We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous week at The Agate Cross!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC
Ranked #1 of 3 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melrose, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous week at The Agate Cross!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We just finished our one-week long visit to Grand Marais, Michigan. We once more were enchanted by this grand B&B, The Agate Cross, our home away from home. Lois and Jamey went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and extremely relaxing. Our room was spacious and extremely clean. The food served was delicious and they made sure diet restrictions were met. The conversations over breakfast were one of the highlights and all the ideas shared of where to visit while in town were extremely helpful. It was a true pleasure to spend time with these two incredibly generous and kind people. We very much look forward to next year's visit. Thank you so much. Looking forward to getting recipes. Lois, you are a terrific cook. Donald and Kim from Florida. Peace Be With You!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so very much for the amazing review of our B&B. It was our pleasure to accommodate you. We missed you this year and hope to see you in the future. So sorry it took us so long to write a response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our stay was July 14-16, 2013. This was our first time staying at Agate Cross. Jamey & Lois were wonderful hosts. They are knowledgeable about the area and shared favorite places to go. Breakfasts were great! Homemade breads, jam, etc. Very nutritious & enough to keep one going almost all day. Our room was very clean & nicely decorated. Yes! We would stay at Agate Cross again. Thank you, Jamey & Lois!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1913nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so very much for the awesome review of our B&B. We really appreciate your time and thoughts. Sorry it took us so long to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinellas Park, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I took a trip to Europe in March and stayed exclusively at B&Bs, really nice ones, and he commented that this was his favorite by far! We were SO pleasantly surprised when we drove up and found Lois at work in the lovely garden outside the huge two story home. Great parking, easily accessible to the front door. Really fun diner was steps away and after dinner we walked down to the harbor/park and soaked up the spectacular view from our bench. Our Superior View room was fantastic, spacious bedroom leading to deck and hot tub, and a huge hospital clean bathroom. WI-FI, great tv, really comfy king bed, nicely appointed...up-northy, classy rustic and quiet. Outstanding family style breakfast, great conversation. Jamey and Lois are fantastic hosts and warm and wonderful...hardworking great people that have made Agate Cross a sweet memory we will not soon forget...worth the long drive from Florida!! The story of its name blessed our hearts, too!

Room Tip: Our Superior View room was wonderful. The Lake is off in the distance and over some trees, but love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write this fabulous review of our B&B. We really appreciate your great words and recommendations. So sorry it took us so long to write a response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubln
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have been familiar with Grand Marais for almost 50 years and have seen the traveler accommodations deteriorate significantly from the earlier days which has limited our referrals to anyone but the camping crowd. This July 4th weekend The Agate Cross run by Jamey and Lois was a wonderful surprise rivaling the B&B circuit anywhere in the country for the price range. Not only are the rooms well appointed... one thing rarely found anywhere in the Upper Peninsula --- air conditioning! Extremely clean with a peaceful atmosphere inside and out. They have done a great job creating and maintaining a highly welcoming environment. The bar has definitely been raised for their competition! Wonderful people.
Jim and Amanda, Dublin Oh.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so very much for the incredible review of our B&B. We really appreciate that you took the time and thought to write it. So sorry it took so long to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Agate Cross B&B for the weekend prior to July 4th. It was our second stay which we enjoyed as much and more than the first. Lois and Jamey are wonderful hosts and have a beautiful home with great views of Lake Superior. The breakfasts are great and the lower level room was very comfortable and clean. We definitely plan to return and having stayed at many B&B's over the past years, the Agate Cross B&B is definitely on our favorite list! During your stay be sure to check out the Gitche Gumee Agate and History Museum owned by Karen Brzys and eat at The Diner next door to Lois and Jamey.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for the awesome review and for taking the time to write it. We are so very thankful that we have received so many great reviews. Thanks again and we are sorry it took us so long to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife and I travel regularly to this area but we just became aware of the Agate Cross. Other accommodations in town are very basic and seem to be deteriorating. Agate Cross is first class; the place is immaculate and the Superior room was comfortable, cozy, and private. The other lower level room is handicapped accessible. Jamey and Lois are gracious hosts who went out of their way to welcome us and make us feel at home. Breakfast was delicious and the conversation was enjoyable, especially the story of how they came by the name of the B&B. We will be back!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidBeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We really appreciate that you took the time to write this awesome review and your recommendations to other travelers. Thank you very much! So sorry it took us so long to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Agate Cross was a phenomenal Bed and Breakfast with spacious accommodations. We stayed in one of the lower level suites and loved it. Jamey and Louis are so sweet, and phenomenal hosts. Brekfast conversations were a highlight of our stay as we sat and talked about their adventures up North, and learned about the best places to kayak, hike, and search for agates! Speaking of Breakfast, Louis made an incredible feast every morning, and even gave us pastries for our hikes! The room was beautiful and had a great view of Superior! The back deck was a great spot to hang out in the evenings, and the hot tub was gorgeous and crystal clear! It was a great spot, and one we hope to return to soon!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for the great review! We greatly appreciate that you took time to write and to share your experiences. So very sorry it took us so long to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC

Property: The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC
Address: N14218 Woodruff Street, Grand Marais, MI 49839
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast is located in beautiful Grand Marais, Michigan, where nature is in abundance. Our quiet, peaceful setting overlooks the bay with gorgeous views of Lake Superior. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, beaches and museums. A short drive to the Eastern gateway to Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. Great for photographers! Enjoy our hot tub after a fun day of activities. A superb location for your small reunion, wedding or retreat! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing