We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC
Nearby Hotels
US$105
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel on the Bay(Munising)(Great Value!)
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
65
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsupper peninsulamy husband and iblack bear suitedeck and hot tubtwo nightsplace to stayold friendswarm hospitalitywonderful staynatural beautyoatmealshort walkroom was spaciousnext morningloisagate
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Agate Cross for two nights in July 2014. My husband, three boys (14, 12 and 8) and I were on a tour of northern Michigan. Our accommodations were cozy, smelled of fresh pine and had a view of Lake Superior and a sliding glass door to the hot tub which we used both nights we were there. Yes! We used the hot tub in July. It wasn't that cold but it was cold enough to enjoy while enjoying the view of Lake Superior. Both breakfasts we had were delicious and included everything you could want in a fancy breakfast - fresh fruit, homemade bread, eggs, baked oatmeal, etc. We so enjoyed the company at breakfast. It was fun to hear about everyone's travels. You cannot go wrong staying with Jamey and Lois at the Agate Cross.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you so much for the awesome review and recommendation of our B&B. We appreciate all of the details that you included. Thank you as well for the time you took to write it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This B & B is clean, well-appointed, and is located within walking distance of Lake Superior, restaurants, a hardware, small grocery, bakery, gas station, small galleries/shops, and Post Office. Our room had a small refrigerator which was convenient. Coffee and/or tea is brought to the room by 7 a.m. Breakfast is wonderful, delicious and plentiful with fresh fruit and homemade bread as well as such things as specially prepared eggs, baked blueberry oatmeal, sausage, and smashed potatoes which were incredible. Both Lois and Jamey are friendly, welcoming, interesting, and personable, always ready to help in whatever ways they can. The grounds have beautiful gardens, a fire pit, and grills. I would strongly
recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sbvore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you so much for the awesome review and recommendations of our B&B! We really appreciate your time and thought in writing it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our recent trip to Michigan. We really enjoyed this bed and breakfast! The room was comfortable and clean and spacious. The coffee delivered to our door each morning was a very nice touch. The food was delicious. Jamey and Lois were very friendly and sat down and ate breakfast with us each morning. This was very nice to chat with them and get an insider’s opinion on the area. Sitting in the hot tub at the end of the day was the perfect way to end our day. Overall, I would recommend this Inn to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review of our B&B. We greatly appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Very much enjoyed our stay here. Good breakfast. Liked that they stayed during breakfast and gave information about themselves and local attractions etc. very nice home. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tcounty922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our B&B. We really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Grand Marais is a little out of the way, but a great place to stay. And when you're there, the Agate Cross is the best. The hosts (Lois and Jamey) are wonderful people with excellent culinary skills, a well maintained and beautiful B&B, as well as fonts of knowledge of the local area. The day starts with coffee prepared early in the morning and delivered outside your room, proceeds to a wonderful breakfast where Lois and Jamey join you and happily assist you in preparing for your day's activities. We could only stay a few days, but it was a thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing, and educational time.

Room Tip: The rooms are excellent with a view of the bay on the deck (near the hot tub).
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbegrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoisJamey, Owner at The Agate Cross Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you so very much for your awesome review and great recommendations for our B&B. We really appreciate your time and thought. So sorry it took us so long to respond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews