We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely winter getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC
Ranked #1 of 3 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely winter getaway”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at Agate Cross to enjoy the snowshoeing in Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. The place is a cozy and rustic hideaway with modern conveniences. We stayed in the upstairs suite, which is large and comfortable. They have nice features for winter guests - a heated room for drying outdoors clothes, including boot driers, and a hot tub out on the deck (very fun on a 10 degree night). Solid WiFi signal upstairs if you need that. Hosts Jamey and Lois are friendly and helpful, and prepare a grand breakfast. Another very nice touch - 7 AM coffee delivery to your door. This helped me be functional when I went in for breakfast. Grand Marais is a little town, so pretty much everything is within easy walking distance. We would definitely go back

Room Tip: Downstairs suites have easier access to the hot tub. Other than that I don't think you can go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for the awesome review. We appreciate your time and also appreciate that you shared some pictures. So sorry it took so long for us to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Grange Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at the Agate Cross after a day at the Painted Rock Lakeshore. While the town is very small, these accommodations were first class. Our room was very large and well-appointed. The bed was comfortable. We shared a large outside deck with the next room (which was occupied by our traveling companions.) Everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious and we very much enjoyed the company of Jamey and Lois.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canada1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so very much for the great review and for taking the time to write it - we greatly appreciate it! We are sorry it took so long to write a response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My wife and 9 year old son stayed 2 nights. We found the room and accommodations to be outstanding. Jamey and Lois are extremely warm and friendly hosts - and Lois cooks an amazing and delicious breakfast. I would recommend their B&B without hesitation and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDRSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We really appreciate that you took the time to write a great review of our B&B - thank you!!! So sorry it took so long for us to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights for our anniversary and haven't stopped talking about the next time we can stay here.
Jamey and Lois are the best of hosts. Lois is an amazing cook/baker. Breakfast was fresh, healthful and different food each morning. Jamey and Lois are wonderful hosts, we now and always will consider them our friends.

Further more Grand Marais is a great location for countless day trips and excursions. You could easily spend a whole day exploring and never get in your car! The local shops, museums and of course Lake Superior all a short walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our B&B - we really appreciate it! So sorry that we took so long to respond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My wife and I had a tremendous time with Lois and Jamey. Fantastic couple who showed how much they care for their clients. What a neat clean home, with great bedrooms, with a deck to walk out on with a Whirlpool to enjoy after walking on Picture Rock. Breakfast was fantastic, each day was different with fruit, eggs, meat, pancakes, and even breakfast pizza. Our conversation around breakfast was excellent! I would so highly recommend this place to a couple wanting to get away! Thank you Jamey and Lois!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for the terrific review - we really appreciate it! (sorry for the tardy response) :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsens Island, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Agate B&B this July and we were pleasantly surprised. What a beautiful, clean and fresh place to stay. The hot tub was sparkling clean and very relaxing. Breakfast in the morning was more than we expected..what a great cook Lois is. They joined us for breakfast and we learn more about the area and Lois and Jamey. In the short time we stayed they became friends. We were honored to be able to share their beautiful home . We can't stop telling friends and family this is a must stop when they are in the area.

Room Tip: Jamey showed us all the rooms and no matter which one you select it will be a wonderful experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for the awesome review. We greatly appreciate it! (sorry for the very tardy response!) :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC

Property: The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC
Address: N14218 Woodruff Street, Grand Marais, MI 49839
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast is located in beautiful Grand Marais, Michigan, where nature is in abundance. Our quiet, peaceful setting overlooks the bay with gorgeous views of Lake Superior. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, beaches and museums. A short drive to the Eastern gateway to Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. Great for photographers! Enjoy our hot tub after a fun day of activities. A superb location for your small reunion, wedding or retreat! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing