specific room (which they showed was available for that date). They also required a credit card to hold the room and a time of arrival (which we furnished), and we received our confirmation. Upon our arrival, we found no one there! A note on the door stated that she was gone SHOPPING, and they would be back later that night!! We tried calling their cell phone THREE TIMES over the next 6 hours and left messages on their voice mail each time, but they wouldn't even answer or return our calls. We also noticed that the room we reserved was ALREADY OCCUPIED!! So we were forced to find lodging elsewhere (at 9:30 P.M.).

The following morning we went back and talked to the owner, who was the most unprofessional business person we ever dealt with! She claims she never received our reservation even though we had a confirmation number, and really didn't seem to care one way or another.Her attitude was just UNBELIEVABLE!! The fact that they wouldn't bother to return 3 phone calls or even apologize for the SNAFU tells us they didn't even CARE about our business!

One other thing...there is only ONE motel unit and TWO cabins that have views of the water.

We were disappointed all the way around!

Deal with this place at your own risk!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Arieslady_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette B, Front Office Manager at Hilltop cabins, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We at Hilltop Cabins and Motel would like to Thank You for your review. We apologize for this very unfortunate incident and appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We have looked into this matter and would like to inform you that we did not have you on our books nor did we find your credit card had been charged. If you do show or find later that you have been charged please bring this to our attention so we can rectify this promptly.

Being that we are in the Upper Pennisula of Michigan we try not to provide cell numbers when we are out of the office. The service UP her is hit and miss. For this reason we have our business line that gives our guest an option to leave a message and when we return home we will return all messages. Our other option we offer is we leave a note on the office door letting our arriving guest know that we have their room ready and they are free to go into their room along with the phone numbers of the Office Manager who lives close to handle what may arise. Had we known that we had guest arriving while we were out of the office this option would have been done. The owner at Hilltop Cabins and Motel apologized profusely and felt horrible that this issue had arose.

We try our best to accomodate all our guest as best we possibly can. We have staff on hand or a phone call away for their conveniance. However, we are not free of issues like any other business. This being said we at Hilltop Cabins and Motel would like to offer you a Free night stay in return for this mishap. If you wish to claim this please call 906-494-2331. Ask for the Office Manager Tiffani and we will accomodate you as we wish for all of our guest to be cared for. Again, Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we wish you a very happy day.

Thank You,

Hilltop Cabins and Motel
TSH

Business Phone: 906-494-2331
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The cabins were wonderful and had the whole "hunting" theme going on. It did take quite a while for the room to heat up so I don't even want to imagine how it is in the Winter. Everyone was very nice and friendly. For breakfast I had homemade muffins and they were one of the best things I've ever eaten. Beautiful view. I would recommend if going with a larger group of friends or family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lflopezq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it. Some of the reviewers says the place is out dated, but it's upper Michigan. We loved it. The Knotty Pine walls and ceilings were great. They have a very nice Rec Room also. Staff was very friendly and the price was not to bad for a stand alone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honey moon sweet and thought it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hunteris40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We come here multiple times a winter. Love to snowmobile. The location is close to the trails and in the summer it is close to a lot of other places and has a great view. Rooms were nice and clean. They had what you needed and not much more. Everything was very clean. The website said they had free wifi but there was none while we were there. People are friendly and go out of their way. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: If you want a cabin get either cabin 1 or 2. Those are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at the cabins while traveling thru the UP, and found these "cabins" to be very outdated. The couch in room very worn , drapes don't fit the windows., curtain rods crooked , stains on carpet , dead plant hanging on the porch above our door, decor very 60's, tackey is best word.needs a serious update.

Room Tip: Stay at the Voyager in Grand Marais instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just returned from a short trip to the UP with my daughter. We had comfortable and cozy accommodations at the Hilltop cabins. The mattress was supportive, the cabin well stocked and clean and despite the wet weather, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cajohnso33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hilltop cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop cabins

Property: Hilltop cabins
Address: N14176 Ellen St., PO Box 386, Grand Marais, MI 49839
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilltop cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing